Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Navigation / roundup

Robot vacuum mapping and navigation

Most robots fail at the same three places: a doorway sill, a cable on the floor, and a staircase. Navigation hardware decides which of those it survives.

By Scooter M.Published
An open doorway between two rooms with a raised wooden sill across the threshold

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Most robot vacuums stop at a threshold around 20mm. Where makers publish a figure at all, current models range from 20mm to a claimed 80mm. Dreame and Roborock publish theirs; iRobot and Shark publish nothing. If your sills are over 20mm you are shopping in a much smaller pool than the roundups suggest.

Navigation is the part of a robot vacuum that decides whether it cleans your house or a subset of it. Suction determines how well it cleans the floor it reaches. Navigation determines which floors those are.

Three separate systems are usually collapsed into the word: how the robot builds a map, how it avoids things in real time, and how it physically gets over what is in the way. They fail independently. A robot with an excellent map can still be defeated by a 30mm door sill.

The threshold problem, which nobody tabulates

This is the single clearest gap in the published information about robot vacuums. Manufacturers publish climb heights inconsistently, describe them in different units, attach different conditions, and in several cases do not publish them at all — while still marketing chassis-lift hardware whose only purpose is climbing.

Published maximum threshold climb height, every model we cover

11 of 29 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated max climb heightCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborockNot publishedRoborock markets an industry-first AdaptiLift chassis on this model but states no climb height on the product page.
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborockNot publishedNo climb height stated on the listing for this trim.
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)RoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Dreame X50 UltraDreame60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreame40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreame22mm (0.87in)Stated by Dreame in its own model comparison, not on the product listing.Source: Dreame model comparison — L40 Ultra Gen 2 vs L40s Ultra, obstacle climbing height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreameNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACSNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotNot publishediRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page.
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotNot publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotNot publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNot publishedShark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it.
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1SharkNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedNot stated. Shark markets NeverStuck technology across the PowerDetect line without publishing a height behind it.
Roborock Q7 M5+Roborock20mm (2cm)Roborock's wording is "2cm climbing ability", with no condition attached.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — climbing ability (retrieved 2026-09-17)
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotNot publishedNot stated on iRobot's product page.
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobotNot publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
eufy Omni C28eufyNot publishedNot stated. The sister X10 Pro Omni publishes 21mm, so the silence here is a choice rather than a house style.
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller CompleteDreame80mm (8cm) over a stepDreame attributes this to ProLeap, described as retracting "feet" that climb over obstacles up to 8cm high. This is the highest climb figure published by any maker on this site — worth measuring your own step before trusting it.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — ProLeap climbing (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Narwal Flow 2NarwalNot publishedNarwal publishes no climb or threshold height for this model.
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)SharkNot publishedNot stated. No Shark model we cover publishes a climb height.
Narwal Freo Z10 TurboNarwal20mm (2cm)The common figure in this category rather than a standout one.Source: Narwal Freo Z10 Turbo product page — threshold (retrieved 2026-10-03)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIECOVACS20mm with the mop attachedECOVACS states the condition alongside the figure, which is unusual and useful — a mop combo's climb is not the same as a bare chassis's.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — barrier crossing (retrieved 2026-10-03)
eufy Omni S2eufy35mm single step, 42mm double stepeufy publishes both conditions (1.38in and 1.65in on the US page). The 35mm single-step figure is the second-highest SINGLE-step figure on this site, behind only the Dreame X50 Ultra's 42mm.Source: eufy Omni S2 US product page — climb height (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni E28eufyNot publishedNot stated on eufy's E28 page. A figure of 0.83in appears in a bundle comparison table elsewhere on eufy's site; because it is not on the product page for this variant we do not publish it.
eufy Omni C20eufy18mmA modest figure, published plainly. Measure a door sill before assuming it clears.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — climb height (retrieved 2026-10-17)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Read the conditions column carefully, because that is where the headline numbers come apart. Dreame's X50 Ultra is advertised as clearing 60mm, and Dreame's own footnote states that this applies to a series of steps with more than 40mm between them, while a single vertical step is 42mm. Roborock's 40mm on the Qrevo CurvX is a double-layer threshold with the chassis lift engaged, and Roborock publishes no separate figure for a single vertical sill. ECOVACS states 20mm and specifies that this is with the mop attached, which is genuinely useful and almost unique.

