Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Shark / model review

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)

Shark markets NeverStuck technology specifically at the getting-stuck problem, and then publishes no climb height to back it up.

By Scooter M.Published

Best for

A dock that also washes and dries the pad

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Shark publishes 4 of the 6 specifications we track for this model and states nothing about the other 2. Everything below is quoted from Shark’s own material, with the page it came from linked on each row. We have not handled this machine.

Shark's PowerDetect has the hardware buyers ask for: 360-degree LiDAR plus a 3D sensor, and a base that self-empties for a stated 60 days, refills, and washes and dries the pad. The dock feature set is competitive with machines costing considerably more, and US service and parts availability is genuinely better than the Chinese-market brands.

The problem for a site like this one is that Shark publishes almost nothing measurable. No suction figure, no climb height, no mop lift. NeverStuck is marketed squarely at the getting-stuck problem — the exact problem our threshold table exists to address — with no height behind it. That is a choice, and it means the machine cannot appear in most of our comparisons.

The published spec sheet

Stated suction
Not stated as a figureShark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible.Source: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishedShark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Dock
NeverTouch Pro base — self-empty at a stated 60 days, refill, pad wash and drySource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What the sheet says it does well, and what it does not

Strengths

  • 360-degree LiDAR plus a 3D sensor
  • Base self-empties for a stated 60 days, refills, and washes and dries the pad
  • Widely available US service and parts

Limits

  • NeverStuck is a marketing name, not a measurement — there is no published height behind it
  • No published Pa rating, so it cannot be compared numerically on suction

Who it is for

Buyers who want the full self-empty, refill and pad-wash routine from a US-support brand.

Who should skip it

You are shopping on published specifications. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no mop-lift height for this model.

We name it as the pick to skip on 2 pages, for reasons specific to what those pages are about:

  • Robot vacuums for carpet and rugs Not because it is a bad machine — the LiDAR and the pad-washing base are real. But Shark publishes no suction figure for it at all, and this is a page about comparing suction figures. If you are shopping specifically for carpet performance, buy from a maker that will tell you a number you can hold them to.
  • Robot vacuum mapping and navigation Shark names its navigation hardware clearly — 360-degree LiDAR plus a 3D sensor — and then markets "NeverStuck" as the answer to the exact problem this hub is about, without publishing a single height. If getting over a sill is the thing you are buying for, buy from a maker willing to state the number.

How we assessed this

By reading what Shark publishes and recording it with its source. We have never owned, handled or measured this machine, and nothing above is written as though we had. Where the manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says so rather than borrowing a number from somewhere else. The full method is on how we pick, and if a figure here does not match the page it links to, tell us and we will correct it with a date.

What the spec sheet does not tell you

2 of the figures we track are absent from Shark’s own material for this model. That is worth knowing before you buy, because each of them answers a question somebody eventually asks:

  • Max climb height Shark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it.
  • Mop lift Not stated on the listing.

We could fill those in from a review site or an estimate. We do not, because a number we cannot source is worth less than an honest blank, and the pattern of what each maker will and will not state is one of the more useful things on this site.

Questions people actually ask

+ Does Shark publish a threshold climb height for the Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)?

No. Shark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it. We record that as not published rather than borrowing a figure from a review site — see the climb table for the models that do state one.

+ What suction does the Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE) have?

Shark states Not stated as a figure. Shark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible. Remember that pascal ratings are not standardized between manufacturers, so that figure ranks this model within Shark's own range and does not compare across brands — the full explanation.

+ Is the Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE) good for pet hair?

Its main brush is described as self-cleaning brushroll, which is the specification that matters most in a hair-heavy house — more than suction. The brush comparison sets out what each design does.

+ Can the Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE) mop over carpet?

Not stated on the listing. Without a figure you cannot check it against your carpet, which is why we rank models that publish one above models that do not. Mop lift compared.

+ Who should skip the Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)?

You are shopping on published specifications. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no mop-lift height for this model.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Sources