Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Pet hair / roundup

Robot vacuums for pet hair

Hair is a brush problem before it is a suction problem. Here is what each manufacturer actually publishes about its brush, and which models say nothing at all.

By Scooter M.Published
A dog lying on a living room carpet, the kind of surface that collects shed hair between cleans

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

For pet hair, the brush decides everything. A rubber or dual-roller anti-tangle brush keeps working; a bristle brush winds hair into a solid collar within days. Of the models here, Roborock, Dreame, eufy and iRobot all publish an anti-tangle brush design. Shark and the cheaper Roborock trims publish nothing about theirs.

Every roundup you will read about pet hair leads with a suction number. That is the wrong number. Suction moves hair the moment it is loose on the floor; it does nothing about what happens after the hair reaches the brush. If the brush winds, you are not buying a vacuum, you are buying a weekly appointment with a seam ripper.

So this page is organized around what manufacturers publish about their brushes, and where they publish nothing. It also flags the second problem nobody advertises: a shedding dog fills a bin fast, which is what makes a self-emptying dock the difference between a robot that runs daily and one that stops mid-room every afternoon.

The brush is the spec, not the suction

There are broadly three main-brush designs on sale right now, and the differences are not subtle in a house with a shedding animal.

  • Bristle brushes sweep well and wind hair. Long hair, human or animal, wraps the axle and then the brush stops turning freely. Almost nobody sells a purely bristled main brush at the top of the market any more, which is itself informative.
  • Rubber or silicone rollers flex instead of gripping. Hair slides along the roller rather than wrapping, and what does wrap is easy to pull free. ECOVACS and iRobot both use rubber main brushes and say so.
  • Dual-roller and comb designs — Roborock's DuoDivide, Dreame's DuoBrush, eufy's Pro-Detangle Comb, Roborock's JawScrapers — add a fixed cutter or a second roller that severs or diverts hair before it can form a collar. These are the designs specifically marketed at this problem.

Main brush design, as each manufacturer describes it

10 of 11 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelMain brushCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvRoborockDuoDivide dual rubber-bristle main brushRoborock describes it as two parallel short bristle rollers with spiral blades.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — DuoDivide main brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)RoborockAnti-tangle main and side brushesSource: Roborock Qrevo QV 35A, "Anti-Tangle Brush" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Q7 M5RoborockJawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brushRoborock pairs it with an anti-tangle side brush as a Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreameDuoBrush, stated as 100 percent detanglingSource: Dreame L40s Ultra brush — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X50 UltraDreameHyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy X10 Pro OmnieufyAuto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle CombSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNIECOVACSRubber main brush with ZeroTangle 2.0Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotDual multi-surface rubber brushes with an edge-sweeping brushSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkSelf-cleaning brushrollSource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 brushroll — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 (RV2610WA)SharkSelf-cleaning brushrollSource: Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 brushroll — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo SRoborockNot publishedBrush construction is not described on the listing.

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material on 2026-09-01. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves — see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Read that table for the blanks as much as the entries. Roborock describes the DuoDivide brush down to its geometry on the Curv product page, and then publishes nothing about brush construction on the Qrevo S listing. Shark markets a self-cleaning brushroll on both of its models here and never says what it is made of. Those gaps are not us failing to find the number; they are the manufacturer choosing not to state one.

Why a shedding dog makes the dock a requirement

A robot vacuum's on-board bin is small. ECOVACS is one of the few brands that prints the figure at all — 0.22 liters on the X8 Pro Omni, and Dreame states 395ml on the X50 Ultra. In a house with one heavy-shedding dog, either of those fills inside a couple of runs. When the bin is full the robot either stops or keeps driving with nowhere to put anything.

That is the practical case for a self-emptying dock in a pet house, and it is a much better reason than the marketing one. It is not about never touching dust. It is about the robot being able to finish the room. If you are choosing between a higher suction figure and a self-emptying base at the same price, the base is the one that changes your week.

Cat households have a different problem

Cat hair is finer and shorter than dog hair, so it tangles less and floats more. The brush matters less; filtration and litter tracking matter more. Litter granules are heavy, abrasive and get scattered several feet from the tray, which is a suction and a bin-durability question rather than a brush one. That has its own page: robot vacuums and cat litter.

