iRobot Roomba j9+
The vacuum-only j9+ is the model whose obstacle avoidance is specifically marketed against pet waste, which is a failure mode with a very high cost.
Best for
Homes with a dog and a real risk of an accident
#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none
Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.
iRobot publishes 4 of the 6 specifications we track for this model and states nothing about the other 2. Everything below is quoted from iRobot’s own material, with the page it came from linked on each row. We have not handled this machine.
The vacuum-only j9+ exists for one specific fear, and iRobot markets it accordingly: obstacle avoidance aimed at pet waste. Every other avoidance failure costs you a tangled brush and an unpleasant ten minutes. That one costs you a floor, and in a house with a puppy or an older dog it is a rational thing to spend money on.
As a spec sheet it is nearly blank. No published suction figure, no climb height, no runtime, no bin capacity. Rubber brushes and a 60-day base are stated, and that is most of what iRobot will tell you. If the avoidance is what you are buying, that is a defensible purchase; if you wanted to compare it against anything else numerically, you cannot.
The published spec sheet
- Stated suction
- Stated only as powerful suction, with no figureiRobot publishes no Pa rating, so this model cannot be compared numerically on suction with any other brand here.Source: iRobot Roomba j9+ listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Max climb height
- Not publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
- Mop lift
- Not publishedThis model does not mop.
- Main brush
- Dual multi-surface rubber brushesSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — shared brush hardware (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Navigation
- PrecisionVision obstacle avoidance with smart mappingSource: iRobot Roomba j9+ navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Dock
- Self-emptying base, stated at 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba j9+ base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
What the sheet says it does well, and what it does not
Strengths
- Obstacle avoidance aimed at the one obstacle that ruins a floor
- Sixty-day stated self-empty interval
- Rubber brushes rather than bristles, which matters for long hair
Limits
- No published suction, climb height, runtime or bin capacity
- Vacuum only — there is no mop on this trim
Who it is for
Dog owners, especially with a puppy or an older dog, who have had one bad run already.
Who should skip it
You want mopping, or you want published specifications — iRobot states neither a suction figure nor a climb height.
Where we recommend it
- Robot vacuum mapping and navigation
- LiDAR vs vSLAM vs solid-state navigation
- Robot vacuums with obstacle avoidance
How we assessed this
By reading what iRobot publishes and recording it with its source. We have never owned, handled or measured this machine, and nothing above is written as though we had. Where the manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says so rather than borrowing a number from somewhere else. The full method is on how we pick, and if a figure here does not match the page it links to, tell us and we will correct it with a date.
What the spec sheet does not tell you
2 of the figures we track are absent from iRobot’s own material for this model. That is worth knowing before you buy, because each of them answers a question somebody eventually asks:
- Max climb height — Not stated by iRobot for this model.
- Mop lift — This model does not mop.
We could fill those in from a review site or an estimate. We do not, because a number we cannot source is worth less than an honest blank, and the pattern of what each maker will and will not state is one of the more useful things on this site.
Questions people actually ask
+ Does iRobot publish a threshold climb height for the iRobot Roomba j9+?
No. Not stated by iRobot for this model. We record that as not published rather than borrowing a figure from a review site — see the climb table for the models that do state one.
+ What suction does the iRobot Roomba j9+ have?
iRobot states Stated only as powerful suction, with no figure. iRobot publishes no Pa rating, so this model cannot be compared numerically on suction with any other brand here. Remember that pascal ratings are not standardized between manufacturers, so that figure ranks this model within iRobot's own range and does not compare across brands — the full explanation.
+ Is the iRobot Roomba j9+ good for pet hair?
Its main brush is described as dual multi-surface rubber brushes, which is the specification that matters most in a hair-heavy house — more than suction. The brush comparison sets out what each design does.
+ Can the iRobot Roomba j9+ mop over carpet?
This model does not mop. Without a figure you cannot check it against your carpet, which is why we rank models that publish one above models that do not. Mop lift compared.
+ Who should skip the iRobot Roomba j9+?
You want mopping, or you want published specifications — iRobot states neither a suction figure nor a climb height.
#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none