Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Guides / guide

What to look for in a robot vacuum

Every buying guide lists the same six things to compare. None of them mentions that for half of those six, most manufacturers do not publish a number at all.

By Scooter M.Published
A notebook and pen on a wooden table

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Check the climb height first, then the brush construction, then the body height. Those three decide whether the robot reaches your rooms, survives your hair and fits under your furniture - and they are the three most buying guides leave out. Suction matters least of the specifications people compare on, because it is the one you cannot compare across brands.

There is a standard list of things to look for in a robot vacuum and it is roughly the same on every site: suction, battery life, mapping, mopping, the dock, the app. It is not a bad list. The problem is that it assumes the numbers exist.

They often do not. We maintain a spec sheet for 36 models and 29 of those are currently on sale. Across those 29, a published runtime exists for six. A published dustbin capacity exists for four. If your buying process involves comparing battery life, the honest situation is that four fifths of the market will not tell you.

How often each specification is actually published

Published figures across the 29 robot vacuums currently on sale here
What buying guides tell you to compareModels publishing a figureVerdict
Dock behavior (self-empty, wash, dry)29 of 29Always stated. Compare freely
Navigation system named28 of 29Named, but a name is not a capability
Main brush construction named26 of 29Almost always stated - and it is the row that matters most
Suction in pascals22 of 29Published often, comparable rarely
Mop lift height11 of 29Published by fewer than half
Threshold / climb height11 of 29The most decisive figure, published by fewer than half
Robot body height9 of 29Published by under a third
Runtime6 of 29Effectively unpublished
On-board dustbin capacity4 of 29Effectively unpublished

Counted 2026-10-17 across every non-discontinued model in our registry, from each maker's own product pages. A row describing suction in words rather than pascals is counted as unpublished. Every underlying figure is sourced on that model's spec sheet.

Read that table as a shopping instruction rather than a complaint. The specifications at the top are the ones you can genuinely use to choose between machines. The ones at the bottom are ones you will have to decide without.

1. Climb height — start here, not with suction

This is the figure that decides whether the robot cleans a room at all. A raised strip between your kitchen and your hall, a door sill, the lip into a bathroom: if the robot cannot get over it, no amount of suction matters, because it is not in the room. It is the single most common reason a robot disappoints someone whose house is otherwise ideal for one.

Published climb heights across every brand we cover

11 of 29 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated max climb heightCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborockNot publishedRoborock markets an industry-first AdaptiLift chassis on this model but states no climb height on the product page.
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborockNot publishedNo climb height stated on the listing for this trim.
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)RoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Dreame X50 UltraDreame60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreame40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreame22mm (0.87in)Stated by Dreame in its own model comparison, not on the product listing.Source: Dreame model comparison — L40 Ultra Gen 2 vs L40s Ultra, obstacle climbing height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreameNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACSNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotNot publishediRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page.
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotNot publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotNot publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNot publishedShark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it.
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1SharkNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedNot stated. Shark markets NeverStuck technology across the PowerDetect line without publishing a height behind it.
Roborock Q7 M5+Roborock20mm (2cm)Roborock's wording is "2cm climbing ability", with no condition attached.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — climbing ability (retrieved 2026-09-17)
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotNot publishedNot stated on iRobot's product page.
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobotNot publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
eufy Omni C28eufyNot publishedNot stated. The sister X10 Pro Omni publishes 21mm, so the silence here is a choice rather than a house style.
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller CompleteDreame80mm (8cm) over a stepDreame attributes this to ProLeap, described as retracting "feet" that climb over obstacles up to 8cm high. This is the highest climb figure published by any maker on this site — worth measuring your own step before trusting it.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — ProLeap climbing (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Narwal Flow 2NarwalNot publishedNarwal publishes no climb or threshold height for this model.
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)SharkNot publishedNot stated. No Shark model we cover publishes a climb height.
Narwal Freo Z10 TurboNarwal20mm (2cm)The common figure in this category rather than a standout one.Source: Narwal Freo Z10 Turbo product page — threshold (retrieved 2026-10-03)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIECOVACS20mm with the mop attachedECOVACS states the condition alongside the figure, which is unusual and useful — a mop combo's climb is not the same as a bare chassis's.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — barrier crossing (retrieved 2026-10-03)
eufy Omni S2eufy35mm single step, 42mm double stepeufy publishes both conditions (1.38in and 1.65in on the US page). The 35mm single-step figure is the second-highest SINGLE-step figure on this site, behind only the Dreame X50 Ultra's 42mm.Source: eufy Omni S2 US product page — climb height (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni E28eufyNot publishedNot stated on eufy's E28 page. A figure of 0.83in appears in a bundle comparison table elsewhere on eufy's site; because it is not on the product page for this variant we do not publish it.
eufy Omni C20eufy18mmA modest figure, published plainly. Measure a door sill before assuming it clears.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — climb height (retrieved 2026-10-17)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Go and measure your worst sill before you read any further. A tape measure and two minutes will narrow the field faster than any review. Then read the conditions on the figure, because they vary: Dreame states 60mm over a series of shallow steps and 42mm over one vertical step for the same machine, and Roborock's 40mm is a double-layer threshold rather than a single riser. The threshold table is the full cross-brand version with every condition attached.

