Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Guides / comparison

Roborock vs Roomba

Two brands, three price tiers, one structural difference: one of them tells you the numbers and the other tells you how many times better it is than something it will not name.

By Scooter M.Published
A robot vacuum moving across a wooden floor

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Roborock publishes suction in Pascals, climb height in millimeters and mop lift in millimeters across its range. iRobot publishes brush construction and dock behavior clearly, but states suction as a multiple of an unnamed baseline on most models. At matching prices Roborock gives you more checkable specification; iRobot gives you a retracting mop and a sealed allergen bag nobody else offers.

This is the comparison people actually run, and it is usually run on the wrong axis — brand reputation, or which one a friend owns. The useful axis is narrower and more boring: at the price you are going to spend, which machine can you check before you buy it?

The structural difference

Roborock states a Pascal figure for every model it sells. Dreame does the same, eufy does the same. iRobot, for most of its range, does not. It says seventy times more power-lifting suction on the 105, four times more on the Max 715, one hundred percent stronger than the Combo i series on the j9+ — each a multiple of a baseline that is never identified.

You cannot compare a multiple with a Pascal. You cannot even compare iRobot's multiples with each other, because there is no reason to assume the baselines are the same machine. This is not an accusation of dishonesty — the claims may be perfectly accurate — it is an observation that they are unfalsifiable, and this site ranks on what can be checked.

Entry tier: around $150 to $250

Roborock's Q7 M5 and iRobot's Roomba 105 Vac are the two cheapest mapping robots either brand sells, and they are a clean illustration of the whole argument.

Entry tier, head to head
Roborock Q7 M5iRobot Roomba 105 Vac
Stated suction10,000 PaA multiple, no figure
Main brushJawScrapers Comb anti-tangleMulti-Surface bristle
Navigation360-degree LiDAR, multi-level mappingClearView LiDAR, up to 3 maps
Self-empty intervalStated 7 to 9 weeksStated up to 75 days
MopsYesNo

Both publish a navigation system and a dock interval. Only one publishes a suction figure and an anti-tangle brush.

For a shedding household this is not close. The bristle brush is the construction that winds hair into a collar, and iRobot makes no anti-tangle claim for the 105 at all — the reason it is the named skip on our pet hair roundup. For a hard-floor flat with nobody shedding in it, the 105's three saved maps and 75-day dock are a genuinely good package.

Middle tier: around $600

This is the most interesting comparison on the page, because the Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X and the iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet sit at almost exactly the same price and are built around opposite priorities.

Middle tier, head to head
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XiRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Stated suction18,500 Pa30,000 Pa (on the listing)
Main brushZero-tangling with FlexiArm side brushDual rubber anti-tangle plus anti-tangle side brush
DockSelf-empty at ten weeks, auto mop washingAutoEmpty, sealed AllergenLock bag, 90 days, 0.7 microns
MopsYes, with a washing dockNo
Climb heightNot publishedNot published

The Roborock mops and washes its own pad; the Roomba does not mop at all. Against that, the Roomba is the better vacuum on paper and has the better bag — a sealed allergen bag rated to 0.7 microns is something no Roborock in our registry offers, and in a house where somebody reacts to dander it outranks the mop. Neither publishes a climb height, which is a mark against both.

Flagship tier: $800 and up

At the top the gap widens rather than closing. The Roborock Qrevo CurvX publishes 22,000 Pa, a 40mm double-layer climb, a 17mm mop lift, an 80mm body height and named anti-tangle hardware at both brushes. The Roomba Combo j9+ publishes a brush construction, a navigation system, an 86mm height and a dock interval — and for suction, that it is one hundred percent stronger than a previous generation.

The j9+ does have the single cleverest mop mechanism in the category: the pad retracts onto the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so on carpet it is genuinely out of the way rather than hovering. If that specific problem is your problem, it is the machine that solves it. It is also, at this price, the model with the thinnest published spec sheet on the page, which is why it is the skip below.

What each brand is actually better at

Roborock: published figures across the whole range, the highest mop lifts, the only published climb heights of the two, and cheaper hardware at every tier. If you want to compare a machine against a table before buying, this is the brand that makes it possible.

iRobot: the retracting mop, the sealed allergen bag, a longer-established service and parts network, and an app most people find easier. It also, on the Max models, fits genuinely good anti-tangle hardware and is one of only two makers on this site to address the side brush as well as the roller.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Compare at matching prices, not matching model numbers. A brand's flagship is only interesting against the other brand's flagship.
  • Count what each maker publishes: suction in Pascals, climb height in millimeters, mop lift, brush construction, navigation system. Five rows, checkable.
  • Treat a relative claim as a blank. Seventy times more suction than an unnamed baseline is a marketing unit, not a specification, and cannot be compared with anything.
  • Give credit for mechanisms the other brand does not have, whichever way it runs — iRobot's retracting mop and sealed allergen bag are real advantages.
  • Ignore brand heritage entirely. iRobot invented this category, which tells you nothing about what is in the box in 2026.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house22,000 Pa
2
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure30,000 Pa
3
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XThe same 18,500 Pa figure and zero-tangling design as the Curv, in a trim with a longer stated self-empty interval.
Curv cleaning hardware, cheaper dock18,500 Pa
4
iRobot Roomba 105 Vac
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobot's entry machine, and the first cheap one with real LiDAR — but it keeps the bristle brush, which is the wrong brush for a shedding household.
The cheapest Roomba that mapsNot stated as a figure
5
Roborock Q7 M5
Roborock Q7 M5Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.
Real LiDAR mapping at the low end10,000 Pa

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Flagship pricing — the plain Curv covers the same published thresholds for less

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Pick 2

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X
Pick 3

Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X

Curv cleaning hardware, cheaper dock

The same 18,500 Pa figure and zero-tangling design as the Curv, in a trim with a longer stated self-empty interval.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNo climb height stated on the listing for this trim.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.

