Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Guides / comparison

Roborock vs Shark

This is the widest documentation gap between any two brands on this site. It does not mean one brand cleans better - it means only one of them lets you check.

By Scooter M.Published
A large hall with two tall symmetrical windows

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Roborock publishes a suction figure, a named brush and a navigation system for every model it sells; Shark publishes no suction figure for any of its three. Buy Roborock if you want to compare specifications before spending. Buy Shark for its self-emptying bases, which are described more clearly than the robots attached to them.

Most brand comparisons on this site are close-run. This one is not, and it is worth being precise about what the gap actually is. It is not a performance gap - we have not tested either brand and nobody has published a test of both that we would cite. It is a disclosure gap, and it is the largest one we have found.

Roborock states a Pascal figure for all seven machines it currently sells here. Shark states one for none of the three it sells here. That is not a rounding difference or a case of one number being missing from one model. It is a whole specification that one company treats as a headline and the other declines to print anywhere.

The row that does not exist

Stated suction, both brands, every current model

9 of 10 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated suctionCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock22,000 PaStated as peak HyperForce suction.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — 22,000Pa HyperForce Suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborock22,000 PaSource: Roborock Saros 10R, "22000Pa" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborock18,500 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X, "18500Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Q7 M5+Roborock10,000 PaSource: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — HyperForce suction (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Roborock Q7 M5Roborock10,000 PaRoborock states this for Max+ mode.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — "10,000 Pa HyperForce Suction" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)Roborock8,000 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo QV 35A, "8000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborock7,000 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo Pro, "7,000 Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNot stated as a figureShark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible.Source: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 (RV2610WA)SharkNot stated as a figureSource: Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Seven figures and three blanks, and the blanks are not at the bottom of the price range. The Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 costs more than five of the seven Roborocks in that ledger and states less than the cheapest of them.

We should be fair about what this does and does not prove. A Pascal figure is measured on the maker's own rig with no shared standard, so Roborock's numbers are not independently verified either - we make that argument at length in our suction comparison. But a number from a stated method is still something you can hold a company to. "Powerful suction" is not.

What Shark publishes instead

It would be lazy to leave it there, because Shark does publish - just not the rows this category usually shops on. Set the two brands' disclosure side by side and each has a column the other leaves empty.

What each brand will tell you, across its current range
SpecificationRoborock (7 models)Shark (3 models)
Suction in pascals7 of 70 of 3
Climb / threshold height2 of 70 of 3
Mop lift height2 of 70 of 3
Body height3 of 70 of 3
Main brush described6 of 73 of 3
Navigation hardware named6 of 72 of 3
Dock interval in days or weeks2 of 73 of 3

Counted across the models each brand currently sells and this site covers, from their own product pages and listings. Every underlying figure is sourced on that model's spec sheet.

That last row is the one Shark wins outright. Every Shark here states how long its base runs before you touch it - 60 days on the PowerDetect 2-in-1, 60 on the Matrix Plus, 30 on the PowerDetect Self-Empty. Roborock states an interval on only two of seven, and on the rest you are guessing at the thing that decides how often the robot needs you.

Where the two brands actually overlap

Both brands ship LiDAR. Roborock names its systems - PreciSense, RetractSense, StarSight - and Shark states 360-degree LiDAR with a 3D sensor on the PowerDetect 2-in-1 and LiDAR mapping on the Matrix Plus. On that row they are genuinely comparable and genuinely similar.

Both also take anti-tangle seriously and describe it in mechanical terms. Roborock's DuoDivide splits the roller with spiral blades; its JawScrapers Comb scrapes hair off the roller as it turns. Shark's self-cleaning brushroll is on all three models and is the feature the brand is best known for. If long hair is your problem, both brands have a real answer and our long hair guide ranks them against everyone else.