Every one of those figures also assumes a clean square edge. A worn, rounded or carpet-edged sill behaves differently and generally worse. We have not measured any of this — nobody here owns one of these machines — but we have read every published figure and put them in one place, which is more than the field currently offers. The full page, with the arithmetic in both units, is the robot vacuum threshold climb table.

How the map gets built

There are three approaches in current use, and the differences show up in specific, predictable ways.

  • LiDAR — a spinning laser turret measures distance in a 360-degree sweep. Accurate, fast, and works in complete darkness because it supplies its own light. The turret adds height to the robot, which is why LiDAR models have historically struggled to get under low furniture. Roborock's PreciSense and Shark's 360-degree LiDAR are both this.
  • vSLAM — a camera builds the map from visual features in the room. No turret, so a lower body, but it needs light. In a dark room a vSLAM robot is navigating from memory. iRobot's PrecisionVision is camera-based.
  • Solid-state and hybrid sensing — dToF sensors and structured light with no moving turret. Roborock's StarSight on the Saros 10R and ECOVACS' dToF with AIVI 3D are both here, and both allow a much lower body: 80mm on the Saros, against the 130mm of clearance eufy states the X10 Pro Omni needs.

Navigation system, as each maker names it

28 of 29 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelNavigation systemCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborockRetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborockStarSight Autonomous System 2.0Solid-state sensing rather than a raised LiDAR turret, which is what allows the low body.Source: Roborock Saros 10R product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborockReactive Tech obstacle avoidanceSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborockIntelligent dirt detection with obstacle avoidanceSource: Roborock Qrevo Pro features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)RoborockSmart obstacle avoidance, system not named on the listingSource: Roborock Qrevo QV 35A navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X50 UltraDreameVersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreameNot named on the listingThe listing describes app and voice control but does not name the mapping system.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreameAI navigation, system not named on the listingSource: Dreame X40 Ultra navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreameAI navigation, system not named on the listingSource: Dreame L10s Ultra navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy X10 Pro OmnieufyiPath Laser Navigation with AI.Map 2.0Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACSNot named on the listingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotPrecisionVision Navigation on iRobot OSSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotPrecisionVision obstacle avoidance with smart mappingSource: iRobot Roomba j9+ navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotLiDAR navigation with obstacle and anti-fall detectionSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)Shark360-degree LiDAR with a 3D sensorSource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1Shark360-degree LiDAR mapping with Matrix Clean grid patternSource: Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedNo navigation or mapping system is named on the product page.
Roborock Q7 M5+Roborock360-degree PreciSense LiDARSource: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-17)
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotClearView LiDAR, stated to build up to 3 maps and clean in neat rowsiRobot states mapping takes about ten minutes and that it navigates in the dark.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — navigation and mapping (retrieved 2026-09-13)
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobotClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
eufy Omni C28eufyiPath 2.0 Smart NavigationSource: eufy Omni C28 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller CompleteDreameOmniSight 2.0, a retracting LDS turretDreame's UAE page calls the same retracting-laser hardware VersaLift LDS. The substance both pages agree on is that the laser turret retracts, which is what lets a LiDAR robot get under low furniture.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — OmniSight 2.0 (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Narwal Flow 2NarwalFreo Mind 4.0Narwal names the system without stating the sensing hardware behind it.Source: Narwal Flow 2 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)SharkAI Laser Navigation with Matrix Clean grid cleaningShark describes Matrix Clean as cleaning in a grid, taking multiple passes over an area rather than a single pass.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Narwal Freo Z10 TurboNarwalLDS NavigationA laser turret. Narwal names the type rather than a trademarked system.Source: Narwal Freo Z10 Turbo product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-10-03)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIECOVACSdToF with AIVI 3D 3.0 Omni-ApproachSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-10-03)
eufy Omni S2eufyCleanMind AI System on a 3D ToF sensor, with 3D MatrixEye 2.0 obstacle avoidanceSource: eufy Omni S2 US product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni E28eufyiPath Laser Navigation, with AI.See RGB-camera obstacle avoidance stated to identify 200+ object typesAn RGB camera on board. Worth knowing before you buy — see what robot vacuums collect.Source: eufy Omni E28 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni C20eufyInfrared and point-laser obstacle avoidance, with multi-floor mapping for up to 3 floorseufy names the avoidance hardware and the mapping limit but not a navigation system, so the system row stays as published.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — obstacle avoidance and mapping (retrieved 2026-10-17)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

The trade-offs, and which failure mode each buys you, are set out on LiDAR versus vSLAM. If cameras in the house are a concern for you rather than a feature, that is worth reading alongside what robot vacuums actually collect.

