Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Navigation / data table

Robot vacuum threshold climb heights, compared

Most robots quit around 20mm. Here is every published figure, the condition attached to it, and a link to the page it came from.

By Scooter M.Published
A raised wooden door sill between two rooms, photographed at floor level

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Most robot vacuums clear a threshold of about 20mm. Where makers publish a figure it ranges from 20mm to a claimed 80mm, and the highest claims carry conditions that change what they mean. Measure your tallest door sill before you shop — in an older house it will rule out most of the market.

This is the page this site was built to write. Manufacturers publish threshold climb heights inconsistently, in different units, with different conditions attached, and several do not publish them at all — while still selling chassis-lift hardware whose only purpose is climbing. Nobody puts them in one table.

So here is the table, with the condition each maker states and a link to the page each figure came from. We have not measured any of these. What we have done is read every manufacturer page we could reach and record what it says.

Published maximum threshold climb height, every model we cover

11 of 29 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated max climb heightCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborockNot publishedRoborock markets an industry-first AdaptiLift chassis on this model but states no climb height on the product page.
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborockNot publishedNo climb height stated on the listing for this trim.
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)RoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Dreame X50 UltraDreame60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreame40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreame22mm (0.87in)Stated by Dreame in its own model comparison, not on the product listing.Source: Dreame model comparison — L40 Ultra Gen 2 vs L40s Ultra, obstacle climbing height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreameNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACSNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotNot publishediRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page.
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotNot publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotNot publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNot publishedShark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it.
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1SharkNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedNot stated. Shark markets NeverStuck technology across the PowerDetect line without publishing a height behind it.
Roborock Q7 M5+Roborock20mm (2cm)Roborock's wording is "2cm climbing ability", with no condition attached.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — climbing ability (retrieved 2026-09-17)
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotNot publishedNot stated on iRobot's product page.
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobotNot publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
eufy Omni C28eufyNot publishedNot stated. The sister X10 Pro Omni publishes 21mm, so the silence here is a choice rather than a house style.
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller CompleteDreame80mm (8cm) over a stepDreame attributes this to ProLeap, described as retracting "feet" that climb over obstacles up to 8cm high. This is the highest climb figure published by any maker on this site — worth measuring your own step before trusting it.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — ProLeap climbing (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Narwal Flow 2NarwalNot publishedNarwal publishes no climb or threshold height for this model.
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)SharkNot publishedNot stated. No Shark model we cover publishes a climb height.
Narwal Freo Z10 TurboNarwal20mm (2cm)The common figure in this category rather than a standout one.Source: Narwal Freo Z10 Turbo product page — threshold (retrieved 2026-10-03)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIECOVACS20mm with the mop attachedECOVACS states the condition alongside the figure, which is unusual and useful — a mop combo's climb is not the same as a bare chassis's.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — barrier crossing (retrieved 2026-10-03)
eufy Omni S2eufy35mm single step, 42mm double stepeufy publishes both conditions (1.38in and 1.65in on the US page). The 35mm single-step figure is the second-highest SINGLE-step figure on this site, behind only the Dreame X50 Ultra's 42mm.Source: eufy Omni S2 US product page — climb height (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni E28eufyNot publishedNot stated on eufy's E28 page. A figure of 0.83in appears in a bundle comparison table elsewhere on eufy's site; because it is not on the product page for this variant we do not publish it.
eufy Omni C20eufy18mmA modest figure, published plainly. Measure a door sill before assuming it clears.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — climb height (retrieved 2026-10-17)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Reading the conditions, which is the whole point

Dreame X50 Ultra: 60mm is not a door sill

Dreame advertises climbing obstacles up to 6cm, and in the same specification states: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." A door sill is a single vertical step. So for the purpose most buyers care about, the figure is 42mm, not 60mm — and Dreame says so in its own material, which is more than several rivals do.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX: 40mm, double-layer, with the chassis lift engaged

Roborock states the CurvX can cross double-layer thresholds up to 1.57in (40mm) with its chassis lift engaged. A double-layer threshold is a stepped sill — two smaller rises rather than one vertical face — which the chassis can take in two bites. Roborock publishes no separate figure for a single vertical sill on the CurvX. Its predecessor, the now-discontinued Qrevo Curv, did: 30mm standard against 40mm double-layer. That is the best available clue to how far apart the two cases sit, but it is a figure for a different machine — so if your sill is a single 40mm face, treat the CurvX as unconfirmed rather than assuming it clears.

ECOVACS X9 PRO OMNI: 20mm, with the mop on

ECOVACS states 20mm with the mop attached. That is a lower figure than several rivals and a more useful one, because a mop combo carrying a wet roller behaves differently from a bare chassis and almost nobody else says which state they measured.

eufy X10 Pro Omni: 21mm, published plainly

eufy publishes 0.83in as an obstacle clearance height on its own product page, with no marketing wrapper. It is not a high figure. It is a stated one, which puts eufy ahead of two brands that publish nothing at all.

iRobot and Shark: no figure

Neither iRobot nor Shark publishes a threshold or obstacle climbing height for any model we cover. Shark markets "NeverStuck" technology on the PowerDetect, aimed squarely at this exact problem, without stating a height behind it. We have recorded those as not published rather than filling them in from a review site, because a number we cannot source is worth less than an honest blank.