If the person in the house is allergic rather than merely tidy, the filter is the component that matters and the dock is where the exposure happens. That is covered on allergies, dander and HEPA filtration.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMain brushPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvPublishes both a standard-threshold and a double-layer threshold figure, which is the number most sill-blocked buyers are actually shopping for.
Tall or double-layer door sillsDuoDivide dual rubber-bristle main brush
2
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.
The most completely published spec sheetAuto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle Comb
3
Dreame L40s UltraStates 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.
A published 40mm climb without flagship moneyDuoBrush, stated as 100 percent detangling
4
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+The mop arm retracts to the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so it can mop and vacuum in one pass without routing around rugs.
Mopping without avoiding the carpetDual multi-surface rubber brushes with an edge-sweeping brush
5
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)Roborock's anti-tangle brushes in the cheapest trim that has them, which is the spec that matters most in a long-hair house.
Anti-tangle brushes at mid priceAnti-tangle main and side brushes
6
eufy 11S MAXNo app, no map, no cloud — a bump-and-turn robot that is thin enough to get under furniture the mapped machines cannot reach.
A thin, cheap, offline robotNot published

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Top pick

Roborock Qrevo Curv

Tall or double-layer door sills

Publishes both a standard-threshold and a double-layer threshold figure, which is the number most sill-blocked buyers are actually shopping for.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.6in) double-layer, 30mm (1.2in) standardRoborock's own wording is that it can overcome standard thresholds up to 3cm and navigate double-layer thresholds up to 4cm. Stated maxima assume a clean square edge; a rounded or worn sill behaves differently.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide dual rubber-bristle main brushRoborock describes it as two parallel short bristle rollers with spiral blades.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — DuoDivide main brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Body height
104mm (4.1in)Listed dimensions 13.9 x 13.7 x 4.1in.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Roborock publishes a standard-threshold figure and a double-layer figure separately, which almost nobody else does
  • 17mm of mop lift is enough to keep a wet pad off medium-pile carpet
  • Anti-tangle design on the main brush and the side brush, not just one of them

What it does not

  • The 40mm headline is a double-layer threshold, not a single 40mm step — read the condition, not the headline
  • 104mm (4.1in) tall, so it will not fit under a low sofa or a kickboard gap

Who it is for

Older houses with real door sills, and anyone whose current robot announces itself stuck in the same doorway every day.

Skip it if

Your floors are flat and open. You would be paying a premium for chassis hardware your home never asks for.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Qrevo Curv write-up

Pick 2

eufy X10 Pro Omni

The most completely published spec sheet

eufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.

Published specifications

Max climb height
21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Auto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle CombSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
173 minutes vacuuming, 136 minutes vacuuming and moppingeufy states both figures for standard mode.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Body height
Needs 130mm (5.12in) of clearance under furnitureeufy publishes this as a minimum height restriction rather than a body height.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — height restrictions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with auto mop washing and drying, 3L self-refilling tankThe robot itself carries an 80ml water tank.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — station and tanks (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes an obstacle clearance figure at all, which iRobot and Shark do not
  • 12mm auto-lifting mop with carpet detection
  • Separate stated runtimes for vacuum-only and vacuum-plus-mop

What it does not

  • 21mm clearance is mid-pack and well below the Curv or the L40s
  • 8,000 Pa is modest against the current flagship figures

Who it is for

Anyone who wants to check the specs before buying rather than after the robot arrives.

Skip it if

Your sills are over about 20mm. A published 21mm clearance is honest, but it is not tall.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full eufy X10 Pro Omni write-up

Pick 3

Dreame L40s Ultra

A published 40mm climb without flagship money

States 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Not publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Navigation
Not named on the listingThe listing describes app and voice control but does not name the mapping system.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 40mm (1.57in) obstacle clearing is stated on the listing, not buried
  • DuoBrush described as fully detangling
  • Extending mop and side brush for edges

What it does not

  • No mop-lift height published
  • 19,000 Pa is a peak figure and tells you nothing about sustained airflow

Who it is for

A house with real sills and a shedding pet, on a mid-range budget.

Skip it if

You want the published mop-lift height — Dreame does not state one for this model on the listing.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Dreame L40s Ultra write-up

Pick 4

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+

Mopping without avoiding the carpet

The mop arm retracts to the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so it can mop and vacuum in one pass without routing around rugs.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Stated only as 100 percent stronger than the Roomba Combo i seriesiRobot publishes no absolute suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared with a Pa rating from any other brand. That is a limitation of the data, not a criticism of the machine.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — power-lifting suction claim (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishediRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page.
Mop lift
Auto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robotiRobot describes it as an Auto-Retract Mopping System with back-and-forth pressure mopping. No millimeter figure is given because the pad leaves the floor plane entirely.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — mopping system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Dual multi-surface rubber brushes with an edge-sweeping brushSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
Body height
86mm (3.4in)Listed dimensions 3.4 x 13.3 x 13.3in, 7.5lb.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Multi-functional base that empties the bin and refills the mop tank, stated at up to 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • The mop retracts fully onto the body — the most complete answer to wet carpet anyone sells
  • Dual rubber brushes, which do not wind hair the way bristle brushes do
  • Sixty-day stated self-empty interval

What it does not

  • iRobot publishes almost none of the numbers this site compares on — including any climb height
  • Suction is quoted only as a relative claim ("100% stronger" than an older model), which cannot be compared across brands

Who it is for

Mixed carpet and hard floor where you would rather the robot just handled both in one run.

Skip it if

You want to compare it on specification. iRobot publishes no suction figure, no climb height, no runtime and no bin capacity for this model.

