Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Carpet / roundup

Robot vacuums for carpet and rugs

Every brand publishes a suction figure and almost none of them publishes what it means. Here is what each number is measuring, and what to look at instead.

By Scooter M.Published
Deep pile beige carpet photographed close up, showing the depth of the pile

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Published suction on current robot vacuums runs from 5,300 Pa to 22,000 Pa, and every one of those is a peak figure measured at the nozzle with nothing in the way. It tells you roughly where a model sits in its maker's own range. It does not let you compare brands, and it says nothing about carpet.

Carpet is where the suction arms race happens, so it is worth being clear about what the numbers are. A pascal rating is a pressure measurement taken under ideal conditions in the manufacturer's own lab, with the manufacturer's own method. There is no shared standard for it. When Roborock says 22,000 Pa and eufy says 8,000 Pa, you are not looking at a comparison — you are looking at two companies measuring different things and printing both on a box.

That does not make the figure useless. Within one brand's range it is a reliable ranking. Across brands it is a rough tier indicator and nothing more. What follows is every figure we could find published, with the wording each maker used.

Stated suction across every model we cover

22 of 23 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated suctionCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvRoborock18,500 PaStated as peak suction, not sustained.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — "Industry Leading 18500 Pa HyperForce" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock22,000 PaStated as peak HyperForce suction.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — 22,000Pa HyperForce Suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborock22,000 PaSource: Roborock Saros 10R, "22000Pa" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborock18,500 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X, "18500Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo MasterRoborock10,000 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo Master, "10,000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo SRoborock7,000 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo S, "7000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborock7,000 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo Pro, "7,000 Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)Roborock8,000 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo QV 35A, "8000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Q7 M5Roborock10,000 PaRoborock states this for Max+ mode.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — "10,000 Pa HyperForce Suction" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X50 UltraDreame20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreame19,000 PaSource: Dreame L40s Ultra, "19,000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreame12,000 PaSource: Dreame X40 Ultra, "12,000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40 UltraDreame11,000 PaSource: Dreame L40 Ultra, "11,000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreame5,300 PaSource: Dreame L10s Ultra, "5300Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy8,000 PaSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — "8,000 Pa Suction" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy 11S MAXeufyNot publishedNo Pa figure stated on the listing.
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNIECOVACS18,000 PaSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — maximum suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACS11,000 PaSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo, "11000Pa" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotStated only as 100 percent stronger than the Roomba Combo i seriesiRobot publishes no absolute suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared with a Pa rating from any other brand. That is a limitation of the data, not a criticism of the machine.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — power-lifting suction claim (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotStated only as powerful suction, with no figureiRobot publishes no Pa rating, so this model cannot be compared numerically on suction with any other brand here.Source: iRobot Roomba j9+ listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotStated only as extreme power-lifting suction, with no figureSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNot stated as a figureShark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible.Source: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 (RV2610WA)SharkNot stated as a figureSource: Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material on 2026-09-01. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves — see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Two entries in that table are worth pausing on. iRobot publishes no absolute figure at all for the Roomba Combo j9+ — its suction is quoted only as being 100 percent stronger than an older iRobot model, which is a comparison you cannot carry across to any other brand. Shark does the same thing by omission on both of its models. Whatever you think of those machines, they cannot be placed on this axis, and we are not going to invent a number so the table looks tidy.

What actually decides carpet performance

If the suction figure is only a tier indicator, the things that genuinely separate a good carpet robot from a bad one are these, roughly in order:

  1. Carpet detection and boost. The robot has to notice it has driven onto carpet and increase power. Every model here claims this; what varies is how it detects the transition and how much headroom it has left when it does.
  2. Brush contact with the pile. A brush that sits above deep pile is not cleaning it. This is why chassis-lift models matter on high pile: they change the ride height, not just the climb ability.
  3. Mop management. On a mop combo, the mop must lift clear or detach before the robot crosses carpet, or you are damp-mopping a rug. Published lift heights run from 10mm to 17mm, and some models publish nothing.
  4. Whether it can get onto the carpet at all. A thick rug on a hard floor is a threshold. If the edge is higher than the robot's published climb, the rug never gets cleaned and the robot spends the run bumping into it.

