Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Pet hair / comparison

Self-emptying dock or manual bin?

The case for a dock is not that you never touch dust. It is that a small bin fills before the robot finishes the room, and a shedding animal fills it faster than any brochure assumes.

By Scooter M.Published
A vacuum cleaner dust container being emptied

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

On-board bins are small. Where makers publish the figure it is a fraction of a liter — ECOVACS states 0.22L, Dreame states 395ml. In a house with a heavy shedder either fills within a run or two, and a full bin means the robot stops mid-floor. That, not convenience, is the argument for a dock.

Self-emptying is sold as a luxury: never touch the dust. That framing is why people talk themselves out of it. The practical case is much more boring and much stronger.

The capacity numbers, where they exist

On-board dustbin capacity, where the manufacturer publishes it

2 of 6 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelDustbin capacityCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Roborock Saros 10RRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Dreame X50 UltraDreame395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNIECOVACS0.22L on boardSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — dust box capacity (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotNot publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material on 2026-09-01. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves — see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Almost nobody publishes this. Two of the models we cover state a capacity; the rest do not mention it on the pages we could read. That is a shame, because it is one of the few specs in this category that is directly comparable between brands — a liter is a liter regardless of who measured it, unlike a pascal.

What a shedding animal does to those numbers

Hair is bulky and light. It occupies bin volume out of all proportion to its weight, and it does not compact the way dust does — it forms a springy mass that blocks the intake before the bin is technically full. The practical consequence in a house with a shedding dog is that the usable capacity is well under the stated one, and the robot's full-bin behavior arrives sooner than the numbers suggest.

So halve any interval you are quoted. A dock advertised at 60 days is a realistic month in a shedding house, and one advertised at 100 days on a 3.2L bag is a couple of months. That is still a very different life from emptying a 0.4L bin by hand every day or two.

What you give up with a dock

  • Floor space. A full station is a piece of furniture, not an accessory, and it needs a wall with clearance on both sides and in front.
  • Bag cost. Bagged docks are consumables. Bagless self-empty bases exist — Shark's Matrix Plus uses one — and trade the running cost for a dust cloud when you empty them, which matters if the reason you bought it was allergies.
  • Noise. The empty cycle is loud, for about ten seconds, and it happens whenever the robot returns. Schedule around anyone who works from home.

What each dock does, and the interval each maker claims

23 of 23 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelDockCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvRoborockHot-water mop washing with dock self-cleaningSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv dock features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborockAuto hot-water mop washing and dryingSource: Roborock Qrevo CurvX dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborock10-in-1 Multifunctional Dock 4.0 with hot-water mop washingSource: Roborock Saros 10R product page — dock (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborockSelf-emptying, stated at ten weeks, with auto mop washingSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo MasterRoborockAuto mop washing and drying, self-emptying and refilling, dock self-cleaningSource: Roborock Qrevo Master dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo SRoborockSelf-drying, auto mop washing, self-emptying and self-refillingSource: Roborock Qrevo S dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborockDynamic hot-water mop washing with auto mop dryingSource: Roborock Qrevo Pro dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)RoborockAll-in-one dock with auto mop washingSource: Roborock Qrevo QV 35A dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Q7 M5RoborockSelf-emptying dock, stated at seven to nine weeksSource: Roborock Q7 M5 self-empty interval — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X50 UltraDreameSelf-emptying, self-cleaning, all-in-oneSource: Dreame X50 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreameAuto-empty with mop self-cleaningSource: Dreame L40s Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreameSelf-emptying with 158F mop and washboard self-cleaning, auto refillSource: Dreame X40 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40 UltraDreameAuto cleaning dock with 149F mop washing and solution auto-refillSource: Dreame L40 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreameAuto mop cleaning and drying, self-refilling and self-emptying, stated at 60 daysSource: Dreame L10s Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy X10 Pro OmnieufySelf-emptying with auto mop washing and drying, 3L self-refilling tankThe robot itself carries an 80ml water tank.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — station and tanks (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy 11S MAXeufyCharging dock only, no self-emptyingSource: eufy 11S MAX dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNIECOVACSSelf-emptying with 167F hot-water mop washing, hot-air drying and auto solution dosingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — station (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACSAll-in-one hub with dual self-emptying for the robot and the stick vacuum, plus hot-water mop washingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo station — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotMulti-functional base that empties the bin and refills the mop tank, stated at up to 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotSelf-emptying base, stated at 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba j9+ base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotAutoEmpty dockSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNeverTouch Pro base — self-empty at a stated 60 days, refill, pad wash and drySource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 (RV2610WA)SharkHEPA bagless self-empty base, stated at 60 daysSource: Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material on 2026-09-01. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves — see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

