Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Pet hair / roundup

Best self-emptying robot vacuums

Every self-emptying dock promises weeks without touching dust. Only some of them tell you how big the bag is, what it traps, or what the promise is based on.

By Scooter M.Published
A black and white cat lying on a rug indoors

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

The iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet states the longest interval here with a sealed bag rated to 0.7 microns. Dreame states the largest bag, 3.2L, on the X50 Ultra. The Roborock Q7 M5+ is the cheapest dock that states a bag size. Read every interval as an estimate — Roborock is the only maker that says so in writing.

Whether you need a self-emptying dock at all is a separate question, and it has its own page: self-emptying dock or manual bin works through when the dock earns its keep and when a hand-emptied bin is the better buy. The short version is that a dock matters most exactly where a small bin fills fastest — carpet, a large floor, and anything that sheds. This page assumes you have landed on yes, and asks which one.

What every dock claim actually is

The headline number on every self-emptying robot is a count of days or weeks. It describes how long the dock's bag should last before you change it, in a household of unstated size, with an unstated number of animals, running an unstated schedule. It is a genuinely useful way to rank docks against each other and close to useless as a prediction for your house.

So the figures below are exactly what each maker publishes, read on its own product page, and nothing more. Where a maker states no capacity or no filtration claim, the cell says so.

Published dock claims, as each maker states them
ModelStated intervalBag or binWhat it trapsBrush feeding it
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet90 daysAllergenLock bag, capacity not statedParticles down to 0.7 micronsDual rubber anti-tangle, anti-tangle side brush
Dreame X50 Ultra100 days3.2L bagNot statedHyperStream Detangling DuoBrush
Roborock Q7 M5+Up to 7 weeks, "based on Roborock internal testing"2.7L bagNot statedJawScrapers anti-tangle, anti-tangle side brush
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboUp to 60 days3L bag — also empties the handheldHEPA filter stated for the handheldZeroTangle spiral roller with comb arrays
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-160-day capacityBagless bin"HEPA Anti-Allergen Seal", 99.97% of pet allergensSelf-cleaning brushroll, not described
iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac75+ daysEnclosed bag, capacity not statedParticles down to 0.7 micronsDual rubber anti-tangle
iRobot Roomba 105 VacUp to 75 daysCapacity not statedNot statedMulti-Surface bristle
eufy X10 Pro Omni"2-month dust storage" in image captionsCapacity not statedNot statedAuto-detangling roller
Roborock Q7 M5 (plain)No self-emptying dockJawScrapers anti-tangle

Read on each maker's own product page. Dreame's figures retrieved 2026-09-01; iRobot's Max 715 and 105 on 2026-09-13; everything else on 2026-09-17. Sources are listed at the foot of the page.

Three things in that table are worth a second look. Roborock is the only maker that qualifies its own interval in writing — "based on Roborock internal testing; actual results may vary depending on usage conditions" — and, awkwardly, the Amazon listing title for the same Q7 M5+ says seven to nine weeks instead. iRobot is the only maker that attaches a particle rating to the bag rather than to a filter somewhere else. And Shark's base is bagless, which changes what "never touching dust" actually means.

Capacity is the only number that is a measurement

A day count is a forecast. A liter figure is a dimension. That makes capacity the most useful dock number to compare across brands, and the one most makers skip: of the eight self-emptying docks in the table, three state a bag size — Dreame's 3.2L, ECOVACS' 3L and Roborock's 2.7L.

The gap between those three is smaller than the gap between their day counts, which is the point. A 3.2L bag advertised at 100 days and a 2.7L bag advertised at seven weeks hold broadly similar volumes; the difference in the headline is mostly a difference in the household each maker imagined. In a house with a shedding dog, hair is bulky rather than heavy, and every one of those intervals should be read as a best case. Halving them is a more realistic starting point, for the reasons set out in self-emptying vs a manual bin.

Bagged or bagless

Four of the five picks empty into a disposable bag that you lift out and throw away. The fifth, the Shark PowerDetect's NeverTouch Pro base, is bagless: debris goes into a bin that you empty yourself, and Shark states a HEPA anti-allergen seal that traps 99.97% of pet allergens inside while it is closed.

That is a real trade either way. Bagless means no bags to buy and nothing to run out of. It also means that the moment you empty it, you are handling loose dust — the one thing a self-emptying dock is supposed to spare an allergic household. A sealed bag, iRobot's approach on both Max models, keeps the dust enclosed all the way to the bin. If somebody in the house reacts to dander, that difference outranks everything else in the table, and filters, docks and dander goes through why.

