Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Pet hair / roundup

Best robot vacuums for pet hair

Almost every robot vacuum is sold as good with pet hair. Only some of them publish the one specification that decides it.

By Scooter M.Published
A golden retriever lying on the floor of a bright room

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

For pet hair the brush matters more than the suction. A rubber or dual-roller anti-tangle brush carries hair to the bin; a bristle brush winds it into a collar around the axle. Roborock, Dreame and eufy all publish an anti-tangle design and a Pa figure. iRobot publishes the brush but states suction as a multiple rather than a number.

Every robot vacuum on sale is marketed as good with pet hair. It is the single most common claim in the category, and it is made just as loudly by machines that are bad at it. The claim is not worth reading. What is worth reading is the brush specification underneath it, because pet hair is a mechanical problem — the hair has to be got off the floor, past the roller, and into the bin without wrapping anything on the way — and only one part of the machine decides that.

Why suction is the wrong number to shop on

Pet hair is light. Lifting it off a hard floor takes very little air, and lifting it out of carpet pile takes agitation rather than vacuum. A 22,000 Pa machine and an 8,000 Pa machine will both pick a drift of dog hair off a kitchen floor. What separates them a month later is whether the hair they picked up is in the dustbin or wound around the brush bearing.

That is why the suction chart sits in the carpet hub rather than this one. Pa matters when you are pulling grit out of deep pile. For hair it is close to irrelevant, and treating it as the headline number is how people end up with an expensive robot they stop using because clearing it is a weekly job with scissors.

The specification that actually decides it

Three brush constructions turn up in this price range, and they behave completely differently with hair.

  1. Bristle. Rows of stiff filaments. Hair catches between the rows, works its way down to the axle and tightens into a collar. Effective on carpet grit, worst case for hair.
  2. Rubber or silicone fin. A molded roller with flexible fins and no gaps for hair to settle into. Hair rides the surface into the airflow instead of burying itself.
  3. Dual roller or comb-assisted. Two counter-rotating rollers, or a single roller with a fixed comb or blade held against it, which lifts wraps off as the roller turns. This is what most current anti-tangle marketing describes.

The full cross-brand version of this, including the makers who publish nothing at all, is in rubber vs bristle brushes. Here is what the models in this roundup state.

Published main brush construction, by model

7 of 7 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelMain brushCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborockDuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobotDual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dreame L40s UltraDreameDuoBrush, stated as 100 percent detanglingSource: Dreame L40s Ultra brush — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy X10 Pro OmnieufyAuto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle CombSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Q7 M5RoborockJawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brushRoborock pairs it with an anti-tangle side brush as a Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotMulti-Surface bristle brush with an Edge-Sweeping brushiRobot's own description. Note that this is the bristle design, not the dual rubber brushes it fits to the Max range.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — 3-Stage Cleaning (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkSelf-cleaning brushrollSource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 brushroll — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Two things stand out. The first is that Roborock, Dreame and eufy all describe a mechanism, while Shark gives a name — "self-cleaning brushroll" — and no description of what makes it self-cleaning. The second is that iRobot fits two completely different brushes across its own range: dual rubber anti-tangle brushes on the Max 715, and a Multi-Surface bristle brush on the 105. Same brand, same year, opposite answers to the same question.

The side brush is the part that gets ignored

Ask anyone who has owned a robot vacuum in a house with a long-haired dog which part they clear most often and they will say the side brush. It is a three-armed spinner on an exposed hub, turning at speed, with nothing between the arms and the bearing. Hair that touches it winds immediately and keeps winding.

Only two makers in this roundup address it explicitly. Roborock states a FlexiArm Arc side brush on the CurvX, and iRobot states an anti-tangle side brush on the Max 715. Everyone else engineers the main roller, publishes the result, and leaves the part that winds worst exactly as it was. When you are comparing two otherwise similar machines, this is the tiebreaker.

Where the hair goes next: the dock

Hair is bulky rather than heavy. A bin that holds a fortnight of ordinary dust in a normal house holds a few days of it in a shedding one, and a robot with a full bin keeps running and stops collecting. That is why a self-emptying dock is closer to a requirement than a luxury here, and why the stated interval is worth reading rather than skimming.

What each dock does, and the interval its maker states

6 of 6 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

One dock claim here is different in kind. iRobot states that the Max 715's AllergenLock bag is sealed and captures particles down to 0.7 microns. That is a filtration claim about the bag rather than a convenience claim about the interval, and for a household where somebody reacts to dander it is the most relevant line on the whole spec sheet. Filters, docks and dander goes through what those numbers do and do not mean.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • A published main brush construction — rubber, roller or dual, described rather than just given a trademark. This is the specification that decides whether hair wraps or gets carried to the bin.
  • Whether the side brush is addressed too. It is a thin spinning arm with nothing to divert strands off its hub, it winds worse than the roller, and most makers say nothing about it.
  • The self-empty interval, and whether the dock bag is sealed. Hair is bulky, it fills a small on-board bin in days, and for an allergy household what the bag traps matters as much as how often you touch it.
  • A published suction figure in Pa. Not a multiple of an unnamed baseline — a number you can hold against another maker's number.
  • Mop lift, on models that mop, because a wet pad dragged across the carpet a dog sleeps on undoes the vacuuming.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMain brushPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one houseDuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brush
2
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figureDual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brush
3
Dreame L40s Ultra
Dreame L40s UltraStates 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.
A published 40mm climb without flagship moneyDuoBrush, stated as 100 percent detangling
4
eufy X10 Pro Omni
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.
The most completely published spec sheetAuto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle Comb
5
Roborock Q7 M5
Roborock Q7 M5Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.
Real LiDAR mapping at the low endJawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Flagship pricing — the plain Curv covers the same published thresholds for less

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Pick 2

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

Dreame L40s Ultra
Pick 3

Dreame L40s Ultra

A published 40mm climb without flagship money

States 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Not publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Navigation
Not named on the listingThe listing describes app and voice control but does not name the mapping system.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 40mm (1.57in) obstacle clearing is stated on the listing, not buried
  • DuoBrush described as fully detangling
  • Extending mop and side brush for edges

What it does not

  • No mop-lift height published
  • 19,000 Pa is a peak figure and tells you nothing about sustained airflow

Who it is for

A house with real sills and a shedding pet, on a mid-range budget.

