Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Mopping / roundup

The best robot vacuums that do not mop

Every maker wants to sell you a mop as well. There are good reasons to refuse, and a short list of machines that still let you.

By Scooter M.Published
Sunlight falling across the bare wooden floorboards of an empty room

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

The iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet is the pick: it is the only Roomba publishing a real suction figure at 30,000 Pa, runs dual rubber anti-tangle brushes, and seals its dust in an AllergenLock bag stated to last 90 days. The Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty is the bagless alternative if you would rather not buy bags at all.

The entire industry has spent five years adding mops to robot vacuums, and most of our own mopping hub is about how to buy one well. This page is the other argument. A mop combo brings a water tank, a set of pads, a drying problem, a dock that needs plumbing or refilling, and a genuine risk of dragging something damp across a rug. Some houses do not want any of that.

If yours is carpeted throughout, if you already own a steam mop you like, or if you simply want the robot to do one job without a second consumable stream, a vacuum-only machine is the better purchase. The difficulty is that there are not many left, and the ones that remain are not always well documented.

What you actually save by skipping the mop

  • A consumable stream. Mop pads wear and need replacing on a schedule nobody publishes clearly - see mop pad replacement. Skip the mop and that line item disappears entirely.
  • The damp-pad problem. A pad that sits wet between runs develops a smell, which is common enough that we have a whole page about it. No pad, no smell.
  • The carpet risk. Every combo manages this with a mop lift height, and most makers do not publish one. A vacuum-only robot cannot drag water onto a rug because there is no water.
  • Dock complexity. A vacuum-only base empties dust and nothing else. There is no clean-water tank to fill, no dirty-water tank to empty and no washboard to descale.
  • Money, usually. Vacuum-only trims are generally the cheaper version of the same hardware, because the mop is what the flagship premium is mostly buying.

The documentation problem in this corner of the market

Vacuum-only robots are now mostly entry and mid-range trims, and that is exactly where makers publish least. Four of the five machines on this page state no climb height, and three state no suction figure at all.

Stated suction across the vacuum-only machines here

3 of 5 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated suctionCondition and source
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobot30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotNot stated as a figureiRobot states "70X more power-lifting suction" without saying 70 times what. A multiple with no baseline cannot be compared with anyone's Pa figure, including iRobot's own.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — cleaning system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotStated only as extreme power-lifting suction, with no figureSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy 11S MAXeufyNot publishedNo Pa figure stated on the listing.

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

One number and four blanks. The Roomba Max 715 Pet's 30,000 Pa is the highest figure any maker publishes on this site, and it arrives from a company that has spent years describing suction as a multiple of an earlier Roomba. The other four tell you nothing you can check, which is why brush construction and dock interval do the ranking work here instead.

Dock intervals: the row that matters most on this page

If the appeal of a vacuum-only robot is low involvement, then how long the base runs before it needs you is the specification you are really buying. This is the one row where these machines are well documented.

Stated self-empty interval, vacuum-only machines
ModelStated intervalBagged or bagless
Roomba Max 715 Pet90 daysBagged, sealed AllergenLock
Roomba 105 Vac75 daysBagged
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty30 daysBagless, with a HEPA claim
Roomba Max 705 Vacnot statedBagged
eufy 11S MAXno dockOnboard bin, emptied by hand

Each figure is the maker's own claim, measured under conditions none of them fully states - a 90-day interval assumes a household, not a floor area. Sourced on each model spec sheet. Bagged and bagless is a real trade-off and we cover it in self-emptying vs manual bin.

