Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.
Past roughly 150 square meters the limits change. Cleaning quality stops being the variable and endurance starts: stated runtime, whether the robot recharges and resumes mid-job, and how fast a large floor fills a small bin. Published runtimes reach 291 minutes, and most makers publish none at all.
A robot vacuum in a small flat is a convenience. In a large house it is closer to infrastructure, and it fails in ways that never show up in a two-bedroom test. The machine does not clean worse — it runs out.
Runtime, and what the published figures assume
Stated runtime, where the manufacturer publishes one
4 of 14 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.
Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.
Two things to take from that table. The first is how few makers publish a runtime at all — Roborock, iRobot and Shark state none for any model we cover, which on a page about endurance is a conspicuous absence.
The second is that every published figure is a best case. ECOVACS states up to 291 minutes and is explicit that this is silent sweep mode on hard floors. Dreame states up to 220 minutes in quiet mode. Turn suction up, add carpet and add mopping and the real number is a fraction of the headline. eufy is the most useful of the three because it publishes a pair — 173 minutes vacuuming, 136 vacuuming and mopping — which shows you the size of the mopping penalty on that machine rather than leaving you to guess it.
Recharge and resume is the feature that actually solves it
For a large floor this matters more than the battery. A robot that returns to the dock at low charge, tops up, and then goes back to precisely where it stopped will finish a house of any size — it just takes several hours of wall-clock time rather than one run. A robot without it cleans until the battery goes and leaves the rest.
Every mapped model here does this, which is another way of saying that mapping is not optional at scale. It is also why an unmapped robot is not simply a slower answer in a big house but a structurally wrong one, and why one appears in the skip section below rather than at the bottom of the picks.
The bin fills before the floor is finished
On-board bins are small — where makers publish the figure at all it is a fraction of a liter. ECOVACS states 0.22L for the X9 PRO OMNI; Dreame states 395ml for the X50 Ultra. Across a large house, and particularly with a shedding animal, that fills well before the run ends, and a full bin stops the robot as effectively as a flat battery.
On-board bin capacity, where it is published
3 of 10 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.
Not stated for the robot. The station bag is published at 3L.
Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.
This is why self-emptying moves from a luxury to a requirement as floor area grows: the dock resets the constraint every time the robot returns to charge. Dock bag capacity then sets how often you are involved — Dreame states a 3.2L bag and a 100-day interval. Halve any quoted interval in a shedding household, for the reasons set out on self-emptying versus a manual bin.
Large houses are usually multi-story
Which brings a second set of constraints: several saved maps, reliable floor recognition, and the fact that the dock lives on exactly one floor. Everything upstairs happens on a single charge with nowhere to return to, so on that floor the runtime figure is the hard limit rather than a soft one.
The full treatment, including the case for a second cheaper robot upstairs instead of carrying one, is on robot vacuums for multiple floors.
One robot or two?
At a certain size two mid-range robots genuinely beat one flagship, and the maths is not close. Two machines run in parallel, each has its own dock, neither is carried anywhere, and a failure takes out half your coverage rather than all of it. The flagship's advantage — better mopping, higher climb, a longer dock interval — does not scale the way a second machine does.
The case for one good machine is a house with a lot of hard floor where mop quality genuinely matters, and where you would rather have one dock than two. Both are defensible; what is not defensible is buying one flagship for a very large house and expecting it to behave like it does in the reviews, which were not written about your floor plan.
How we picked
Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.
Published runtime, read with its stated conditions — every figure here is a quiet-mode, hard-floor best case.
Whether it recharges and resumes automatically, which matters more than raw runtime because it turns one long job into several.
Bin capacity and the dock interval, since a large floor fills a bin before it finishes.
Multi-level mapping, because large houses are usually multi-story and the dock only lives on one floor.
Coverage claims where the maker publishes them in square meters rather than minutes, which is the more useful of the two.
What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.
Quick picks
Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#
Product
Best for
Max climb
Price
1
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIThe roller mop that washes itself continuously while it runs rather than pushing one increasingly dirty pad around, now with a cyclone-directed anti-tangle brush.
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figure
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single step
eufy Omni E28The only machine on this site that ships with a second, hand-held cleaner stored in its dock — the robot flags a liquid stain on carpet and you lift the deep cleaner out to deal with it.
A robot plus a detachable spot cleaner for carpet stains
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.