Obstacle avoidance is a separate system

Mapping tells the robot where the walls are. Obstacle avoidance is what stops it eating a charging cable, and it runs on different hardware — usually a forward-facing camera, a structured-light projector, or both. Roborock states its Reactive AI recognizes 108 object types on the Curv line. iRobot markets its avoidance specifically against pet waste, which is the failure with the highest cost of any in this category.

It is not perfect on any model and the honest advice is to pick up cables anyway. Detail on obstacle avoidance, and — for the obstacle where a miss is expensive rather than annoying — robot vacuums and pet accidents.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMax climbPrice
1
Dreame X50 Ultra
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figure60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single step
2
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house40mm (1.57in) double-layer
3
Roborock Saros 10R
Roborock Saros 10RAn 80mm body with no LiDAR mast, which is the practical answer to a robot that stops dead at the sofa every run.
Getting under low furnitureNot published
4
Dreame L40s Ultra
Dreame L40s UltraStates 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.
A published 40mm climb without flagship money40mm (1.57in)
5
iRobot Roomba j9+The vacuum-only j9+ is the model whose obstacle avoidance is specifically marketed against pet waste, which is a failure mode with a very high cost.
Homes with a dog and a real risk of an accidentNot published
6
Roborock Q7 M5Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.
Real LiDAR mapping at the low endNot published

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Dreame X50 Ultra
Top pick

Dreame X50 Ultra

The tallest published climb figure

The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.

Published specifications

Stated suction
20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
HyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
VersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dustbin
395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
  • 20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
  • Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode

What it does not

  • The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
  • 10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock

Who it is for

Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.

Skip it if

You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Pick 2

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Roborock publishes only a double-layer threshold figure for it, not a separate figure for a single vertical sill

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

Roborock Saros 10R
Pick 3

Roborock Saros 10R

Getting under low furniture

An 80mm body with no LiDAR mast, which is the practical answer to a robot that stops dead at the sofa every run.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedRoborock markets an industry-first AdaptiLift chassis on this model but states no climb height on the product page.
Navigation
StarSight Autonomous System 2.0Solid-state sensing rather than a raised LiDAR turret, which is what allows the low body.Source: Roborock Saros 10R product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Dock
10-in-1 Multifunctional Dock 4.0 with hot-water mop washingSource: Roborock Saros 10R product page — dock (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Solid-state sensing instead of a spinning turret, so the body can genuinely be low
  • 17mm mop lift, matching the Curv line
  • DuoDivide anti-tangle main brush

What it does not

  • No published climb height, which for a chassis-lift model is a strange omission
  • Camera-and-structured-light navigation is exactly the setup privacy-cautious buyers ask about

Who it is for

Homes where most of the dust lives under things — low sofas, bed frames, kickboard gaps.

Skip it if

Your problem is thresholds. Roborock markets an AdaptiLift chassis on this model but publishes no climb height for it.

Dreame L40s Ultra
Pick 4

Dreame L40s Ultra

A published 40mm climb without flagship money

States 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Not publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Navigation
Not named on the listingThe listing describes app and voice control but does not name the mapping system.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 40mm (1.57in) obstacle clearing is stated on the listing, not buried
  • DuoBrush described as fully detangling
  • Extending mop and side brush for edges

What it does not

  • No mop-lift height published
  • 19,000 Pa is a peak figure and tells you nothing about sustained airflow

Who it is for

A house with real sills and a shedding pet, on a mid-range budget.

Skip it if

You want the published mop-lift height — Dreame does not state one for this model on the listing.

Pick 5

iRobot Roomba j9+

Homes with a dog and a real risk of an accident

The vacuum-only j9+ is the model whose obstacle avoidance is specifically marketed against pet waste, which is a failure mode with a very high cost.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Stated only as powerful suction, with no figureiRobot publishes no Pa rating, so this model cannot be compared numerically on suction with any other brand here.Source: iRobot Roomba j9+ listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
Mop lift
Not publishedThis model does not mop.

What it does well

  • Obstacle avoidance aimed at the one obstacle that ruins a floor
  • Sixty-day stated self-empty interval
  • Rubber brushes rather than bristles, which matters for long hair

What it does not

  • No published suction, climb height, runtime or bin capacity
  • Vacuum only — there is no mop on this trim

Who it is for

Dog owners, especially with a puppy or an older dog, who have had one bad run already.