Skip it if

You want the published mop-lift height — Dreame does not state one for this model on the listing.

eufy X10 Pro Omni
Pick 4

eufy X10 Pro Omni

The most completely published spec sheet

eufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.

Published specifications

Max climb height
21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Auto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle CombSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
173 minutes vacuuming, 136 minutes vacuuming and moppingeufy states both figures for standard mode.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Body height
Needs 130mm (5.12in) of clearance under furnitureeufy publishes this as a minimum height restriction rather than a body height.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — height restrictions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with auto mop washing and drying, 3L self-refilling tankThe robot itself carries an 80ml water tank.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — station and tanks (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes an obstacle clearance figure at all, which iRobot and Shark do not
  • 12mm auto-lifting mop with carpet detection
  • Separate stated runtimes for vacuum-only and vacuum-plus-mop

What it does not

  • 21mm clearance is mid-pack and well below the Curv or the L40s
  • 8,000 Pa is modest against the current flagship figures

Who it is for

Anyone who wants to check the specs before buying rather than after the robot arrives.

Skip it if

Your sills are over about 20mm. A published 21mm clearance is honest, but it is not tall.

Roborock Q7 M5
Pick 5

Roborock Q7 M5

Real LiDAR mapping at the low end

Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brushRoborock pairs it with an anti-tangle side brush as a Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
360-degree LiDAR with multi-level mappingSource: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR at entry-level money, so it maps rooms instead of guessing
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush
  • Multi-level mapping for a two-story house

What it does not

  • No published climb height and no published mop lift
  • Mopping is three water-flow levels and a pad, not a washing dock

Who it is for

A first mapped robot for a normal house — several rooms, some rugs, a pet.

Skip it if

You want serious mopping. This drags a pad; it does not wash or lift one properly.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac

It is the cheapest Roomba that maps properly, and for a hard-floor home with nothing shedding in it that is a genuinely good buy. For pet hair it is the wrong machine, because iRobot fits it a Multi-Surface bristle brush rather than the dual rubber brushes it puts on the Max range — and makes no anti-tangle claim for it anywhere. Bristles are the construction that winds hair into a solid collar around the roller. Buying the 105 for a shedding house means choosing, on purpose, the brush that has the problem.

What none of these will do

No robot vacuum here eliminates brush maintenance. Every maker's anti-tangle claim is a claim about frequency and difficulty, not about elimination, and any of them that reads otherwise is overselling. What a good design changes is real: a wrap that lifts off in one piece every month instead of a welded collar that needs scissors every week. That is worth paying for. A promise of zero maintenance is not, because nobody is selling one.

They also will not deal with hair on furniture, stairs or upholstery, which in a shedding house is most of the problem by volume. If that is your actual complaint, the honest answer is a robot for the floors and something handheld for everything else — the arrangement covered in robot vs stick vacuum.

And if the animal in question is a cat, the hair is only half the job. Litter tracked across a hard floor is a separate problem with a separate answer, in robot vacuums and cat litter.

Questions people actually ask

+ What is the best robot vacuum for pet hair?

The one with a published anti-tangle brush design at both the roller and the side brush, and a self-emptying dock. Of the models here the Roborock Qrevo CurvX is the only one that publishes an anti-tangle design for both brushes alongside a real suction figure and a mop lift, which is why it leads. The iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet is the pick if the dock's sealed allergen bag matters more to you than the mop.

+ Does higher suction mean better pet hair pickup?

Barely. Hair is light and comes off a hard floor with very little air; on carpet it is the brush agitating the pile that frees it, not the fan. Suction earns its money on grit and sand, which is why it matters on carpet rather than here. Brush construction is the specification to shop on.

+ Are rubber brushes really better than bristles for pet hair?

For hair, yes, and the makers themselves behave as though this is settled — iRobot fits dual rubber brushes to its pet-focused Max models and bristles to its entry 105. Rubber fins leave nowhere for a strand to bury itself, so hair rides into the airflow instead of migrating down to the axle. Bristle rows are still good at lifting grit from carpet, which is why they have not disappeared.

+ Do I need a self-emptying dock for pet hair?

If something in your house sheds daily, it is close to essential. Hair is bulky, an on-board bin fills in days rather than weeks, and a robot with a full bin runs its whole cycle collecting almost nothing. Treat the stated day counts as a ranking tool rather than a promise — none of them is tied to a floor area or a number of animals.

+ Will a robot vacuum handle a long-haired dog?

A model with an anti-tangle roller and an anti-tangle side brush will cope; a bristle-brush model will not. Long coats behave like long human hair, which is a harder case than ordinary shedding — a single strand can wrap a roller several times before it stops. The detail on that is in our page on long hair and tangles.

+ How often will I have to clean the brush?

In a shedding household, expect monthly on an anti-tangle design and weekly on a bristle one. Take the end caps off when you do it. The wrap that sits inside the bearing is the one that adds drag and eventually kills the motor, and it is the one a self-cleaning mechanism never reaches.