Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Carpet / comparison

Carpet boost, and what happens at the carpet edge

Every model claims carpet detection. What varies is what it does next, and whether the mop gets out of the way in time.

By Scooter M.Published
Close-up of deep pile carpet fibers

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Carpet boost is three things happening at once: the robot detects the transition, raises fan power, and on a mop combo lifts or drops the wet pad. The detection is universal on mapped models. The mop response is where the published specifications differ, and it is the one that can ruin a rug.

The phrase covers more than it sounds like. Crossing from a hard floor onto carpet changes the robot's whole job, and a well-behaved machine changes three things in the same moment.

Detection

Most robots detect carpet by sensing the change in load on the brush motor or by an ultrasonic sensor reading the surface. Load sensing is reliable on a clear transition and less so on a thin, low-pile rug that barely changes the drag. Ultrasonic detection reads the surface ahead, which is what allows a robot to avoid a carpet entirely rather than noticing after it has already driven onto it.

The practical difference shows up with a mop attached. A robot that detects on load has already put a wet pad on the rug by the time it knows. A robot that detects ahead has not.

Power

The boost itself is straightforward: fan speed increases while the robot is on carpet and drops again when it leaves. What varies is headroom. A model running near its ceiling in normal mode has less left to give than one with a large published peak it only uses on carpet. This is the one place the pascal figures in the suction table tell you something practical, at least within a single brand's range.

The mop, which is the part that matters

Published mop lift height at the carpet edge

9 of 23 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated mop liftCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvRoborock17mmSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv, "17mm Mop Lift" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock17mmSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — "17mm Max. Mop Lifting" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborock17mmSource: Roborock Saros 10R product page — "17mm Mop Lift" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Roborock Qrevo MasterRoborockNot publishedThe listing states auto mop lifting but gives no height.
Roborock Qrevo SRoborock10mmSource: Roborock Qrevo S, "10mm Mop Lifting" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)RoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Roborock Q7 M5RoborockNot publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Dreame X50 UltraDreame10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreameNot publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Dreame X40 UltraDreameRemovable, plus a stated 10.5mm raiseDreame quotes the height difference before and after mop lifting as 10.5mm; the pads can also be dropped at the dock entirely.Source: Dreame model comparison — mop lifting height difference (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40 UltraDreameNot publishedThe listing states a removable mop but gives no lift height.
Dreame L10s UltraDreameNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy12mmAuto-lifting on carpet detection.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — auto-lifting mop (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy 11S MAXeufyNot publishedThis model does not mop.
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNIECOVACS10mm automaticSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACSNot publishedThe listing states auto mop lifting but gives no height.
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotAuto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robotiRobot describes it as an Auto-Retract Mopping System with back-and-forth pressure mopping. No millimeter figure is given because the pad leaves the floor plane entirely.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — mopping system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotNot publishedThis model does not mop.
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotNot publishedThis model does not mop.
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 (RV2610WA)SharkNot publishedNot stated on the listing.

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material on 2026-09-01. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves — see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Published lifts run from 10mm to 17mm on the models that state one. That range covers most rugs and none of the deep ones — a 10mm lift over a 15mm pile is a wet pad dragging through carpet. iRobot avoids the whole question by retracting the pad up onto the top of the robot, which is why it publishes no millimeter figure: the pad is not in the floor plane at all.

Several models advertise auto mop lifting and publish no height for it. That is not a small omission on a page like this one — the number is the entire specification. Full treatment on mop lift height compared.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house22,000 Pa
2
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.
The most completely published spec sheet8,000 Pa
3
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figure20,000 Pa

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Flagship pricing — the plain Curv covers the same published thresholds for less

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Qrevo CurvX write-up

Pick 2

eufy X10 Pro Omni

The most completely published spec sheet

eufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.

Published specifications

Max climb height
21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Auto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle CombSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
173 minutes vacuuming, 136 minutes vacuuming and moppingeufy states both figures for standard mode.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Body height
Needs 130mm (5.12in) of clearance under furnitureeufy publishes this as a minimum height restriction rather than a body height.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — height restrictions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with auto mop washing and drying, 3L self-refilling tankThe robot itself carries an 80ml water tank.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — station and tanks (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes an obstacle clearance figure at all, which iRobot and Shark do not
  • 12mm auto-lifting mop with carpet detection
  • Separate stated runtimes for vacuum-only and vacuum-plus-mop

What it does not

  • 21mm clearance is mid-pack and well below the Curv or the L40s
  • 8,000 Pa is modest against the current flagship figures

Who it is for

Anyone who wants to check the specs before buying rather than after the robot arrives.

Skip it if

Your sills are over about 20mm. A published 21mm clearance is honest, but it is not tall.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full eufy X10 Pro Omni write-up

Pick 3

Dreame X50 Ultra

The tallest published climb figure

The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.

Published specifications

Stated suction
20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
HyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
VersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dustbin
395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
  • 20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
  • Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode

What it does not

  • The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
  • 10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock

Who it is for

Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.

Skip it if

You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Dreame X50 Ultra write-up

One practical note that applies whichever model you buy: if you have a rug you genuinely care about, draw a no-go zone around it and clean it by hand. No published lift height is worth a ruined rug, and the setting takes a minute.

Questions people actually ask

+ What does carpet boost actually do?

It raises fan power while the robot is on carpet and, on a mop combo, lifts or drops the wet pad. On chassis-lift models it also raises the body so the brush meets deep pile properly.

+ Do all robot vacuums have carpet detection?

Every mapped model we cover claims it. Bump-and-turn models generally do not. What differs is how the detection works — sensing brush load after driving onto the carpet, or sensing the surface ahead.

+ Will the mop get my carpet wet?

Not if the lift height exceeds your pile depth, or if the pad detaches at the dock before a carpet run. It will if you have deep pile and a 10mm lift. When in doubt, use a no-go zone.

+ Can I turn carpet boost off?

On most mapped models yes, in the app, usually per room or per cleaning mode. It is worth turning off in a bedroom if the boosted fan is loud enough to wake somebody, which on the higher-suction models it is.

Sources