Skip it if

You want mopping, or you want published specifications — iRobot states neither a suction figure nor a climb height.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full iRobot Roomba j9+ write-up

Pick 6

Roborock Q7 M5

Real LiDAR mapping at the low end

Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brushRoborock pairs it with an anti-tangle side brush as a Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
360-degree LiDAR with multi-level mappingSource: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Dock
Charging dock only — no self-emptying dockRoborock lists one charging dock in the box. The self-emptying version is sold separately as the Q7 M5+.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — what's in the box (retrieved 2026-09-17)

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR at entry-level money, so it maps rooms instead of guessing
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush
  • Multi-level mapping for a two-story house

What it does not

  • No published climb height and no published mop lift
  • Mopping is three water-flow levels and a pad, not a washing dock
  • No self-emptying dock — Roborock sells that version separately as the Q7 M5+

Who it is for

A first mapped robot for a normal house — several rooms, some rugs, a pet.

Skip it if

You want serious mopping. This drags a pad; it does not wash or lift one properly.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1

Shark names its navigation hardware clearly — 360-degree LiDAR plus a 3D sensor — and then markets "NeverStuck" as the answer to the exact problem this hub is about, without publishing a single height. If getting over a sill is the thing you are buying for, buy from a maker willing to state the number.

Skip this one

eufy 11S MAX

It has no map, which is the whole point of it and also why it does not belong on this hub. No map means no room selection, no no-go zones, no resume after charging and no way to keep it out of the one room with the cables in it. For a single room it is fine. For a layout problem it is the opposite of the answer.

Multi-floor homes and where to start

If you have more than one story the robot needs multi-level mapping, and it needs to recognize which floor it is on when you carry it up. Most mapped models here support several saved maps; the cheap ones do not. Robot vacuums for multiple floors covers what changes, and mapping tips covers getting a good first map — which is worth an hour of your attention, because a bad first map produces a year of odd behavior.

Floor area changes which specifications bind, and it changes them in both directions. In a small apartment the dock footprint and the body height decide the buy while runtime never matters; in a large house runtime, bin capacity and recharge-and-resume are the only things that matter and the rest is noise. Both are worth reading before you shop on a spec sheet written for an average home.

There is a second physical constraint alongside the threshold, and it stops a robot getting under things rather than into rooms. Published body heights run from about 80mm to 100mm, and the difference is almost entirely the LiDAR turret. Robot vacuums that fit under furniture has the cross-brand height table and the five-minute method for measuring your own lowest gap.

Go deeper on navigation

The threshold climb table is the page most people need. It is the only cross-brand comparison of published climb heights we could find anywhere.

Questions people actually ask

+ Can robot vacuums go over a threshold?

Most current models clear about 20mm, and where makers publish a figure the range runs from 20mm to a claimed 80mm under specific conditions. Measure your tallest sill before you buy: it is the cheapest thing you can do and it rules out most of the market in some houses.

+ What is the maximum threshold height for a robot vacuum?

There is no single answer, which is the point of our table. Dreame states 42mm for a single vertical step on the X50 Ultra and 60mm for a series of steps with gaps over 40mm. Roborock states 40mm for a double-layer threshold on the Qrevo CurvX. Several makers publish nothing at all.

+ Robot vacuum LiDAR vs vSLAM: which is better?

LiDAR maps more accurately and works in the dark; vSLAM allows a lower body and adds no turret. If your house has dim rooms, LiDAR. If your problem is furniture clearance, look at the solid-state models instead of either. Full comparison on LiDAR versus vSLAM.

+ Do robot vacuums fall down stairs?

Not normally — infrared cliff sensors detect the drop and stop the robot. The exception is a dark or very glossy floor that absorbs the infrared, which can confuse the sensor in either direction. Keep the sensors clean; a dusty cliff sensor is the usual cause of odd stair behavior.

+ Do I need mapping, or is a bump-and-turn robot enough?

For a single room, bump-and-turn is enough and much cheaper. For a whole floor it is not: without a map there is no room selection, no no-go zones and no reliable coverage, so you get visibly missed patches on every run.

+ Why does my robot vacuum keep getting stuck in the same place?

Almost always a physical trap the map cannot represent — a sill it can nearly climb, a rug edge that lifts, a chair base that catches the bumper. The fix is a no-go zone rather than a setting. See why it keeps getting stuck.

Sources

Every ranking on this site links back to how we pick. That is a trust requirement, not an SEO one.