Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Carpet / comparison

Robot vacuum suction power, compared

Every brand prints a pascal figure and none of them measures it the same way. Here is the full table, plus what the number is and is not good for.

By Scooter M.Published
A vacuum cleaner head pressed into carpet pile, photographed close up

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Published suction on current robot vacuums runs from 5,300 Pa to 22,000 Pa. Every figure is a peak measured by the manufacturer, with its own method, at the nozzle with nothing in the way. It ranks models reliably inside one brand's range. Across brands it is a tier indicator and not a comparison.

The pascal number is the most quoted specification in this category and the least standardized. There is no industry test for it, no shared apparatus, and no requirement to state the conditions. Two makers can both be telling the truth and produce numbers that are three times apart for machines that clean similarly.

The table

Stated peak suction, every model we cover

27 of 29 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated suctionCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock22,000 PaStated as peak HyperForce suction.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — 22,000Pa HyperForce Suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborock22,000 PaSource: Roborock Saros 10R, "22000Pa" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborock18,500 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X, "18500Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborock7,000 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo Pro, "7,000 Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)Roborock8,000 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo QV 35A, "8000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X50 UltraDreame20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreame19,000 PaSource: Dreame L40s Ultra, "19,000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreame12,000 PaSource: Dreame X40 Ultra, "12,000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreame5,300 PaSource: Dreame L10s Ultra, "5300Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy8,000 PaSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — "8,000 Pa Suction" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACS11,000 PaSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo, "11000Pa" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotStated only as 100 percent stronger than the Roomba Combo i seriesiRobot publishes no absolute suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared with a Pa rating from any other brand. That is a limitation of the data, not a criticism of the machine.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — power-lifting suction claim (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotStated only as powerful suction, with no figureiRobot publishes no Pa rating, so this model cannot be compared numerically on suction with any other brand here.Source: iRobot Roomba j9+ listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotStated only as extreme power-lifting suction, with no figureSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNot stated as a figureShark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible.Source: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1SharkNot stated as a figureSource: Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
Roborock Q7 M5+Roborock10,000 PaSource: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — HyperForce suction (retrieved 2026-09-17)
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotNot stated as a figureiRobot states "70X more power-lifting suction" without saying 70 times what. A multiple with no baseline cannot be compared with anyone's Pa figure, including iRobot's own.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — cleaning system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobot30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
eufy Omni C28eufy15,000 PaSource: eufy Omni C28 product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller CompleteDreame30,000 PaDreame brands this figure Vormax. As with every Pa number, it is the maker's own measurement on its own rig.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Narwal Flow 2Narwal31,000 PaThe highest Pa figure published by any maker on this site. It is Narwal's own measurement and is not comparable across brands.Source: Narwal Flow 2 product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)SharkNot publishedNot stated on Shark's product page, in pascals or any other unit.
Narwal Freo Z10 TurboNarwal25,000 PaNarwal's own measurement on its own rig, as with every Pa figure here.Source: Narwal Freo Z10 Turbo product page — suction (retrieved 2026-10-03)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIECOVACS16,600 PaLower than the 18,000 Pa ECOVACS stated for the X8 PRO OMNI this model replaces. ECOVACS also states a 16.3 L/s airflow figure, which almost nobody else publishes.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — suction (retrieved 2026-10-03)
eufy Omni S2eufy30,000 Paeufy attributes this to AeroTurbo 2.0 and also states an equivalent 100 AW, which almost nobody else publishes.Source: eufy Omni S2 US product page — suction (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni E28eufy20,000 Paeufy states this adjusts automatically by surface rather than being a mode you select.Source: eufy Omni E28 product page — suction (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni C20eufy7,000 PaJoint second-lowest stated figure among the machines currently sold here. Only the Dreame L10s Ultra's 5,300 Pa is lower, and the Roborock Qrevo Pro states the same 7,000.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — max suction (retrieved 2026-10-17)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Three things stand out. First, the spread inside a single brand is enormous — Roborock alone publishes figures from 7,000 Pa to 22,000 Pa, and those machines are much closer in real use than a threefold ratio suggests. Second, iRobot publishes no absolute figure at all, quoting only that the Combo j9+ has 100 percent stronger suction than an older iRobot model. Third, Shark publishes nothing for either model we cover.

We are not going to estimate a figure for the models that do not publish one. A number invented to complete a table is worse than a blank, because a blank is honest about what is known.

What a pascal figure is actually measuring

Pascals measure pressure — specifically the vacuum pressure the fan can generate. That is not the same as the thing that lifts debris off a floor, which is airflow at the nozzle. High pressure with poor airflow moves less material than moderate pressure with good airflow, which is why a headline pascal figure can rise generation over generation without the machine cleaning noticeably better.