The brush decides whether the dock gets anything

A long interval is only worth something if the robot keeps collecting. In a shedding house the failure is rarely the bag filling — it is the main roller winding hair into a collar until it stops lifting anything, at which point the robot drives its whole route and delivers almost nothing to the dock.

That is why brush construction is on this page at all, and why the Roomba 105 Vac is the skip despite a better interval than two of the picks. Its bristle roller is the construction that winds hair worst, and iRobot makes no anti-tangle claim for it. Contrast the Roomba Max 715 Pet and the Roborock Q7 M5+, both of which address the side brush as well as the roller — the part long hair winds around first. The full comparison of what each design does is on rubber vs bristle brushes.

The station that empties more than the robot

The ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo is the odd one out. Its station empties the robot and, ECOVACS states, the handheld vacuum that ships with it as well. For a shedding household that matters more than it sounds, because a robot never touches the hair on the stairs, the sofa or the dog's bed — which, by volume, is most of it.

It is also one of the most expensive machines on this page, and ECOVACS states its HEPA figure for the handheld rather than for the station bag. If the stairs are the problem you are really trying to solve, no robot vacuum climbs stairs is worth reading first — the T30S Combo is the one machine here that answers that page's question in a single box.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • A stated interval, and whether the maker attaches a condition to it. Every day count is an estimate for a household nobody describes. A maker that says what its figure is based on is telling you more than one that does not.
  • A stated bag capacity, in liters. It is the one dock figure that is a physical dimension rather than a forecast about your home, so it is the one that compares honestly between brands.
  • What the bag or bin traps. A sealed bag with a stated particle rating is a filtration claim; a bagless bin means you empty loose dust by hand, whatever the seal around it.
  • The brush feeding the dock. A roller wound with hair stops collecting long before the bag fills, so an anti-tangle main brush — and ideally side brush — ranks above a longer interval.
  • Whether you are paying for mop washing you do not need. Several of the best docks here are vacuum-only, and on carpet that is an advantage rather than a gap.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMain brushPrice
1
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figureDual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brush
2
Dreame X50 Ultra
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figureHyperStream Detangling DuoBrush
3
Roborock Q7 M5+
Roborock Q7 M5+The Q7 M5's LiDAR and anti-tangle hardware, plus the self-emptying dock the plain M5 does not come with — and a stated bag capacity to go with it.
The cheapest self-emptying dock with real mappingJawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush with an anti-tangle side brush
4
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboShips with a cordless stick vacuum docked alongside the robot, which is the only honest answer to stairs anyone sells.
Stairs and upholstery the robot cannot reachZeroTangle anti-tangle brush
5
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)Shark markets NeverStuck technology specifically at the getting-stuck problem, and then publishes no climb height to back it up.
A dock that also washes and dries the padSelf-cleaning brushroll

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Top pick

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

Dreame X50 Ultra
Pick 2

Dreame X50 Ultra

The tallest published climb figure

The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.

Published specifications

Stated suction
20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
HyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
VersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dustbin
395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
  • 20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
  • Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode

What it does not

  • The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
  • 10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock

Who it is for

Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.

Skip it if

You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.

Roborock Q7 M5+
Pick 3

Roborock Q7 M5+

The cheapest self-emptying dock with real mapping

The Q7 M5's LiDAR and anti-tangle hardware, plus the self-emptying dock the plain M5 does not come with — and a stated bag capacity to go with it.

Published specifications

Max climb height
20mm (2cm)Roborock's wording is "2cm climbing ability", with no condition attached.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — climbing ability (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush with an anti-tangle side brushSource: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
Dock
Auto-empty dock with a 2.7L dust bag, stated at up to 7 weeksRoborock qualifies the interval: "Based on Roborock internal testing. Actual results may vary depending on usage conditions." The Amazon listing title says 7 to 9 weeks.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — auto-empty dock (retrieved 2026-09-17)

What it does well

  • Self-emptying dock with a stated 2.7L dust bag
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush and an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • 360-degree LiDAR navigation at entry-level money

What it does not

  • Two different intervals for one dock: Roborock says up to 7 weeks based on internal testing, the Amazon listing says 7 to 9 weeks
  • A 20mm climb figure, which is the low end of what makers publish
  • No published mop-lift height or runtime

Who it is for

A shedding household on a budget that wants to stop emptying a bin by hand.