The Shark's 30 days is the shortest stated interval of any model on this site, and it is worth understanding why that is not simply worse. It is bagless, so those 30 days cost you nothing in consumables - you tip the bin out. The Roomba's 90 days is three times longer but each cycle consumes a bag you have to buy. Which is better depends entirely on whether you would rather spend money or attention.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Vacuum-only means vacuum-only. Every machine ranked here ships without a mop pad, a water tank or a mopping mode. A combo running in vacuum mode does not qualify - you are still storing the tank and the pads.
  • Rank on brush construction first. With no mop in the picture, the main brush is what determines whether the machine copes with hair and carpet. Rubber and anti-tangle designs rank above bristle.
  • Credit a stated dock interval. The point of a vacuum-only robot is low involvement, so a maker that states how long the base runs before you touch it is telling you the thing that matters most here.
  • Published figures beat adjectives. "Extreme power-lifting suction" is not a specification. We mark it as unpublished and say so on the page.
  • No testing claims. We have never handled these machines - see how we pick.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMop liftPrice
1
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figureNot published
2
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)Vacuum only, with a bagless base and a stated HEPA claim — and almost nothing else published about it.
A vacuum-only Shark with no bags to buyNot published
3
iRobot Roomba 105 Vac
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobot's entry machine, and the first cheap one with real LiDAR — but it keeps the bristle brush, which is the wrong brush for a shedding household.
The cheapest Roomba that mapsNot published
4
iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobot's move to LiDAR, which fixes the mapping complaint that dogged the camera-only Roombas in dim rooms.
Roomba hardware with LiDAR mappingNot published
5
eufy 11S MAX
eufy 11S MAXNo app, no map, no cloud — a bump-and-turn robot that is thin enough to get under furniture the mapped machines cannot reach.
A thin, cheap, offline robotNot published

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Top pick

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)
Pick 2

Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)

A vacuum-only Shark with no bags to buy

Vacuum only, with a bagless base and a stated HEPA claim — and almost nothing else published about it.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated. Shark markets NeverStuck technology across the PowerDetect line without publishing a height behind it.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only model. There is no mop.
Main brush
Self-cleaning brushrollShark names it and does not describe what it is made of or what makes it self-cleaning.Source: Shark PowerDetect AV2820S product page — brushroll (retrieved 2026-09-21)
Navigation
Not publishedNo navigation or mapping system is named on the product page.
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
Dock
Bagless self-empty base, stated at 30 days, with HEPA filtrationShark states the base holds "30 days of dirt and debris" and that its HEPA filtration "captures and traps 99.97% of dust and allergens".Source: Shark PowerDetect AV2820S product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-21)

What it does well

  • Bagless base, so there are no dock bags to buy or run out of
  • HEPA filtration stated to trap 99.97% of dust and allergens
  • Vacuum only — no mop hardware to maintain, and no pad to rinse

What it does not

  • No published suction figure, climb height, runtime or body height
  • The brushroll is named self-cleaning and never described
  • 30 days is the shortest stated self-empty interval of any model here

Who it is for

Someone who does not want a mop and wants the cost of dock bags to go away entirely.

Skip it if

You want to check anything before buying. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no navigation system for this model.

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac
Pick 3

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac

The cheapest Roomba that maps

iRobot's entry machine, and the first cheap one with real LiDAR — but it keeps the bristle brush, which is the wrong brush for a shedding household.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not stated as a figureiRobot states "70X more power-lifting suction" without saying 70 times what. A multiple with no baseline cannot be compared with anyone's Pa figure, including iRobot's own.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — cleaning system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on iRobot's product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Multi-Surface bristle brush with an Edge-Sweeping brushiRobot's own description. Note that this is the bristle design, not the dual rubber brushes it fits to the Max range.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — 3-Stage Cleaning (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView LiDAR, stated to build up to 3 maps and clean in neat rowsiRobot states mapping takes about ten minutes and that it navigates in the dark.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — navigation and mapping (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • ClearView LiDAR at the bottom of the range, so it maps and works in the dark
  • AutoEmpty dock stated at up to 75 days
  • iRobot states it builds up to three maps, which covers a two-story house

What it does not

  • Bristle main brush, not rubber — the wrong construction for pet hair
  • No suction figure at all: iRobot states a multiple, not a number
  • No mop, no threshold figure and no published body height

Who it is for

Someone who wants the Roomba name and app, on hard floors and low carpet, without paying flagship money.

Skip it if

You have a dog or a long-haired human. The bristle brush winds hair into a collar and there is no anti-tangle claim anywhere on iRobot's page for it.

iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac
Pick 4

iRobot Roomba Max 705 Vac

Roomba hardware with LiDAR mapping

iRobot's move to LiDAR, which fixes the mapping complaint that dogged the camera-only Roombas in dim rooms.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Stated only as extreme power-lifting suction, with no figureSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot for this model.
Mop lift
Not publishedThis model does not mop.

