iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac
iRobot's move to LiDAR, which fixes the mapping complaint that dogged the camera-only Roombas in dim rooms.
Best for
Roomba hardware with LiDAR mapping
#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none
Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.
iRobot publishes 4 of the 6 specifications we track for this model and states nothing about the other 2. Everything below is quoted from iRobot’s own material, with the page it came from linked on each row. We have not handled this machine.
The Max 705 is iRobot moving to LiDAR, which addresses the longest-standing complaint about camera-navigated Roombas: they map poorly in dim rooms, and most people schedule runs when the house is empty and the blinds are shut. Laser mapping works with the lights off.
It is the vacuum-only trim, so there is no mop, and iRobot's usual reticence applies to the rest of the sheet — no suction figure, no climb height, no runtime. Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and an AutoEmpty dock are stated. As a Roomba for a hair-heavy home with dim rooms it makes sense; as a machine to compare on numbers it does not exist.
The published spec sheet
- Stated suction
- Stated only as extreme power-lifting suction, with no figureSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Max climb height
- Not publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
- Mop lift
- Not publishedThis model does not mop.
- Main brush
- Dual rubber anti-tangle brushesSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 brushes — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Navigation
- LiDAR navigation with obstacle and anti-fall detectionSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
What the sheet says it does well, and what it does not
Strengths
- LiDAR navigation works in the dark, unlike camera-only mapping
- Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes
- AutoEmpty dock included
Limits
- No published suction figure, climb height or runtime
- Vacuum only
Who it is for
Anyone who wants Roomba's rubber brushes with mapping that works with the lights off.
Who should skip it
You need mopping — this is the vacuum-only trim.
We name it as the pick to skip on one page, for reasons specific to what those pages are about:
- Robot vacuums for hard floors — The move to LiDAR is a real improvement and rubber brushes are kind to hardwood. But this trim does not mop, and on hard floors the mop is most of the job — vacuuming a kitchen floor without washing it leaves the film that people actually notice. Buy the combo trim or buy a different machine.
Where we recommend it
How we assessed this
By reading what iRobot publishes and recording it with its source. We have never owned, handled or measured this machine, and nothing above is written as though we had. Where the manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says so rather than borrowing a number from somewhere else. The full method is on how we pick, and if a figure here does not match the page it links to, tell us and we will correct it with a date.
What the spec sheet does not tell you
2 of the figures we track are absent from iRobot’s own material for this model. That is worth knowing before you buy, because each of them answers a question somebody eventually asks:
- Max climb height — Not stated by iRobot for this model.
- Mop lift — This model does not mop.
We could fill those in from a review site or an estimate. We do not, because a number we cannot source is worth less than an honest blank, and the pattern of what each maker will and will not state is one of the more useful things on this site.
Questions people actually ask
+ Does iRobot publish a threshold climb height for the iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac?
No. Not stated by iRobot for this model. We record that as not published rather than borrowing a figure from a review site — see the climb table for the models that do state one.
+ What suction does the iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac have?
iRobot states Stated only as extreme power-lifting suction, with no figure. Remember that pascal ratings are not standardized between manufacturers, so that figure ranks this model within iRobot's own range and does not compare across brands — the full explanation.
+ Is the iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac good for pet hair?
Its main brush is described as dual rubber anti-tangle brushes, which is the specification that matters most in a hair-heavy house — more than suction. The brush comparison sets out what each design does.
+ Can the iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac mop over carpet?
This model does not mop. Without a figure you cannot check it against your carpet, which is why we rank models that publish one above models that do not. Mop lift compared.
+ Who should skip the iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac?
You need mopping — this is the vacuum-only trim.
#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none