Skip it if

You want the mop washed for you. Roborock describes this dock as auto-empty, not mop-washing, so the pad is still yours to rinse.

ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo
Pick 4

ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo

Stairs and upholstery the robot cannot reach

Ships with a cordless stick vacuum docked alongside the robot, which is the only honest answer to stairs anyone sells.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedThe listing states auto mop lifting but gives no height.
Dock
All-in-one hub with dual self-emptying for the robot and the stick vacuum, plus hot-water mop washingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo station — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • The stick vacuum shares the same self-emptying station
  • ZeroTangle anti-tangle brush and TruEdge adaptive edge mopping
  • Hot-water mop washing with auto mop lifting

What it does not

  • No published climb height or mop-lift figure
  • The combined station is physically large

Who it is for

Multi-story homes and anyone who keeps buying a robot and then still hauling a handheld up the stairs.

Skip it if

You already own a good stick vacuum. You are paying for a second one you do not need.

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)
Pick 5

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)

A dock that also washes and dries the pad

Shark markets NeverStuck technology specifically at the getting-stuck problem, and then publishes no climb height to back it up.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not stated as a figureShark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible.Source: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishedShark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Dock
NeverTouch Pro base — self-empty at a stated 60 days, refill, pad wash and drySource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR plus a 3D sensor
  • Base self-empties for a stated 60 days, refills, and washes and dries the pad
  • Widely available US service and parts

What it does not

  • NeverStuck is a marketing name, not a measurement — there is no published height behind it
  • No published Pa rating, so it cannot be compared numerically on suction

Who it is for

Buyers who want the full self-empty, refill and pad-wash routine from a US-support brand.

Skip it if

You are shopping on published specifications. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no mop-lift height for this model.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac

The dock itself is good: iRobot states up to 75 days, which is longer than several docks costing more. It is the skip here because of what feeds that dock. iRobot fits the 105 with a Multi-Surface bristle brush rather than the dual rubber brushes on its Max range, and makes no anti-tangle claim for it. In a shedding house a bristle roller winds hair into a collar and stops collecting well before the bag is anywhere near full — so the headline interval describes a dock that is not being given much to empty.

Living with a dock

Three things nobody puts on the box. The emptying burst is the loudest thing the machine does — on the only model with published figures, 13 dBA above the robot cleaning — and it typically happens after each run, not once per bag; the quietest robot vacuum has the detail. The dock is bigger than the photographs suggest and needs clearance in front of it, which is the real constraint in a studio; see robot vacuums for a small apartment. And bags are a running cost that none of these makers prices on the product page, which is covered in replacement parts and running costs.

Questions people actually ask

+ What is the best self-emptying robot vacuum?

For a shedding household, the iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet: the longest stated interval on this page at 90 days, a sealed bag rated to 0.7 microns, and anti-tangle hardware on both the main and side brush. If a stated bag capacity matters more to you, Dreame publishes 3.2L for the X50 Ultra, the largest here.

+ How long does a self-emptying robot vacuum really go between bag changes?

Nobody can tell you for your house. Makers state between seven weeks and 100 days for the models here, each for a household they never describe, and Roborock is the only one that says in writing its figure comes from internal testing. In a home with a shedding animal, start by halving whatever the box says.

+ What is the cheapest robot vacuum that empties itself?

At the time of writing, the cheapest self-emptying model we cover that is sold new is the Roborock Q7 M5+. Make sure it is the plus: the plain Q7 M5 shares the robot but ships with a charging dock only. Live prices for both are on the buy buttons above.

+ Is a bagless self-emptying dock better than one with bags?

It saves buying bags and costs you contact with loose dust every time you empty it. Shark's PowerDetect base is bagless with a stated HEPA anti-allergen seal. iRobot's Max models use a sealed bag instead. For an allergic household the sealed bag is the safer choice; otherwise it is mostly a question of running cost.

+ Do self-emptying docks work with long pet hair?

The dock does; the brush is where it fails. A roller wound with hair stops feeding the dock long before the bag fills. Pick a model with an anti-tangle main brush — and ideally side brush — which is why the bristle-brush Roomba 105 Vac is the skip on this page despite a good dock.

+ Does the robot empty into the dock after every run?

Typically, yes — docks transfer the robot's small on-board bin after a clean, and that is the loud part. The stated interval describes how long the dock's own bag or bin lasts before you change it, not how often the transfer happens.

Sources