Top pick
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI
Mopping that rinses as it goes
The roller mop that washes itself continuously while it runs rather than pushing one increasingly dirty pad around, now with a cyclone-directed anti-tangle brush.
Self-emptying into a 3L bag, with temperature-controlled mop washing stated from 40C to 75C (104F to 167F) and hot-air dryingECOVACS publishes a wash temperature RANGE rather than a single figure, and states selectable drying durations of 2, 3 or 4 hours.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — station (retrieved 2026-10-03)
What it does well
OZMO Roller self-washes during the run rather than only at the dock
Publishes a threshold figure and states the condition (with mop attached)
Mop washing is temperature-controlled across a stated 40C to 75C range rather than a single number
What it does not
20mm climb is among the lowest published figures here
0.22L on-board bin is small, so it leans hard on the dock
16,600 Pa is lower than the model it replaces, which stated 18,000 Pa
Who it is for
Hard floors that actually get dirty — kitchens, entryways, homes with dogs.
Skip it if
Your sills are tall. ECOVACS publishes 20mm with the mop attached, which is at the low end of our threshold table.
The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode
What it does not
The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock
Who it is for
Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.
Skip it if
You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.
A robot plus a detachable spot cleaner for carpet stains
The only machine on this site that ships with a second, hand-held cleaner stored in its dock — the robot flags a liquid stain on carpet and you lift the deep cleaner out to deal with it.
Not publishedNot stated on eufy's E28 page. A figure of 0.83in appears in a bundle comparison table elsewhere on eufy's site; because it is not on the product page for this variant we do not publish it.
Mop lift
Not publishedCONTESTED. eufy's E28 page says the mop lifts for carpet but gives no height; its US buying guide says 20mm and its FAQ says 12mm. Where a maker states two different figures for one machine we publish neither.
Omni Station: self-emptying into a stated 3L bag for up to 75 days, self-washing, self-refilling, hot-air drying at a stated 35C to 50C, automatic detergent dispensing for up to 6 months, 2.5L clean and 1.8L waste tanks, and storage for the portable deep cleanerSource: eufy Omni E28 product page — Omni Station (retrieved 2026-10-17)
What it does well
A detachable portable deep cleaner, stored and charged in the station — nothing else here has one
A stated 20,000 Pa, and a 216-minute vacuum-only runtime that is among the longest published here
Station dust bag stated at 3L and 75 days, longer than most
What it does not
No published climb height at all, which is the figure this site cares about most
eufy's own pages state the mop lifts 12mm in one place and 20mm in another, so we publish neither
No published dustbin capacity for the robot itself
Who it is for
Carpeted homes where the real problem is stains rather than dust: pets, toddlers, spilled drinks.
Skip it if
You need to know it will clear your door sills. eufy publishes no climb height for this model and its own pages give two different mop-lift figures, so neither number is usable.
In a single room this was a sensible cheap robot. Across a large house it fails structurally rather than marginally: with no map there is no systematic coverage, no resume after charging and no way to run one wing rather than the whole floor. An unmapped robot cleans by pattern until the battery goes, then stops where it stopped. Over 200 square meters that is not a cheaper version of the job, it is a different and much worse one. It is withdrawn from sale as of 2026-10-10 in any case, so the skip is now academic.
Questions people actually ask
+ Are robot vacuums good for large houses?
Yes, provided the model maps and can recharge and resume mid-job. That combination lets it finish a floor of any size across several hours. Without it, the robot cleans until the battery goes and leaves the rest.
+ What is the best robot vacuum for a large house?
One that publishes a long runtime with its conditions, has a self-emptying dock with a large bag, and supports multi-level maps. ECOVACS states up to 291 minutes and Dreame up to 220; several makers publish no runtime at all.
+ How long does a robot vacuum take to clean a large house?
Several hours of wall-clock time, because it will dock to recharge partway and resume. That is normal and it is the feature working. Judge a machine on whether it finishes rather than on how long it takes.
+ Should I buy two robot vacuums for a big house?
Often, yes. Two mid-range machines run in parallel, each keeps its own dock, and neither gets carried up stairs. One flagship makes sense when mop quality matters more than coverage and you would rather have a single dock.
+ Will one dock bag last in a large house?
Not as long as the box says. Quoted intervals of 60 to 100 days assume an average home; a large floor with a shedding animal will reach the bag sooner. Treat the quoted figure as a ceiling.