Where they stop overlapping is mopping. Roborock publishes a mop lift height on two models, 17mm on both, which is the figure that decides whether a mop combo can be trusted to cross a rug. Shark sells two 2-in-1 machines and publishes no lift figure for either. See mop lift height compared.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Count what each brand publishes across its whole current range, not just its flagship. One well-documented halo model does not make a brand easy to shop.
  • Compare only where both makers publish. Where one side is blank we say so and move on rather than substituting a reviewer's measurement or a guess of our own.
  • Give Shark full credit where it does publish. Dock intervals, brushroll behavior and navigation hardware are real specifications and Shark states all three clearly. A brand that publishes differently is not the same as a brand that publishes nothing.
  • Treat Pa figures as within-brand only. All of Roborock's come from one rig. There is nothing to compare them against on the Shark side, which is the entire point of this page.
  • No durability, reliability or service claims in either direction. We have not run these machines for years and will not pretend to know how they age. See how we pick.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house22,000 Pa
2
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)Vacuum only, with a bagless base and a stated HEPA claim — and almost nothing else published about it.
A vacuum-only Shark with no bags to buyNot published
3
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)Roborock's anti-tangle brushes in the cheapest trim that has them, which is the spec that matters most in a long-hair house.
Anti-tangle brushes at mid price8,000 Pa
4
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)Shark markets NeverStuck technology specifically at the getting-stuck problem, and then publishes no climb height to back it up.
A dock that also washes and dries the padNot stated as a figure
5
Roborock Q7 M5+
Roborock Q7 M5+The Q7 M5's LiDAR and anti-tangle hardware, plus the self-emptying dock the plain M5 does not come with — and a stated bag capacity to go with it.
The cheapest self-emptying dock with real mapping10,000 Pa

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Roborock publishes only a double-layer threshold figure for it, not a separate figure for a single vertical sill

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)
Pick 2

Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)

A vacuum-only Shark with no bags to buy

Vacuum only, with a bagless base and a stated HEPA claim — and almost nothing else published about it.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated. Shark markets NeverStuck technology across the PowerDetect line without publishing a height behind it.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only model. There is no mop.
Main brush
Self-cleaning brushrollShark names it and does not describe what it is made of or what makes it self-cleaning.Source: Shark PowerDetect AV2820S product page — brushroll (retrieved 2026-09-21)
Navigation
Not publishedNo navigation or mapping system is named on the product page.
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
Dock
Bagless self-empty base, stated at 30 days, with HEPA filtrationShark states the base holds "30 days of dirt and debris" and that its HEPA filtration "captures and traps 99.97% of dust and allergens".Source: Shark PowerDetect AV2820S product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-21)

What it does well

  • Bagless base, so there are no dock bags to buy or run out of
  • HEPA filtration stated to trap 99.97% of dust and allergens
  • Vacuum only — no mop hardware to maintain, and no pad to rinse

What it does not

  • No published suction figure, climb height, runtime or body height
  • The brushroll is named self-cleaning and never described
  • 30 days is the shortest stated self-empty interval of any model here

Who it is for

Someone who does not want a mop and wants the cost of dock bags to go away entirely.

Skip it if

You want to check anything before buying. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no navigation system for this model.

Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)
Pick 3

Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)

Anti-tangle brushes at mid price

Roborock's anti-tangle brushes in the cheapest trim that has them, which is the spec that matters most in a long-hair house.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.

What it does well

  • Anti-tangle brushes are the single most useful hair feature and they are here
  • A stated 8,000 Pa, with a full washing dock at the price
  • All-in-one dock with auto mop washing

What it does not

  • No published threshold figure
  • No published mop-lift height

Who it is for

Long hair or a heavy-shedding dog, on a budget that will not stretch to the Curv.

Skip it if

You need a stated climb height or mop lift — neither is published for this trim.

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)
Pick 4

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)

A dock that also washes and dries the pad

Shark markets NeverStuck technology specifically at the getting-stuck problem, and then publishes no climb height to back it up.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not stated as a figureShark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible.Source: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishedShark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Dock
NeverTouch Pro base — self-empty at a stated 60 days, refill, pad wash and drySource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR plus a 3D sensor
  • Base self-empties for a stated 60 days, refills, and washes and dries the pad
  • Widely available US service and parts

What it does not

  • NeverStuck is a marketing name, not a measurement — there is no published height behind it
  • No published Pa rating, so it cannot be compared numerically on suction

Who it is for

Buyers who want the full self-empty, refill and pad-wash routine from a US-support brand.

Skip it if

You are shopping on published specifications. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no mop-lift height for this model.