The full glossary treatment, along with the other specs that are quoted without conditions, is on the spec glossary.

What to use instead when comparing brands

  1. Carpet detection and boost behavior — whether the robot notices the transition, and how much headroom it has left when it does. Covered on carpet boost.
  2. Brush contact with the pile. A brush riding above deep pile is not cleaning it, whatever the fan is doing. See high-pile carpet.
  3. Whether the robot can reach the carpet at all — a thick rug edge is a threshold. The climb table.
  4. Bin capacity and dock interval, because a strong fan filling a small bin still stops mid-room.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house22,000 Pa
2
Dreame X50 Ultra
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figure20,000 Pa
3
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIThe roller mop that washes itself continuously while it runs rather than pushing one increasingly dirty pad around, now with a cyclone-directed anti-tangle brush.
Mopping that rinses as it goes16,600 Pa

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Roborock publishes only a double-layer threshold figure for it, not a separate figure for a single vertical sill

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

Dreame X50 Ultra
Pick 2

Dreame X50 Ultra

The tallest published climb figure

The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.

Published specifications

Stated suction
20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
HyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
VersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dustbin
395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
  • 20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
  • Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode

What it does not

  • The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
  • 10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock

Who it is for

Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.

Skip it if

You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.

ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI
Pick 3

ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI

Mopping that rinses as it goes

The roller mop that washes itself continuously while it runs rather than pushing one increasingly dirty pad around, now with a cyclone-directed anti-tangle brush.

Published specifications

Stated suction
16,600 PaLower than the 18,000 Pa ECOVACS stated for the X8 PRO OMNI this model replaces. ECOVACS also states a 16.3 L/s airflow figure, which almost nobody else publishes.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — suction (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Max climb height
20mm with the mop attachedECOVACS states the condition alongside the figure, which is unusual and useful — a mop combo's climb is not the same as a bare chassis's.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — barrier crossing (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Mop lift
10mm automaticECOVACS calls the mechanism the Triple Lift System and states that on carpet it raises the mop to prevent wetting while boosting suction.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Main brush
Cyclone-Directed anti-tangle main brush, ZeroTangle 3.0The successor to the ZeroTangle 2.0 brush on the discontinued X8 PRO OMNI.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — brush (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Stated runtime
Up to 196 minutesECOVACS states this for vacuuming on hard floor in standard mode. It is not comparable with the 291 minutes stated for the discontinued X8, which was a silent-mode figure.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — working time (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Dock
Self-emptying into a 3L bag, with temperature-controlled mop washing stated from 40C to 75C (104F to 167F) and hot-air dryingECOVACS publishes a wash temperature RANGE rather than a single figure, and states selectable drying durations of 2, 3 or 4 hours.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — station (retrieved 2026-10-03)

What it does well

  • OZMO Roller self-washes during the run rather than only at the dock
  • Publishes a threshold figure and states the condition (with mop attached)
  • Mop washing is temperature-controlled across a stated 40C to 75C range rather than a single number

What it does not

  • 20mm climb is among the lowest published figures here
  • 0.22L on-board bin is small, so it leans hard on the dock
  • 16,600 Pa is lower than the model it replaces, which stated 18,000 Pa

Who it is for

Hard floors that actually get dirty — kitchens, entryways, homes with dogs.

Skip it if

Your sills are tall. ECOVACS publishes 20mm with the mop attached, which is at the low end of our threshold table.

The three picks above are the highest published figures in this comparison, and they are recommended on that basis rather than on any claim about relative performance — which we have not measured and will not imply. Read them as the top of each maker's own range, not as a ranking against each other. Carpet is where the figure does earn its keep, and best robot vacuums for carpet ranks on it. For the two brands that publish no figure at all, see Shark vs Roomba. One of those two set directly against the brand that publishes a figure for everything is Roborock vs Shark.

Questions people actually ask

+ How many pascals do I need for carpet?

There is no honest number, because the figure is not standardized between brands. Within one brand's range, more is better on carpet. Across brands, decide on carpet boost, brush contact and climb height instead.

+ Is 8,000 Pa enough?

For hard floors and medium pile, comfortably. For deep pile the limiting factor is usually brush contact rather than airflow, so a higher figure on a machine that rides above the pile will not help.

+ Why do suction figures keep going up every year?

Partly genuine engineering and partly a specification race. Because there is no shared test, a maker can revise the headline figure by changing how it measures. Treat large year-on-year jumps as marketing until something else on the machine has also changed.

+ Which robot vacuum has the highest suction?

Of the models we cover, Roborock publishes 22,000 Pa for the Qrevo CurvX and the Saros 10R, and Dreame publishes 20,000 Pa for the X50 Ultra. Those are the highest stated figures, which is a different claim from the strongest machine.

Sources