If the brand you want publishes nothing here - iRobot and Shark publish no climb height for any model, ever - then you are buying on hope. That is a legitimate choice for a flat house with no sills. It is a bad one for anything else.

2. Brush construction — the row that decides your maintenance

Almost every maker names the brush, so this is checkable on 26 of 29 machines, and it predicts your weekly life with the robot better than any other single row. Rubber or finned brushes let hair travel into the bin. Bristle brushes let it wind around the core, where it eventually stalls the motor and drops the pickup until someone cuts it free with scissors.

If anyone in the house has long hair, or a dog or cat sheds, treat a bristle main brush as a disqualifier rather than a compromise. Rubber vs bristle brushes has the cross-brand comparison, and robot vacuums for long hair ranks the field on this single question.

3. Body height — the specification people discover too late

Published robot body height, where a maker states one

9 of 10 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelBody heightCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock80mm (3.14in)Source: Roborock Qrevo CurvX, "3.14 in Ultra Slim" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborock80mm (3.14in)Source: Roborock Saros 10R product page — "3.14-inch Ultra-Thin Design" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy X10 Pro OmnieufyNeeds 130mm (5.12in) of clearance under furnitureeufy publishes this as a minimum height restriction rather than a body height.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — height restrictions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobot86mm (3.4in)Listed dimensions 3.4 x 13.3 x 13.3in, 7.5lb.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Q7 M5+Roborock99mm (3.9in)Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Narwal Freo Z10 TurboNarwal107.7mm (4.24in)Tall enough that low furniture is a real constraint — compare it against the 80mm flagships.Source: Narwal Freo Z10 Turbo product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-10-03)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIECOVACS98mmSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-10-03)
eufy Omni S2eufyNot publishedNot stated on the US page, so whether it fits under low furniture cannot be checked before purchase.
eufy Omni E28eufy4.40in (roughly 112mm)Taller than most. eufy publishes it as part of the robot's overall dimensions rather than as a clearance figure.Source: eufy Omni E28 product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni C20eufy85mmThe third-flattest published figure here, behind the 80mm Roborock states for the Qrevo CurvX and the Saros 10R. eufy also states it cleans under furniture as low as 3.54in.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — robot height (retrieved 2026-10-17)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Nine of 29 machines state how tall they are. The published range runs from 80mm to around 112mm, and that 30mm gap is exactly the difference between a robot that cleans under your sofa and one that wedges itself under it every week. Measure the lowest gap in your house - usually a couch, a bed frame or a kitchen kickboard - and if the brand will not tell you the height, assume it does not fit. Robot vacuums that fit under furniture ranks the ones that publish a number.

4. The dock, which is the part you actually live with

Every maker describes the dock, so this is the one row you can always compare. Three questions, in order of how much they will matter to you:

  1. Does it empty itself, and for how long? Stated intervals here run from 30 days to 90. This is the single biggest quality-of-life difference in the category - see self-emptying dock or manual bin.
  2. Bag or bagless? A bag is more expensive to run and seals the dust. A bagless base is cheaper and means you tip a dust cup into the trash yourself. If anyone in the house has allergies, pay for the bag - dander and allergies explains why.
  3. Does it wash AND dry the mop pad, and with what? Washing without drying is how a pad goes musty in a week. Some makers publish a wash temperature, some publish a range, some say only "hot". How to stop the mop smelling musty is the consequence.

5. Suction — useful inside a brand, misleading across brands

Pascal figures are published for 22 of 29 machines, which makes suction look like the most comparable specification on the sheet. It is not, because there is no shared test behind it. Each maker measures on its own rig, and the figures have inflated steadily: the range on this site now runs from 5,300 Pa to 31,000 Pa, and the top of that range is not six times better at picking up dust than the bottom.

What a Pa figure does reliably tell you is where a machine sits in its own maker's range, which is genuinely useful when you are choosing between two models from one brand. The full argument, and the chart, are on robot vacuum suction power compared.

