Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Mopping / roundup

Robot vacuums that mop

The mop is where these machines differ most and where the marketing is thickest. Three mechanisms, three sets of trade-offs, and a dock that decides how often you touch it.

By Scooter M.Published
A mop being drawn across a tiled kitchen floor leaving a damp trail

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

There are three mop mechanisms on sale. Spinning pads scrub hardest and need a dock to stay clean. Roller mops rinse themselves continuously during the run, so the far end of the floor gets the same water as the near end. Retracting arms lift the pad onto the robot entirely, which is the only design that fully solves wet carpet.

Mopping is the feature that turned robot vacuums from a convenience into a machine people actually rely on, and it is also where the marketing language is thickest. Every combo claims to mop. What they mean by it varies enormously.

The three mechanisms

Spinning pads

Two circular pads rotate under the robot, typically at around 200 RPM where the figure is published. They apply real downward pressure and scrub, which is why this is the design most flagship combos use. The weakness is obvious once you think about it: the pad picks up whatever it lifts and carries it for the rest of the room. Everything depends on the dock rinsing it, and on how often the robot goes back.

Roller mops

A single rotating roller runs the width of the robot, and a scraper plus a water feed washes it continuously as it turns. ECOVACS calls its version OZMO ROLLER and states a 175mm roller diameter. The advantage is that the water touching the floor stays comparatively clean across a whole run rather than degrading as it goes. The trade-off is a wetter floor and a mechanism with more to go wrong.

Retracting arms

iRobot's approach on the Roomba Combo j9+ is to lift the entire mop pad up onto the top of the robot when it meets carpet. There is no lift height to publish because the pad leaves the floor plane completely. It is the cleanest answer to the wet-carpet problem anyone sells, and it means the robot can vacuum and mop in a single pass without routing around rugs.

The head-to-head on the first two is on mop pad versus roller.

What a self-cleaning dock actually does

A full station does four separate jobs, and cheaper docks do fewer of them. Worth knowing which you are buying:

  • Empties the bin into a sealed bag. Intervals of 60 to 100 days are quoted; Dreame states 100 days on a 3.2L bag for the X50 Ultra.
  • Washes the pad, in cold or hot water. ECOVACS states 167F on the X8 Pro Omni; Dreame states 158F on the X40 Ultra and 149F on the L40 Ultra. Hot water matters more than it sounds — it is the difference between rinsing a pad and cleaning it.
  • Dries the pad, with warm air. This is the one that stops the mop smelling, and a dock without it will produce a musty pad within a week in a humid house.
  • Refills the robot's tank, sometimes dosing cleaning solution automatically. The on-board tanks are small — eufy states 80ml on the X10 Pro Omni against a 3L station tank — so on a large floor the refill is what lets the run finish.

What each dock does, in the maker's own words

23 of 23 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelDockCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvRoborockHot-water mop washing with dock self-cleaningSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv dock features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborockAuto hot-water mop washing and dryingSource: Roborock Qrevo CurvX dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborock10-in-1 Multifunctional Dock 4.0 with hot-water mop washingSource: Roborock Saros 10R product page — dock (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborockSelf-emptying, stated at ten weeks, with auto mop washingSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo MasterRoborockAuto mop washing and drying, self-emptying and refilling, dock self-cleaningSource: Roborock Qrevo Master dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo SRoborockSelf-drying, auto mop washing, self-emptying and self-refillingSource: Roborock Qrevo S dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborockDynamic hot-water mop washing with auto mop dryingSource: Roborock Qrevo Pro dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)RoborockAll-in-one dock with auto mop washingSource: Roborock Qrevo QV 35A dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Q7 M5RoborockSelf-emptying dock, stated at seven to nine weeksSource: Roborock Q7 M5 self-empty interval — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X50 UltraDreameSelf-emptying, self-cleaning, all-in-oneSource: Dreame X50 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreameAuto-empty with mop self-cleaningSource: Dreame L40s Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreameSelf-emptying with 158F mop and washboard self-cleaning, auto refillSource: Dreame X40 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40 UltraDreameAuto cleaning dock with 149F mop washing and solution auto-refillSource: Dreame L40 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreameAuto mop cleaning and drying, self-refilling and self-emptying, stated at 60 daysSource: Dreame L10s Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy X10 Pro OmnieufySelf-emptying with auto mop washing and drying, 3L self-refilling tankThe robot itself carries an 80ml water tank.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — station and tanks (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy 11S MAXeufyCharging dock only, no self-emptyingSource: eufy 11S MAX dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNIECOVACSSelf-emptying with 167F hot-water mop washing, hot-air drying and auto solution dosingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — station (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACSAll-in-one hub with dual self-emptying for the robot and the stick vacuum, plus hot-water mop washingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo station — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotMulti-functional base that empties the bin and refills the mop tank, stated at up to 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotSelf-emptying base, stated at 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba j9+ base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotAutoEmpty dockSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNeverTouch Pro base — self-empty at a stated 60 days, refill, pad wash and drySource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 (RV2610WA)SharkHEPA bagless self-empty base, stated at 60 daysSource: Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material on 2026-09-01. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves — see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Which floors you can actually mop