High pile is a different category

There is a real break point somewhere around 20mm of pile depth. Below it, most current robots manage. Above it — deep shag, thick wool, a heavy sisal — the robot starts riding on top of the fibers instead of pressing into them, the wheels lose traction, and side brushes flick debris rather than sweeping it. No suction figure fixes a robot that is floating.

This is the one case where chassis-lift hardware is doing something other than climbing thresholds. Roborock's AdaptiLift and Dreame's ProLeap both raise the body, which changes how the brush meets deep pile. That is covered in detail on high-pile carpet.

Area rugs, fringe and the edge problem

An area rug on a hard floor creates three separate problems: a lip the robot has to climb, a fringe that behaves exactly like a mop pad to a rotating brush, and a boundary the mop has to know about. Fringe in particular is the single most common way people permanently damage a rug with a robot vacuum, and it is entirely avoidable with a no-go zone.

Both are covered separately: robot vacuums for area rugs for choosing one, and when the robot gets stuck on a rug or eats the fringe for fixing it.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house22,000 Pa
2
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figure20,000 Pa
3
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNIA rotating roller mop that washes itself continuously while it cleans, instead of pushing one increasingly dirty pad around the house.
Mopping that rinses as it goes18,000 Pa
4
Dreame L40s UltraStates 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.
A published 40mm climb without flagship money19,000 Pa
5
Roborock Qrevo CurvPublishes both a standard-threshold and a double-layer threshold figure, which is the number most sill-blocked buyers are actually shopping for.
Tall or double-layer door sills18,500 Pa
6
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobot's move to LiDAR, which fixes the mapping complaint that dogged the camera-only Roombas in dim rooms.
Roomba hardware with LiDAR mappingStated only as extreme power-lifting suction, with no figure

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Flagship pricing — the plain Curv covers the same published thresholds for less

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Qrevo CurvX write-up

Pick 2

Dreame X50 Ultra

The tallest published climb figure

The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.

Published specifications

Stated suction
20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
HyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
VersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dustbin
395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
  • 20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
  • Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode

What it does not

  • The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
  • 10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock

Who it is for

Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.

Skip it if

You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Dreame X50 Ultra write-up

Pick 3

ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI

Mopping that rinses as it goes

A rotating roller mop that washes itself continuously while it cleans, instead of pushing one increasingly dirty pad around the house.

Published specifications

Max climb height
20mm with the mop attachedECOVACS states the condition alongside the figure, which is unusual and useful — a mop-combo's climb is not the same as a bare chassis's.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — obstacle crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
dToF with AIVI 3D 3.0 and a TruEdge 3D edge sensorSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 291 minutesECOVACS states this for silent sweep mode on hard floors.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with 167F hot-water mop washing, hot-air drying and auto solution dosingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — station (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Roller mop self-washes during the run rather than only at the dock
  • Publishes a threshold figure and states the condition (with mop attached)
  • Stated 291 minutes of runtime in silent mode

What it does not

  • 20mm climb is among the lowest published figures here
  • 0.22L on-board bin is small, so it leans hard on the dock

Who it is for

Hard floors that actually get dirty — kitchens, entryways, homes with dogs.

Skip it if

Your sills are tall. ECOVACS publishes 20mm with the mop attached, which is at the low end of this table.

Pick 4

Dreame L40s Ultra

A published 40mm climb without flagship money

States 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Not publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Navigation
Not named on the listingThe listing describes app and voice control but does not name the mapping system.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 40mm (1.57in) obstacle clearing is stated on the listing, not buried
  • DuoBrush described as fully detangling
  • Extending mop and side brush for edges

What it does not

  • No mop-lift height published
  • 19,000 Pa is a peak figure and tells you nothing about sustained airflow

Who it is for

A house with real sills and a shedding pet, on a mid-range budget.