Shark publishes no numeric suction figure for any of its four machines, and iRobot publishes one for one of its five. Both still sell well, which tells you how little the number drives the market.

6. Mopping — decide the mechanism, not the score

If you want a mop, the choice that matters is mechanical rather than numerical. Spinning pads press and rotate; roller mops rinse themselves continuously as they run; one iRobot model retracts the pad onto the robot's back entirely. These behave differently on the same floor, and the published mop lift height - available on 11 of 29 machines - tells you whether a wet pad will end up on your rug.

Start with mop combo or two separate machines if you have not decided whether to combine the jobs at all, then spinning pads vs roller mops for the mechanism, and check which floors you can actually mop before assuming yours is one of them.

What to do about the blanks

  • Treat an unpublished figure as a worse answer than a mediocre published one. A stated 18mm climb height is more useful than a silent machine that might manage 30mm.
  • Never substitute a review site's measurement for a maker's figure. Nobody tests climb height the same way twice, and a number without a stated condition is not a specification.
  • Buy the brand that publishes, when the thing it publishes is your problem. Dreame states a climb height on four of five models, eufy on three of five. If your sills are the issue, that narrows the market usefully.
  • Accept the blanks on things you can return the robot over. Runtime and bin capacity are unpublished almost everywhere, and both are discoverable in the first week.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Rank the criteria by whether you can check them, not by how much they are talked about. A specification nobody publishes cannot be part of a decision, however important it sounds.
  • Count disclosure across the whole live range, which is 29 currently-purchasable models from seven brands as of 2026-10-17, rather than cherry-picking the makers that look good.
  • A figure beats a phrase. "Extreme power-lifting suction" is counted as unpublished here, because it is.
  • Prefer dimensions you can verify at home. A climb height and a body height can be checked with a tape measure against your own floor. A pascal figure can only be compared with other pascal figures from the same maker.
  • No testing claims. We have not run any of these machines. See how we pick.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house22,000 Pa
2
Dreame X40 Ultra
Dreame X40 UltraThe mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.
Removable mop pads12,000 Pa
3
eufy Omni C20
eufy Omni C20One of the two least powerful machines on this site on paper, and the one that tells you the most about itself for the money — suction, climb, mop lift, runtime, bin and body height are all published.
The cheapest complete spec sheet here7,000 Pa
4
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure30,000 Pa

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Roborock publishes only a double-layer threshold figure for it, not a separate figure for a single vertical sill

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

Dreame X40 Ultra
Pick 2

Dreame X40 Ultra

Removable mop pads

The mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.

Published specifications

Max climb height
22mm (0.87in)Stated by Dreame in its own model comparison, not on the product listing.Source: Dreame model comparison — L40 Ultra Gen 2 vs L40s Ultra, obstacle climbing height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Removable, plus a stated 10.5mm raiseDreame quotes the height difference before and after mop lifting as 10.5mm; the pads can also be dropped at the dock entirely.Source: Dreame model comparison — mop lifting height difference (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with 158F mop and washboard self-cleaning, auto refillSource: Dreame X40 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Mops detach at the dock instead of riding along raised
  • Stated 198 minutes of runtime
  • 12,000 Pa stated peak suction

What it does not

  • 22mm climb is mid-pack and well below the L40s and X50
  • Large dock footprint for the mop-washing hardware

Who it is for

Mixed carpet and hard floor where you want the mop gone, not raised.

Skip it if

Your thresholds are tall. Dreame's own comparison puts this generation's obstacle climbing at 22mm.

eufy Omni C20
Pick 3

eufy Omni C20

The cheapest complete spec sheet here

One of the two least powerful machines on this site on paper, and the one that tells you the most about itself for the money — suction, climb, mop lift, runtime, bin and body height are all published.