Sealed hardwood, laminate, vinyl plank, tile and sealed stone: yes, damp. Unsealed wood, oiled or waxed finishes, unsealed stone and anything with open seams: no, regardless of what the dock can do. Carpet: never deliberately, which is the entire reason mop lift exists as a specification. The full breakdown is on which floors can you mop.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMop liftPrice
1
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNIA rotating roller mop that washes itself continuously while it cleans, instead of pushing one increasingly dirty pad around the house.
Mopping that rinses as it goes10mm automatic
2
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house17mm
3
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+The mop arm retracts to the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so it can mop and vacuum in one pass without routing around rugs.
Mopping without avoiding the carpetAuto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robot
4
Dreame X40 UltraThe mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.
Removable mop padsRemovable, plus a stated 10.5mm raise
5
Roborock Qrevo ProHot-water pad washing and dirt detection at a price where most combos still rinse the pad in cold water.
Hot-water pad washing at mid priceNot published
6
Roborock Qrevo SA published 10mm mop lift and a dock that washes, dries, empties and refills — the whole hands-off routine at the bottom of the range.
A first full-service dock10mm

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Top pick

ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI

Mopping that rinses as it goes

A rotating roller mop that washes itself continuously while it cleans, instead of pushing one increasingly dirty pad around the house.

Published specifications

Max climb height
20mm with the mop attachedECOVACS states the condition alongside the figure, which is unusual and useful — a mop-combo's climb is not the same as a bare chassis's.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — obstacle crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
dToF with AIVI 3D 3.0 and a TruEdge 3D edge sensorSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 291 minutesECOVACS states this for silent sweep mode on hard floors.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with 167F hot-water mop washing, hot-air drying and auto solution dosingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — station (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Roller mop self-washes during the run rather than only at the dock
  • Publishes a threshold figure and states the condition (with mop attached)
  • Stated 291 minutes of runtime in silent mode

What it does not

  • 20mm climb is among the lowest published figures here
  • 0.22L on-board bin is small, so it leans hard on the dock

Who it is for

Hard floors that actually get dirty — kitchens, entryways, homes with dogs.

Skip it if

Your sills are tall. ECOVACS publishes 20mm with the mop attached, which is at the low end of this table.

Pick 2

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Flagship pricing — the plain Curv covers the same published thresholds for less

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Qrevo CurvX write-up

Pick 3

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+

Mopping without avoiding the carpet

The mop arm retracts to the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so it can mop and vacuum in one pass without routing around rugs.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Stated only as 100 percent stronger than the Roomba Combo i seriesiRobot publishes no absolute suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared with a Pa rating from any other brand. That is a limitation of the data, not a criticism of the machine.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — power-lifting suction claim (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishediRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page.
Mop lift
Auto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robotiRobot describes it as an Auto-Retract Mopping System with back-and-forth pressure mopping. No millimeter figure is given because the pad leaves the floor plane entirely.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — mopping system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Dual multi-surface rubber brushes with an edge-sweeping brushSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
Body height
86mm (3.4in)Listed dimensions 3.4 x 13.3 x 13.3in, 7.5lb.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Multi-functional base that empties the bin and refills the mop tank, stated at up to 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • The mop retracts fully onto the body — the most complete answer to wet carpet anyone sells
  • Dual rubber brushes, which do not wind hair the way bristle brushes do
  • Sixty-day stated self-empty interval

What it does not

  • iRobot publishes almost none of the numbers this site compares on — including any climb height
  • Suction is quoted only as a relative claim ("100% stronger" than an older model), which cannot be compared across brands

Who it is for

Mixed carpet and hard floor where you would rather the robot just handled both in one run.

Skip it if

You want to compare it on specification. iRobot publishes no suction figure, no climb height, no runtime and no bin capacity for this model.

Pick 4

Dreame X40 Ultra

Removable mop pads

The mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.

Published specifications

Max climb height
22mm (0.87in)Stated by Dreame in its own model comparison, not on the product listing.Source: Dreame model comparison — L40 Ultra Gen 2 vs L40s Ultra, obstacle climbing height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Removable, plus a stated 10.5mm raiseDreame quotes the height difference before and after mop lifting as 10.5mm; the pads can also be dropped at the dock entirely.Source: Dreame model comparison — mop lifting height difference (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with 158F mop and washboard self-cleaning, auto refillSource: Dreame X40 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Mops detach at the dock instead of riding along raised
  • Stated 198 minutes of runtime
  • 12,000 Pa stated peak suction

What it does not

  • 22mm climb is mid-pack and well below the L40s and X50
  • Large dock footprint for the mop-washing hardware

Who it is for

Mixed carpet and hard floor where you want the mop gone, not raised.