Roborock Q7 M5+
Pick 5

Roborock Q7 M5+

The cheapest self-emptying dock with real mapping

The Q7 M5's LiDAR and anti-tangle hardware, plus the self-emptying dock the plain M5 does not come with — and a stated bag capacity to go with it.

Published specifications

Max climb height
20mm (2cm)Roborock's wording is "2cm climbing ability", with no condition attached.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — climbing ability (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush with an anti-tangle side brushSource: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
Dock
Auto-empty dock with a 2.7L dust bag, stated at up to 7 weeksRoborock qualifies the interval: "Based on Roborock internal testing. Actual results may vary depending on usage conditions." The Amazon listing title says 7 to 9 weeks.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — auto-empty dock (retrieved 2026-09-17)

What it does well

  • Self-emptying dock with a stated 2.7L dust bag
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush and an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • 360-degree LiDAR navigation at entry-level money

What it does not

  • Two different intervals for one dock: Roborock says up to 7 weeks based on internal testing, the Amazon listing says 7 to 9 weeks
  • A 20mm climb figure, which is the low end of what makers publish
  • No published mop-lift height or runtime

Who it is for

A shedding household on a budget that wants to stop emptying a bin by hand.

Skip it if

You want the mop washed for you. Roborock describes this dock as auto-empty, not mop-washing, so the pad is still yours to rinse.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 (RV2610WA)

Its Matrix Clean grid pattern is a genuinely distinct idea - the robot crosses the same area twice at right angles rather than once - and the bagless self-empty base is stated at 60 days. It is the skip because it is the oldest machine in this comparison, it states no suction figure, no climb height and no mop lift, and we could not confirm a current new-condition listing for it when checking prices for this page. If you find one new and cheap it is not a bad robot; it is simply the least checkable purchase here.

Which brand for which buyer

  • You want to compare before you spend - Roborock, without much argument. It is the only brand here whose whole range can be put in a table.
  • You want the base emptied and forgotten - Shark. Every model states an interval, and the 30-day and 60-day figures are among the clearest commitments any maker on this site makes.
  • You have thick thresholds - Roborock. The Qrevo CurvX publishes 40mm; no Shark publishes a climb figure at all, so buying one for a house with door strips is a gamble.
  • You have low furniture - Roborock. The 80mm bodies on the CurvX and Saros 10R are the flattest here and Shark publishes no body height.
  • You want a vacuum and nothing else - the Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty. It is the only machine in this comparison that does not try to mop, which is a legitimate thing to want and something we cover in robot vacuums that do not mop.
  • You want the cheapest machine with real published specs - Roborock again, at the Q7 M5+ or the Q7 M5. See the best Roborock for how that range sorts out internally.

Questions people actually ask

+ Is Roborock better than Shark?

We cannot tell you that, because neither of us has tested them. What we can tell you is that Roborock publishes a suction figure, a climb height or a body height where Shark publishes none of the three. If your decision depends on checkable specification, Roborock is the only one of the two you can check.

+ Why does Shark not publish a suction figure?

Shark has not said, and we will not guess at a motive. The observable fact is that across all three models we cover, its product pages describe suction in words - "powerful", "PowerDetect" - and never in pascals or air watts.

+ Which is better for pet hair, Roborock or Shark?

Both describe a real anti-tangle mechanism, which puts them ahead of several rivals. Shark's self-cleaning brushroll appears on all three of its models; Roborock's DuoDivide and JawScrapers Comb appear across most of its range and are paired with a published suction figure. On published data Roborock gives you more to go on; on brushroll design the two are close. See best for pet hair.

+ Does Shark empty itself for longer than Roborock?

On stated figures, yes, and by a clear margin. Shark states 60 days on two models and 30 on the third. The only Roborock intervals we have are up to seven weeks on the Q7 M5+ and ten weeks on the Qrevo Curv S5X, and the other five models state nothing. Bear in mind every one of these figures is the maker's own claim under unstated conditions.

+ Is the Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 worth its price?

It is the least documented machine in its price bracket, which is why our high-end roundup lists it as the one to skip. The base is real hardware and the LiDAR is a genuine spec. But at that money three rivals publish suction, climb height, mop lift and body height, and Shark publishes none of them.