Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Guides / comparison

Shark vs Roomba

This is the most-compared pair in the category and the hardest to compare, because between them the two brands publish almost none of the figures a comparison needs.

By Scooter M.Published
A minimalist hallway with two doorways side by side

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Shark publishes no suction figure and no climb height for any model we cover. iRobot publishes suction as a multiple of an unnamed baseline on most of its range. So this comparison cannot be run on numbers at all — it has to be run on the mechanisms each brand describes in words: brush construction, dock behavior and filtration.

Most comparisons of these two brands open by putting their suction figures side by side. We cannot, because between them there is essentially one real figure — the 30,000 Pa on the Roomba Max 715's listing — and Shark has none at all.

That is not a reason to skip the comparison. It is the comparison. If you are choosing between two of the best-known names in the category and neither will tell you how hard the fan pulls or how high the robot climbs, then the sensible response is to stop trying to rank them on specifications and rank them on the things they do describe.

What is actually missing

Published figures, Shark and iRobot, models we cover
SpecificationSharkiRobot
Suction in PascalsNot published for any modelOne model, on its Amazon listing only
Climb / threshold heightNot published for any modelNot published for any model
Mop lift heightNot published for any modelRetraction described, no figure
Main brush constructionNamed, not describedDescribed clearly
Navigation systemDescribed clearlyDescribed clearly
Dock behavior and intervalDescribed clearlyDescribed clearly

Every cell above is what the maker publishes, not what we could find elsewhere. Where we print "not published", we mean we are not substituting a reviewer's measurement or an estimate.

Two full rows blank on both sides. For context, Roborock, Dreame and eufy publish a Pascal figure for every model they sell, and the threshold table is built almost entirely out of Roborock and Dreame figures because those are the makers who print them.

What Shark does describe

Shark is specific about docks and vague about robots. The PowerDetect's NeverTouch Pro base is stated to self-empty at 60 days, refill the tank, and wash and dry the mop pad — a full-function station described in concrete terms, and genuinely one of the better docks on this site.

The robot itself gets 360-degree LiDAR with a 3D sensor, which is a real navigation claim, and a self-cleaning brushroll, which is a name rather than a description. What makes it self-cleaning is not stated. Compare that with Roborock explaining that DuoDivide splits the roller in two with spiral blades between, or eufy describing a fixed comb held against the roller — those are mechanisms you could evaluate.

What iRobot does describe

iRobot is specific about brushes and filtration and vague about suction. It tells you exactly which brush is on which model — dual rubber anti-tangle on the Max range, Multi-Surface bristle on the 105 — and it is one of only two makers on this site that addresses the side brush as well as the roller.

Its filtration claim is the most concrete thing either brand publishes. The Max 715's AllergenLock bag is stated as sealed and rated to 0.7 microns, which is a number with a unit attached to a specific mechanism. Nothing Shark publishes for the models we cover is that precise.

How to choose between them anyway

Strip out everything neither will tell you and three real questions remain.

  1. Do you need mopping? Shark's PowerDetect washes and dries its pad; the Roomba Max 715 does not mop at all and the Combo j9+ does it with a retracting pad. This is the clearest functional split between the two brands.
  2. Does anyone in the house react to dust? Then iRobot's sealed 0.7-micron bag is the most concrete filtration claim available from either, and it decides the question on its own.
  3. Does something shed? Then look at the specific model's brush, not the brand. iRobot ships both the best and the worst brush construction here depending on which Roomba you pick.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Count the published figures first. On this pairing that is a short count, and it is the most important finding on the page.
  • Where a figure is missing from both, say so and move to something checkable rather than filling the gap with an estimate.
  • Compare the mechanisms each brand does describe — brush construction, dock behavior, filtration — because those are stated in words even where the numbers are absent.
  • Include one machine from outside both brands as a reference point, so the reader can see what a fully published spec sheet looks like at the same price.
  • Weight the dock heavily, since it is the component both brands describe most concretely.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure30,000 Pa
2
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)Shark markets NeverStuck technology specifically at the getting-stuck problem, and then publishes no climb height to back it up.
A dock that also washes and dries the padNot stated as a figure
3
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XThe same 18,500 Pa figure and zero-tangling design as the Curv, in a trim with a longer stated self-empty interval.
Curv cleaning hardware, cheaper dock18,500 Pa
4
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+The mop arm retracts to the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so it can mop and vacuum in one pass without routing around rugs.
Mopping without avoiding the carpetStated only as 100 percent stronger than the Roomba Combo i series

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Top pick

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)
Pick 2

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)

A dock that also washes and dries the pad

Shark markets NeverStuck technology specifically at the getting-stuck problem, and then publishes no climb height to back it up.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not stated as a figureShark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible.Source: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishedShark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Dock
NeverTouch Pro base — self-empty at a stated 60 days, refill, pad wash and drySource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR plus a 3D sensor
  • Base self-empties for a stated 60 days, refills, and washes and dries the pad
  • Widely available US service and parts

What it does not

  • NeverStuck is a marketing name, not a measurement — there is no published height behind it
  • No published Pa rating, so it cannot be compared numerically on suction

Who it is for

Buyers who want the full self-empty, refill and pad-wash routine from a US-support brand.