Skip it if

Your thresholds are tall. Dreame's own comparison puts this generation's obstacle climbing at 22mm.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Dreame X40 Ultra write-up

Pick 5

Roborock Qrevo Pro

Hot-water pad washing at mid price

Hot-water pad washing and dirt detection at a price where most combos still rinse the pad in cold water.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Main brush
Not publishedBrush construction is not described on the listing.

What it does well

  • Dynamic hot-water mop washing and auto mop drying
  • FlexiArm edge mopping reaches the baseboard strip
  • Dirt detection re-runs areas that come up dirty

What it does not

  • No published threshold or mop-lift figures
  • Suction sits at the bottom of the current line

Who it is for

Kitchens and entryways where the mop pad gets genuinely filthy rather than lightly dusty.

Skip it if

You mostly need carpet suction — 7,000 Pa is modest for deep pile.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Qrevo Pro write-up

Pick 6

Roborock Qrevo S

A first full-service dock

A published 10mm mop lift and a dock that washes, dries, empties and refills — the whole hands-off routine at the bottom of the range.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Main brush
Not publishedBrush construction is not described on the listing.
Navigation
Smart obstacle avoidance, system not named on the listingSource: Roborock Qrevo S navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-drying, auto mop washing, self-emptying and self-refillingSource: Roborock Qrevo S dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes its mop-lift height, which several pricier models do not
  • Full self-emptying, self-refilling, mop-washing dock
  • Spinning mops at a stated 200 RPM rather than a dragged pad

What it does not

  • 7,000 Pa is the lowest stated suction in the Qrevo line
  • No published threshold climb height

Who it is for

Small hard-floor homes with a rug or two, buying their first mop combo.

Skip it if

You have thick carpet. 10mm is the lowest published mop lift here and deep pile will still get damp.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Qrevo S write-up

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1

Sonic mopping is a vibrating pad with a water tank. It will take a light film off a kitchen floor and it costs a lot less than a washing dock. What it will not do is clean the pad, so by the far end of a large floor you are moving dirt rather than lifting it. As a vacuum with an occasional mop it is fine; as a mop it is the weakest thing here.

Skip this one

Dreame L10s Ultra

The dock does the full routine — wash, dry, empty, refill — and it is often the cheapest way to get one, which is a genuine argument for it. But it is an older generation with no published mop-lift height, and on a mixed-floor home an unpublished lift is exactly the specification you needed.

Combo or two machines?

For a mostly hard-floor home, one combo is enough and the docks have got good enough that the old advice to buy separates is out of date. For a home that is mostly carpet with one tiled room, a combo means carrying a mop around a house that does not need one, and a vacuum-only robot plus a cordless hard-floor mop is often better and cheaper. The full argument is on mop combo versus separate machines.

Go deeper on mopping

If you are deciding between mechanisms, read the pad-versus-roller comparison. If you already have a combo and it smells, that has its own page.

Mopping / comparison

Spinning pads vs roller mops

Scrubbing pressure versus continuous rinsing — the real trade-off between the two designs.

Questions people actually ask

+ Are robot vacuum mops worth it?

On hard floors, yes — a damp pass every day keeps a kitchen floor in a state that a weekly hand-mop does not. On mostly carpeted homes the mop is dead weight and the lifting mechanism is one more thing to fail. It depends almost entirely on how much hard floor you actually have.

+ Does a robot vacuum mop and vacuum at the same time?

Most do both in a single pass, with the mop trailing the brush. The exception is carpet: the robot either lifts the pad, drops it at the dock first, or avoids the carpet altogether. Only the retracting-arm design fully removes the pad from the floor while it keeps vacuuming.

+ Robot vacuum mop combo or separate machines?

Combo for a mostly hard-floor home. Separates when carpet dominates and the mop would rarely be used, or when you want a mop that can genuinely scrub rather than damp-wipe. See mop combo versus separate.

+ How often should I replace the mop pads?

Manufacturers generally suggest a few months of regular use, but the honest signal is the pad itself: when it stops coming out of the wash cycle looking clean, or the fibers have matted flat, it has stopped mopping and started spreading. Pads are cheap; a stained floor is not.

+ Why does my robot vacuum mop smell musty?

A damp pad drying slowly in an enclosed dock. The bacteria doing it are the same ones that make a forgotten dishcloth smell. Heated drying largely prevents it; without heated drying you need to take the pad out after each run. Full routine on mop smells musty.

+ Can I put cleaning solution in a robot mop?

Only the solution the manufacturer specifies, and only where the tank is designed for it. Household floor cleaner foams, and foam in a pump destroys it. Some docks dose solution automatically, which is the safest version of this.

Sources

Every ranking on this site links back to how we pick. That is a trust requirement, not an SEO one.