How to measure your own thresholds

  1. Measure the vertical face, floor surface to the top of the sill, not the total width of the strip. It is the rise that stops the robot.
  2. Measure from the low side. A sill between a tiled kitchen and a carpeted hallway is a different height in each direction, and the robot has to manage both.
  3. Note whether it is one face or two. A stepped sill is genuinely easier and is what the double-layer figures describe.
  4. Find the tallest one in the house. That single measurement decides your shortlist far more than any suction figure.
  5. Add a few millimeters of margin. A published maximum is a laboratory maximum.

If your sills are too tall for everything

Two honest options, and neither is a robot. A threshold ramp — a small wedge glued or taped against the sill — converts a vertical face into a slope and works reliably. Or accept a per-floor arrangement: the robot cleans the rooms it can reach and a different machine does the rest. Both are better than a robot that reports itself trapped in the same doorway every afternoon. If you are choosing between the two brands that dominate the filled rows above, Dreame vs Roborock counts who publishes a climb figure and who does not.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMax climbPrice
1
Dreame X50 Ultra
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figure60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single step
2
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house40mm (1.57in) double-layer
3
Dreame L40s Ultra
Dreame L40s UltraStates 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.
A published 40mm climb without flagship money40mm (1.57in)
4
eufy X10 Pro Omni
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.
The most completely published spec sheet21mm (0.83in)

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Dreame X50 Ultra
Top pick

Dreame X50 Ultra

The tallest published climb figure

The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.

Published specifications

Stated suction
20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
HyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
VersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dustbin
395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
  • 20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
  • Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode

What it does not

  • The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
  • 10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock

Who it is for

Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.

Skip it if

You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Pick 2

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Roborock publishes only a double-layer threshold figure for it, not a separate figure for a single vertical sill

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

Dreame L40s Ultra
Pick 3

Dreame L40s Ultra

A published 40mm climb without flagship money

States 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Not publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Navigation
Not named on the listingThe listing describes app and voice control but does not name the mapping system.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 40mm (1.57in) obstacle clearing is stated on the listing, not buried
  • DuoBrush described as fully detangling
  • Extending mop and side brush for edges

What it does not

  • No mop-lift height published
  • 19,000 Pa is a peak figure and tells you nothing about sustained airflow

Who it is for

A house with real sills and a shedding pet, on a mid-range budget.

Skip it if

You want the published mop-lift height — Dreame does not state one for this model on the listing.

eufy X10 Pro Omni
Pick 4

eufy X10 Pro Omni

The most completely published spec sheet

eufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.

Published specifications

Max climb height
21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Auto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle CombSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
173 minutes vacuuming, 136 minutes vacuuming and moppingeufy states both figures for standard mode.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Body height
Needs 130mm (5.12in) of clearance under furnitureeufy publishes this as a minimum height restriction rather than a body height.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — height restrictions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with auto mop washing and drying, 3L self-refilling tankThe robot itself carries an 80ml water tank.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — station and tanks (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes an obstacle clearance figure at all, which iRobot and Shark do not
  • 12mm auto-lifting mop with carpet detection
  • Separate stated runtimes for vacuum-only and vacuum-plus-mop

What it does not

  • 21mm clearance is mid-pack and well below the Curv or the L40s
  • 8,000 Pa is modest against the current flagship figures

Who it is for

Anyone who wants to check the specs before buying rather than after the robot arrives.

Skip it if

Your sills are over about 20mm. A published 21mm clearance is honest, but it is not tall.

One last note on this table. If you find a manufacturer page that publishes a figure we have marked as not published, tell us and we will add it with the source and the date.{' '}Contact. Corrections get dated rather than silently edited.

Questions people actually ask

+ Can robot vacuums go over thresholds?

Most clear about 20mm. Where makers publish a figure the range is 20mm to a claimed 80mm, and the highest claims come with conditions. Measure the vertical rise of your tallest sill before you shop.

+ What is the maximum threshold height for a robot vacuum?

Dreame states 42mm for a single vertical step on the X50 Ultra and 60mm for a series of steps with gaps over 40mm. Roborock states 40mm for a double-layer threshold on the Qrevo CurvX. Those are the highest published figures we found.

+ Can a Roomba go over thresholds?

iRobot does not publish a threshold or obstacle climbing height for any Roomba model we cover, so we cannot tell you and will not guess. If sill height is your deciding factor, buy from a maker that states one.

+ Why does my robot get stuck on a threshold it used to cross?

Usually a mechanical change rather than a software one: hair packed into the front caster so it drags instead of rolling, worn wheel treads, or a lower battery giving less motor torque. Clean the caster first.

+ Do threshold ramps work?

Yes, and they are the cheapest fix by a wide margin. A small wedge against the sill turns a vertical face into a slope. The only caveat is making sure it is fixed down, because a ramp the robot pushes around is worse than no ramp.

Sources