Skip it if

You are shopping on published specifications. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no mop-lift height for this model.

Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X
Pick 3

Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X

Curv cleaning hardware, cheaper dock

The same 18,500 Pa figure and zero-tangling design as the Curv, in a trim with a longer stated self-empty interval.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNo climb height stated on the listing for this trim.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.

What it does well

  • Same headline suction figure as the Curv
  • Ten-week stated self-empty interval
  • FlexiArm side brush reaches into corners a round body cannot

What it does not

  • Roborock does not publish a climb height for this trim
  • Auto mop washing is listed for hard floor only

Who it is for

Anyone who wants the Curv's cleaning hardware and does not need the top dock.

Skip it if

You specifically need the published double-layer threshold figure — that is stated for the Curv, not for this trim.

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+
Pick 4

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+

Mopping without avoiding the carpet

The mop arm retracts to the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so it can mop and vacuum in one pass without routing around rugs.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Stated only as 100 percent stronger than the Roomba Combo i seriesiRobot publishes no absolute suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared with a Pa rating from any other brand. That is a limitation of the data, not a criticism of the machine.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — power-lifting suction claim (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishediRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page.
Mop lift
Auto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robotiRobot describes it as an Auto-Retract Mopping System with back-and-forth pressure mopping. No millimeter figure is given because the pad leaves the floor plane entirely.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — mopping system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Dual multi-surface rubber brushes with an edge-sweeping brushSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
Body height
86mm (3.4in)Listed dimensions 3.4 x 13.3 x 13.3in, 7.5lb.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Multi-functional base that empties the bin and refills the mop tank, stated at up to 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • The mop retracts fully onto the body — the most complete answer to wet carpet anyone sells
  • Dual rubber brushes, which do not wind hair the way bristle brushes do
  • Sixty-day stated self-empty interval

What it does not

  • iRobot publishes almost none of the numbers this site compares on — including any climb height
  • Suction is quoted only as a relative claim ("100% stronger" than an older model), which cannot be compared across brands

Who it is for

Mixed carpet and hard floor where you would rather the robot just handled both in one run.

Skip it if

You want to compare it on specification. iRobot publishes no suction figure, no climb height, no runtime and no bin capacity for this model.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac

If you are cross-shopping Shark and Roomba you are probably looking at pet hair, and this is the one machine in either brand's current line-up that is actively wrong for it. iRobot fits it a Multi-Surface bristle brush — the construction that winds hair into a collar — and makes no anti-tangle claim for it anywhere. It is a fine cheap mapping robot for a hard-floor home with nothing shedding in it, and the wrong purchase for the reason most people run this comparison.

The uncomfortable conclusion

If your priority is being able to check what you are buying, neither of these brands is the answer, and saying so is more useful than manufacturing a verdict out of two incomplete spec sheets. Both make capable machines. Both ask you to take the central performance claims on trust, and both are competing against makers who do not.

If you are willing to leave the two brands behind, Roborock vs Roomba runs the same tiers against a maker that publishes everything, and the suction power chart shows the whole field at once — including exactly how many cells Shark leaves empty.

Questions people actually ask

+ Is Shark better than Roomba?

Neither publishes enough for a specification answer. On mechanism, Shark's PowerDetect has the more complete dock — it washes and dries the mop pad — while iRobot describes its brushes far more clearly and offers a sealed allergen bag rated to 0.7 microns that Shark has no equivalent for. Choose on whether you need mopping or filtration.

+ What suction does the Shark PowerDetect have?

Shark does not publish a figure, for that model or any other we cover. We will not substitute a reviewer's measurement or an estimate, so our spec table shows it as not published. If a published suction figure matters to you, this brand cannot currently give you one.

+ Which is better for pet hair, Shark or Roomba?

The Roomba Max 715 Pet, on what is published: dual rubber anti-tangle brushes, an anti-tangle side brush, and a sealed bag rated to 0.7 microns. Shark names a self-cleaning brushroll but does not describe what makes it self-cleaning, so there is less to evaluate. Avoid the Roomba 105 for pet hair — it uses a bristle brush.

+ Does Shark or Roomba climb thresholds better?

Unknown. Neither brand publishes a climb height for any model on this site, which is why both are absent from our threshold table. Roborock and Dreame publish figures from 21mm to 60mm, so if tall sills are your problem, those are the ranges to look at.

+ Is Shark cheaper than Roomba?

Not reliably, and not at the models we cover — the Shark PowerDetect sits above the Roomba Max 715 Pet. Shark's reputation for value comes from its upright and stick vacuums more than its robots. Check the live prices on the buy buttons rather than assuming a brand is the cheap one.

+ Should I just buy a different brand?

If being able to verify the claims matters to you, that is the honest conclusion of this page. Roborock, Dreame and eufy publish a suction figure for every model, and two of them publish climb heights and mop lifts as well. Both brands here make capable machines; they just ask you to take the central claims on trust.