What it does well

  • Same headline suction figure as the Curv
  • Ten-week stated self-empty interval
  • FlexiArm side brush reaches into corners a round body cannot

What it does not

  • Roborock does not publish a climb height for this trim
  • Auto mop washing is listed for hard floor only

Who it is for

Anyone who wants the Curv's cleaning hardware and does not need the top dock.

Skip it if

You specifically need the published double-layer threshold figure — that is stated for the Curv, not for this trim.

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac
Pick 4

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac

The cheapest Roomba that maps

iRobot's entry machine, and the first cheap one with real LiDAR — but it keeps the bristle brush, which is the wrong brush for a shedding household.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not stated as a figureiRobot states "70X more power-lifting suction" without saying 70 times what. A multiple with no baseline cannot be compared with anyone's Pa figure, including iRobot's own.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — cleaning system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on iRobot's product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Multi-Surface bristle brush with an Edge-Sweeping brushiRobot's own description. Note that this is the bristle design, not the dual rubber brushes it fits to the Max range.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — 3-Stage Cleaning (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView LiDAR, stated to build up to 3 maps and clean in neat rowsiRobot states mapping takes about ten minutes and that it navigates in the dark.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — navigation and mapping (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • ClearView LiDAR at the bottom of the range, so it maps and works in the dark
  • AutoEmpty dock stated at up to 75 days
  • iRobot states it builds up to three maps, which covers a two-story house

What it does not

  • Bristle main brush, not rubber — the wrong construction for pet hair
  • No suction figure at all: iRobot states a multiple, not a number
  • No mop, no threshold figure and no published body height

Who it is for

Someone who wants the Roomba name and app, on hard floors and low carpet, without paying flagship money.

Skip it if

You have a dog or a long-haired human. The bristle brush winds hair into a collar and there is no anti-tangle claim anywhere on iRobot's page for it.

Roborock Q7 M5
Pick 5

Roborock Q7 M5

Real LiDAR mapping at the low end

Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brushRoborock pairs it with an anti-tangle side brush as a Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
360-degree LiDAR with multi-level mappingSource: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR at entry-level money, so it maps rooms instead of guessing
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush
  • Multi-level mapping for a two-story house

What it does not

  • No published climb height and no published mop lift
  • Mopping is three water-flow levels and a pad, not a washing dock

Who it is for

A first mapped robot for a normal house — several rooms, some rugs, a pet.

Skip it if

You want serious mopping. This drags a pad; it does not wash or lift one properly.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+

It is iRobot's flagship and it does one genuinely distinctive thing — the mop retracts onto the top of the robot, so it is physically off the floor rather than raised above it. But at four figures it still publishes no suction figure, stating only that it is one hundred percent stronger than the Combo i series, and no climb height at all. The Roborock flagship costs less, publishes both, and publishes a mop lift as well. If you are spending this much, spend it where the spec sheet is complete.

The answer, if you want one

At every price point here, Roborock publishes more of what you need to make the decision, and that is the basis this site recommends on. If your house sheds and somebody in it has allergies, the Roomba Max 715 Pet is the exception worth making — buy it for the bag, not for the suction claim.

If the underlying question is whether the Roomba name is worth the premium at all, that is a slightly different question and it has its own page: is a Roomba worth it.

Questions people actually ask

+ Is Roborock better than Roomba?

On published specifications, yes, at every price tier compared here — Roborock states suction in Pascals, climb height in millimeters and mop lift in millimeters, while iRobot mostly states multiples of an unnamed baseline. On hardware, iRobot has two things Roborock does not: a mop that retracts onto the top of the robot, and a sealed allergen bag rated to 0.7 microns.

+ Why does iRobot not publish suction in Pascals?

It has not said why, and we are not going to guess. What is observable is that it states relative multiples — seventy times, four times, one hundred percent stronger — without naming the baseline, and that the one model carrying a real 30,000 Pa figure carries it on its Amazon listing rather than on iRobot's own product page.

+ Which is better for pet hair, Roborock or Roomba?

It depends which model. iRobot's Max range fits dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and addresses the side brush too, which is excellent. Its entry 105 fits a bristle brush, which is the worst construction for hair. Roborock fits an anti-tangle design across the whole range, so the brand is more consistent even where individual Roombas beat it.

+ Is a Roomba worth the extra money?

At the entry and flagship tiers the Roborock equivalent costs less and publishes more, so the premium is buying brand, app and service rather than specification. In the middle, the Max 715 Pet at around $600 is genuinely competitive and its sealed allergen bag has no Roborock equivalent in our registry.

+ Do Roborock robots last as long as Roombas?

We have no basis to answer that. We have not run either brand for years and we do not publish durability claims we cannot source. What we can say is that iRobot has a longer-established parts and service network in the US, which is a reasonable thing to weigh if you keep appliances a long time.

+ Which brand climbs higher thresholds?

Roborock, among the models compared here — it publishes a 40mm double-layer figure for the Qrevo CurvX, while iRobot publishes no climb height for any model on this site. That does not mean Roombas climb badly; it means you cannot check before buying. Our threshold table shows every published figure across all brands.