Pick 5

Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)

Anti-tangle brushes at mid price

Roborock's anti-tangle brushes in the cheapest trim that has them, which is the spec that matters most in a long-hair house.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.

What it does well

  • Anti-tangle brushes are the single most useful hair feature and they are here
  • 8,000 Pa, a step up from the Qrevo S
  • All-in-one dock with auto mop washing

What it does not

  • No published threshold figure
  • No published mop-lift height

Who it is for

Long hair or a heavy-shedding dog, on a budget that will not stretch to the Curv.

Skip it if

You need a stated climb height or mop lift — neither is published for this trim.

Pick 6

eufy 11S MAX

A thin, cheap, offline robot

No app, no map, no cloud — a bump-and-turn robot that is thin enough to get under furniture the mapped machines cannot reach.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not publishedNo Pa figure stated on the listing.
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedThis model does not mop.
Main brush
Not publishedBrush construction is not described on the listing.
Navigation
No mapping — bump-and-turn cleaning pattern, self-chargingThe listing describes it as super thin, quiet and self-charging with no app or mapping features named.Source: eufy 11S MAX listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Cleans hard floors through to medium-pile carpet, per eufy's own listing
  • No Wi-Fi requirement, which settles the privacy question outright
  • Thin body reaches under low furniture

What it does not

  • No mapping, so no room selection, no no-go zones, no resume-after-charge routing
  • eufy publishes no climb height, suction figure or runtime on this listing

Who it is for

A small apartment, a second floor, or anyone who does not want a networked camera-equipped device in the house at all.

Skip it if

You have more than a couple of rooms. Without mapping it cleans by random pattern and will miss areas on any given run.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full eufy 11S MAX write-up

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Dreame L10s Ultra

It is regularly the cheapest way to get a full washing dock, and for a hard-floor home with light shedding that is a fair trade. For pet hair specifically it is the wrong buy: Dreame publishes no brush construction for it at all, and its 5,300 Pa is the lowest stated suction in this comparison. You would be buying the dock and hoping about the part that does the work.

Skip this one

Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1

The HEPA base is genuinely useful if dander is your problem rather than visible hair. But "self-cleaning brushroll" is the entire published description of the brush — no material, no geometry, no suction figure to go with it. If the brush spec is the thing you are shopping on, this listing does not give you one to shop with.

How to choose in one paragraph

If your animal sheds heavily and you have carpet, buy the anti-tangle brush and the self-emptying dock, and treat the suction number as a tiebreak. If you have hard floors and a cat, spend the money on filtration and a dock that seals when it empties. If your budget is tight, an anti-tangle brush on a cheaper model beats a bigger suction figure on a bristle brush every time — that is the one trade in this category where the cheaper option is genuinely the better one.

One more thing worth checking before you buy: whether the robot can get into the rooms where the hair actually is. Doorway sills stop more robots than dirt does. If your house has raised thresholds, read the cross-brand threshold climb table before you spend anything.

Go deeper on pet hair

If you are not sure where to start, read the brush comparison first. It is the single spec that decides whether you will be cutting hair off a roller every week.

Questions people actually ask

+ Do robot vacuums work with pet hair?

Yes, provided the brush is designed for it. The failure people describe as "it does not pick up hair" is almost always a wound brush that has stopped rotating freely, not a suction problem. A rubber or dual-roller anti-tangle brush plus a self-emptying dock handles a shedding animal day to day.

+ Is a robot vacuum good for pet hair on carpet?

It is the hardest case in the category, because carpet holds hair in the pile instead of letting it sit loose on the surface. You want carpet boost, an anti-tangle brush and realistic expectations: a robot run daily keeps carpet on top of shedding far better than an upright run weekly. See robot vacuums for carpet.

+ Are robot vacuums safe for cats?

Physically, yes — the cliff sensors and bump sensors that stop them falling downstairs also stop them driving into an animal. The real risks are a cat that finds the running robot stressful, and a litter tray in the robot's path. Set a no-go zone around the tray and run it while the house is empty for the first week.

+ Does vacuuming a dog help with shedding?

Some dogs tolerate a grooming attachment on a canister vacuum and it does remove loose undercoat, but that is a different machine from anything on this page. A robot vacuum manages hair after it lands. Nothing here is designed to be used on an animal, and none should be.

+ What is the best robot vacuum for long hair?

Long human hair behaves worse than most pet hair because it is stronger and longer than the brush is wide. The models that specifically address it are the ones with a comb or cutter built into the brush housing. That comparison has its own page: long hair and tangles.

+ Do I need self-emptying for pet hair?

You need it more than most buyers do. On-board bins are small — where makers publish the figure at all it is a fraction of a liter — and a heavy shedder fills one in a run or two. Without a dock the robot stops before it finishes the floor, which is the thing you bought it to do.

Sources

Every ranking on this site links back to how we pick. That is a trust requirement, not an SEO one.