When a manual bin is the right call

One or two rooms, no shedding animal, and hard floors: a manual bin is fine and you have saved a real amount of money and floor space. The robot will finish the floor on one bin, and emptying it takes ten seconds. The dock earns its keep specifically where volume is the constraint — carpet, animals, and a whole floor to cover.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMain brushPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvPublishes both a standard-threshold and a double-layer threshold figure, which is the number most sill-blocked buyers are actually shopping for.
Tall or double-layer door sillsDuoDivide dual rubber-bristle main brush
2
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figureHyperStream Detangling DuoBrush
3
Roborock Q7 M5Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.
Real LiDAR mapping at the low endJawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Top pick

Roborock Qrevo Curv

Tall or double-layer door sills

Publishes both a standard-threshold and a double-layer threshold figure, which is the number most sill-blocked buyers are actually shopping for.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.6in) double-layer, 30mm (1.2in) standardRoborock's own wording is that it can overcome standard thresholds up to 3cm and navigate double-layer thresholds up to 4cm. Stated maxima assume a clean square edge; a rounded or worn sill behaves differently.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide dual rubber-bristle main brushRoborock describes it as two parallel short bristle rollers with spiral blades.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — DuoDivide main brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Body height
104mm (4.1in)Listed dimensions 13.9 x 13.7 x 4.1in.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Roborock publishes a standard-threshold figure and a double-layer figure separately, which almost nobody else does
  • 17mm of mop lift is enough to keep a wet pad off medium-pile carpet
  • Anti-tangle design on the main brush and the side brush, not just one of them

What it does not

  • The 40mm headline is a double-layer threshold, not a single 40mm step — read the condition, not the headline
  • 104mm (4.1in) tall, so it will not fit under a low sofa or a kickboard gap

Who it is for

Older houses with real door sills, and anyone whose current robot announces itself stuck in the same doorway every day.

Skip it if

Your floors are flat and open. You would be paying a premium for chassis hardware your home never asks for.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Qrevo Curv write-up

Pick 2

Dreame X50 Ultra

The tallest published climb figure

The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.

Published specifications

Stated suction
20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
HyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
VersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dustbin
395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
  • 20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
  • Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode

What it does not

  • The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
  • 10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock

Who it is for

Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.

Skip it if

You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Dreame X50 Ultra write-up

Pick 3

Roborock Q7 M5

Real LiDAR mapping at the low end

Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brushRoborock pairs it with an anti-tangle side brush as a Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
360-degree LiDAR with multi-level mappingSource: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR at entry-level money, so it maps rooms instead of guessing
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush
  • Multi-level mapping for a two-story house

What it does not

  • No published climb height and no published mop lift
  • Mopping is three water-flow levels and a pad, not a washing dock

Who it is for

A first mapped robot for a normal house — several rooms, some rugs, a pet.

Skip it if

You want serious mopping. This drags a pad; it does not wash or lift one properly.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Q7 M5 write-up

Questions people actually ask

+ Is robot vacuum self-emptying worth it?

In a house with a shedding animal or a lot of carpet, yes — the on-board bin is the limiting factor on whether the robot finishes the floor. In a small hard-floor home without pets it is a genuine luxury and you can skip it.

+ How often do you actually empty a self-emptying dock?

Manufacturers quote 60 to 100 days. Halve that for a heavy shedder. The real signal is the robot's own behavior: if it starts reporting a full bin more often, the dock bag is close.

+ Bagged or bagless self-empty base?

Bagged for allergies, because the dust stays sealed when you change it. Bagless if running cost matters more than dust exposure. Bagless bases also need occasional cleaning inside, which bagged ones largely do not.

+ How big is a robot vacuum dustbin?

Where it is published at all, a fraction of a liter — ECOVACS states 0.22L on the X8 Pro Omni and Dreame states 395ml on the X50 Ultra. Most makers do not publish the figure, which is why the table above has gaps.

Sources