Published specifications

Stated suction
7,000 PaJoint second-lowest stated figure among the machines currently sold here. Only the Dreame L10s Ultra's 5,300 Pa is lower, and the Roborock Qrevo Pro states the same 7,000.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — max suction (retrieved 2026-10-17)
Max climb height
18mmA modest figure, published plainly. Measure a door sill before assuming it clears.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — climb height (retrieved 2026-10-17)
Mop lift
10.4mmeufy states this as 0.41in in its FAQ and 10.4mm in the spec table. The two agree, which is worth noting on a brand whose other sheets do not.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — mop auto-lifting (retrieved 2026-10-17)
Main brush
Pro-Detangle Comb over the roller brusheufy describes the roller reversing while a comb flips down to cut hair free, rather than naming a brush construction.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — anti-tangle brush (retrieved 2026-10-17)
Navigation
Infrared and point-laser obstacle avoidance, with multi-floor mapping for up to 3 floorseufy names the avoidance hardware and the mapping limit but not a navigation system, so the system row stays as published.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — obstacle avoidance and mapping (retrieved 2026-10-17)
Stated runtime
101 minutes sweeping and mopping in standard modeSource: eufy Omni C20 product page — run time (retrieved 2026-10-17)
Body height
85mmThe third-flattest published figure here, behind the 80mm Roborock states for the Qrevo CurvX and the Saros 10R. eufy also states it cleans under furniture as low as 3.54in.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — robot height (retrieved 2026-10-17)
Dock
All-in-One station: self-emptying into a stated 3.1L bag for up to 60 days in a pet-free home, mop washing, mop drying with room-temperature air, and water refilling from a 2.5L tankRoom-temperature drying rather than hot air. That is the single biggest difference between this station and the expensive ones, and it is the usual cause of a musty pad.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — station (retrieved 2026-10-17)

What it does well

  • An 85mm body — among the flattest figures published by any maker here
  • Publishes suction, climb height, mop lift, runtime, dustbin capacity AND body height, which several machines at triple the price do not
  • A full station — self-empty, mop wash, mop dry and water refill — at the bottom of the range

What it does not

  • 7,000 Pa sits near the bottom of the stated-suction range on this site
  • The station dries with room-temperature air, not hot air
  • eufy names an obstacle-avoidance method but no navigation system in the page text

Who it is for

A flat or a small house with low furniture and modest sills, where a full station at the lowest price matters more than a big suction figure.

Skip it if

You have deep carpet or a lot of pet hair. A stated 7,000 Pa sits near the bottom of every figure on this site, and no amount of disclosure changes what that means on a thick rug.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Pick 4

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1

It is the best illustration on this site of what this page is about, which is why it is here rather than in the ranking. Shark names its navigation hardware precisely - 360-degree LiDAR plus a 3D sensor - describes a NeverTouch Pro base that empties, refills, washes and dries, and then publishes no suction figure, no climb height, no mop lift, no runtime and no body height. Across all four Shark machines on this site, the count of published numeric suction figures is zero. The dock is genuinely good and the brand has a real service network; you simply cannot compare the robot with anything, which makes it the wrong machine to buy from a comparison.

Those four are not "the best robot vacuums" - they are the four that let you check the most before paying, at four different prices. If you would rather start from your floor problem than from a spec sheet, every hub on this site is organized that way: pet hair, carpet, hard floors, mopping, navigation and troubleshooting. And if this is your first robot, the beginner's guide argues for ignoring most of this page and checking only three things.

Questions people actually ask

+ What should I look for when buying a robot vacuum?

Check the published climb height first, because it decides whether the robot can reach every room in your house. Then the main brush construction, because rubber brushes handle hair and bristle brushes tangle. Then the robot's body height against your lowest furniture gap. Suction in pascals matters least, because every maker measures it differently.

+ How much suction does a robot vacuum need?

There is no honest cross-brand answer, because there is no shared test. Published figures on this site run from 5,300 Pa to 31,000 Pa, and the top is not six times more effective than the bottom. Use a Pa figure to rank machines within one brand's own range, where it is measured consistently, and use brush construction and carpet-boost behavior to judge performance on deep pile instead.

+ Which robot vacuum specification is most important?

The threshold climb height, for most houses. It is the figure that determines whether the robot gets over a door sill and into the next room, and a machine that cannot reach a room cleans none of it. It is also published by only 11 of the 29 models currently on sale here, which is why it is worth checking first rather than last.

+ Do I need a robot vacuum that mops?

Only if you have hard floors that get genuinely dirty, and only after you check the mop lift height if you also have rugs. A mop combo adds a water tank, pads, a washing station and a maintenance routine. Many people are better served by a vacuum-only robot plus a separate mop - the trade-off is set out in mop combo or two separate machines.

+ Is a more expensive robot vacuum better?

Not reliably, and not in the way you would expect on disclosure. The cheapest machine eufy sells publishes all nine specifications we track, while its four-figure flagship leaves three of them blank. Price buys station features - mop washing, hot-air drying, longer self-empty intervals - more consistently than it buys a better clean.

+ What is the first thing to check before buying a robot vacuum?

Two tape-measure jobs, both done before you read a single review: the height of the tallest door sill the robot must cross, and the height of the lowest gap under your furniture. Those two numbers eliminate more unsuitable machines than any other research you can do.