Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)
Vacuum only, with a bagless base and a stated HEPA claim — and almost nothing else published about it.

Best for
A vacuum-only Shark with no bags to buy
#ad how we are funded · price as of September 21, 2026
Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.
Shark publishes 2 of the 7 specifications we track for this model and states nothing about the other 5. Everything below is quoted from Shark’s own material, with the page it came from linked on each row. We have not handled this machine.
This is the vacuum-only PowerDetect, and it is on this site for two reasons. It is one of the few current machines that skips mopping entirely, which a lot of buyers actively want, and its base is bagless — so the running cost of dock bags, which every other self-emptying model here carries, simply does not exist.
What Shark publishes about it is a short list: a bagless base holding 30 days of debris, HEPA filtration stated to trap 99.97 percent of dust and allergens, and a self-cleaning brushroll. What it does not publish is longer: no suction figure, no climb height, no navigation system, no runtime, no body height. Shark markets NeverStuck technology for crossing thresholds across this line and states no height behind it.
So the honest position is that this is a machine you buy on the base and the filtration claim, because those are the only two things you can check. Thirty days is also the shortest stated interval of any self-emptying model we cover — a consequence of a bagless bin being smaller than a 3L bag, and a fair trade if you would rather empty a bin than buy bags.
The published spec sheet
- Stated suction
- Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
- Max climb height
- Not publishedNot stated. Shark markets NeverStuck technology across the PowerDetect line without publishing a height behind it.
- Mop lift
- Not publishedVacuum-only model. There is no mop.
- Main brush
- Self-cleaning brushrollShark names it and does not describe what it is made of or what makes it self-cleaning.Source: Shark PowerDetect AV2820S product page — brushroll (retrieved 2026-09-21)
- Navigation
- Not publishedNo navigation or mapping system is named on the product page.
- Stated runtime
- Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
- Dock
- Bagless self-empty base, stated at 30 days, with HEPA filtrationShark states the base holds "30 days of dirt and debris" and that its HEPA filtration "captures and traps 99.97% of dust and allergens".Source: Shark PowerDetect AV2820S product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-21)
What the sheet says it does well, and what it does not
Strengths
- Bagless base, so there are no dock bags to buy or run out of
- HEPA filtration stated to trap 99.97% of dust and allergens
- Vacuum only — no mop hardware to maintain, and no pad to rinse
Limits
- No published suction figure, climb height, runtime or body height
- The brushroll is named self-cleaning and never described
- 30 days is the shortest stated self-empty interval of any model here
Who it is for
Someone who does not want a mop and wants the cost of dock bags to go away entirely.
Who should skip it
You want to check anything before buying. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no navigation system for this model.
Where we recommend it
How we assessed this
By reading what Shark publishes and recording it with its source. We have never owned, handled or measured this machine, and nothing above is written as though we had. Where the manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says so rather than borrowing a number from somewhere else. The full method is on how we pick, and if a figure here does not match the page it links to, tell us and we will correct it with a date.
What the spec sheet does not tell you
5 of the figures we track are absent from Shark’s own material for this model. That is worth knowing before you buy, because each of them answers a question somebody eventually asks:
- Stated suction — Not stated on Shark's product page.
- Max climb height — Not stated. Shark markets NeverStuck technology across the PowerDetect line without publishing a height behind it.
- Mop lift — Vacuum-only model. There is no mop.
- Navigation — No navigation or mapping system is named on the product page.
- Stated runtime — Not stated on Shark's product page.
We could fill those in from a review site or an estimate. We do not, because a number we cannot source is worth less than an honest blank, and the pattern of what each maker will and will not state is one of the more useful things on this site.
Questions people actually ask
+ Does Shark publish a threshold climb height for the Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)?
No. Not stated. Shark markets NeverStuck technology across the PowerDetect line without publishing a height behind it. We record that as not published rather than borrowing a figure from a review site — see the climb table for the models that do state one.
+ What suction does the Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S) have?
Shark publishes no suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared numerically with any other machine here. Why the pascal figure is limited anyway.
+ Is the Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S) good for pet hair?
Its main brush is described as self-cleaning brushroll, which is the specification that matters most in a hair-heavy house — more than suction. The brush comparison sets out what each design does.
+ Can the Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S) mop over carpet?
Vacuum-only model. There is no mop. Without a figure you cannot check it against your carpet, which is why we rank models that publish one above models that do not. Mop lift compared.
+ Who should skip the Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)?
You want to check anything before buying. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no navigation system for this model.
#ad how we are funded · price as of September 21, 2026