What it does well

  • LiDAR navigation works in the dark, unlike camera-only mapping
  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes
  • AutoEmpty dock included

What it does not

  • No published suction figure, climb height or runtime
  • Vacuum only

Who it is for

Anyone who wants Roomba's rubber brushes with mapping that works with the lights off.

Skip it if

You need mopping — this is the vacuum-only trim.

eufy 11S MAX
Pick 5

eufy 11S MAX

A thin, cheap, offline robot

No app, no map, no cloud — a bump-and-turn robot that is thin enough to get under furniture the mapped machines cannot reach.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not publishedNo Pa figure stated on the listing.
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedThis model does not mop.
Main brush
Not publishedBrush construction is not described on the listing.
Navigation
No mapping — bump-and-turn cleaning pattern, self-chargingThe listing describes it as super thin, quiet and self-charging with no app or mapping features named.Source: eufy 11S MAX listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Cleans hard floors through to medium-pile carpet, per eufy's own listing
  • No Wi-Fi requirement, which settles the privacy question outright
  • Thin body reaches under low furniture

What it does not

  • No mapping, so no room selection, no no-go zones, no resume-after-charge routing
  • eufy publishes no climb height, suction figure or runtime on this listing

Who it is for

A small apartment, a second floor, or anyone who does not want a networked camera-equipped device in the house at all.

Skip it if

You have more than a couple of rooms. Without mapping it cleans by random pattern and will miss areas on any given run.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Roborock Q7 M5

It is frequently recommended as a cheap vacuum, and on the vacuum side it is a good one - 10,000 Pa, a JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush and real 360-degree LiDAR at the lowest price on this site. It is the skip on this page because it is not actually a vacuum-only machine. It drags a pad at three water-flow levels, with no washing dock and no published mop lift, which is the worst of both worlds if you specifically do not want a mop: you still get the tank, the pad and the storage problem, and you do not get a mop worth using. If you want this robot, want it for the mapping.

Who each of these is actually for

  • A shedding house, or anyone with allergies - the Roomba Max 715 Pet. The sealed bag means emptying does not put the dust back in the air, and dual rubber anti-tangle brushes are the right construction for hair. See allergies and HEPA.
  • Someone who refuses to buy bags - the Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty. Bagless base, HEPA filtration claim, self-cleaning brushroll. You will empty it monthly and that is the deal.
  • A first mapped robot on a budget - the Roomba 105 Vac. LiDAR, up to three maps, rows rather than random, 75-day dock. Its bristle brush is the wrong choice for pet hair, and we say so on its card.
  • An existing Roomba household - the Max 705 Vac. It is iRobot's move to LiDAR and fixes the dim-room mapping complaint that dogged the camera-only models, though it publishes almost nothing.
  • A small flat and no interest in apps - the eufy 11S MAX. No maps, no cloud, no dock. It is thin enough to get under furniture the mapped machines cannot reach, and it will miss areas on any given run.

Questions people actually ask

+ Are there still robot vacuums that do not mop?

Yes, but fewer every year, and they are concentrated in entry and mid-range trims. iRobot keeps vacuum-only versions of most of its line - the Max 715 Pet, Max 705 Vac and 105 Vac are all vacuum-only - and Shark sells a vacuum-only PowerDetect. Most Roborock, Dreame and ECOVACS machines now include a mop.

+ Is a vacuum-only robot cheaper than a mop combo?

Generally yes, because the mop and its dock are what the premium is mostly buying, and you also avoid buying pads. We do not quote figures because prices move constantly - the buttons on this page render live from Amazon and vanish rather than going stale.

+ Can I buy a mop combo and just never use the mop?

You can, and plenty of people do. What you do not avoid is the purchase price of the mop hardware, the storage of pads and tanks, or a dock built around a water system you are not using. If you are certain you will never mop, the vacuum-only trim is the cleaner buy.

+ Do vacuum-only robots clean carpet better?

Not inherently. Nothing about omitting a mop improves suction or brush design. What it does remove is the risk of a damp pad crossing a rug, which is a real concern on combos whose makers do not publish a mop lift height - see our mop lift table.

+ Which vacuum-only robot has the strongest suction?

The Roomba Max 715 Pet at a stated 30,000 Pa, which is the highest figure published by any maker on this site. Bear in mind it is iRobot's own measurement on its own rig, with no shared standard behind it, so it is not directly comparable to a Roborock or eufy number.