Skip it if

You want the published mop-lift height — Dreame does not state one for this model on the listing.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Dreame L40s Ultra write-up

Pick 5

Roborock Qrevo Curv

Tall or double-layer door sills

Publishes both a standard-threshold and a double-layer threshold figure, which is the number most sill-blocked buyers are actually shopping for.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.6in) double-layer, 30mm (1.2in) standardRoborock's own wording is that it can overcome standard thresholds up to 3cm and navigate double-layer thresholds up to 4cm. Stated maxima assume a clean square edge; a rounded or worn sill behaves differently.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide dual rubber-bristle main brushRoborock describes it as two parallel short bristle rollers with spiral blades.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — DuoDivide main brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Body height
104mm (4.1in)Listed dimensions 13.9 x 13.7 x 4.1in.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Roborock publishes a standard-threshold figure and a double-layer figure separately, which almost nobody else does
  • 17mm of mop lift is enough to keep a wet pad off medium-pile carpet
  • Anti-tangle design on the main brush and the side brush, not just one of them

What it does not

  • The 40mm headline is a double-layer threshold, not a single 40mm step — read the condition, not the headline
  • 104mm (4.1in) tall, so it will not fit under a low sofa or a kickboard gap

Who it is for

Older houses with real door sills, and anyone whose current robot announces itself stuck in the same doorway every day.

Skip it if

Your floors are flat and open. You would be paying a premium for chassis hardware your home never asks for.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Qrevo Curv write-up

Pick 6

iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac

Roomba hardware with LiDAR mapping

iRobot's move to LiDAR, which fixes the mapping complaint that dogged the camera-only Roombas in dim rooms.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Stated only as extreme power-lifting suction, with no figureSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
Mop lift
Not publishedThis model does not mop.

What it does well

  • LiDAR navigation works in the dark, unlike camera-only mapping
  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes
  • AutoEmpty dock included

What it does not

  • No published suction figure, climb height or runtime
  • Vacuum only

Who it is for

Anyone who wants Roomba's rubber brushes with mapping that works with the lights off.

Skip it if

You need mopping — this is the vacuum-only trim.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Dreame L10s Ultra

5,300 Pa is the lowest stated suction figure anywhere in this comparison, and it is an older generation. On hard floors with a thin rug that is fine and it is often cheap. On anything you would describe as carpet, you are buying the wrong end of the only spec that matters here.

Skip this one

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1

Not because it is a bad machine — the LiDAR and the pad-washing base are real. But Shark publishes no suction figure for it at all, and this is a page about comparing suction figures. If you are shopping specifically for carpet performance, buy from a maker that will tell you a number you can hold them to.

The short version

Buy within a brand on its suction figure, not across brands. Confirm the robot can climb onto every carpeted surface in your house before you compare anything else. If your pile is deep, prioritize a model that lifts its chassis over one with a bigger pascal number. And if the model also mops, check the published lift height in the mop lift comparison — a wet rug is a worse outcome than a slightly dusty one.

Go deeper on carpet

Start with the suction comparison if you are choosing between models, or with the high-pile page if your carpet is thick enough that the robot rides on top of it.

Questions people actually ask

+ Do robot vacuums work on carpet?

Yes, and daily running is what makes them effective — a robot that runs every day on medium pile keeps ahead of debris in a way a weekly upright cannot. Deep pile is the exception: above roughly 20mm the robot starts riding on the fibers and results fall off sharply.

+ What suction do I need for carpet?

There is no honest answer in pascals, because the figure is not standardized between brands. Within one brand's range, more is better on carpet. Across brands, use it as a tier indicator and decide on carpet boost, brush contact and climb height instead.

+ Do robot vacuums go over rugs?

They climb onto them if the edge is below the robot's climb height, which for most current models is somewhere between 20mm and 40mm where it is published at all. A thick rug with a stiff bound edge is effectively a threshold, and a rug that slides is worse than one that is too tall.

+ Will a robot vacuum ruin a rug fringe?

It can. A rotating brush treats fringe exactly like it treats hair, and a long fringe can be pulled hard enough to damage the weave. The fix is a no-go zone drawn along the fringed edge, which every mapping robot here supports. Full detail on rugs and fringe.

+ Is carpet boost worth it?

It is table stakes rather than a differentiator — every mapped model on this page claims some form of it. What matters is whether the robot detects the transition reliably in your house, which depends on the carpet as much as the robot.

+ What is the best robot vacuum for high pile carpet?

One that raises its chassis rather than one with the largest suction figure. Riding height decides whether the brush is in the pile or above it, and no amount of airflow compensates for a brush that is not touching the fibers. See high-pile carpet.

Sources

Every ranking on this site links back to how we pick. That is a trust requirement, not an SEO one.