Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Guides / guide

Is a Roomba worth it?

The brand that invented the category now sells the least checkable spec sheets in it. That is the whole of the case against, and it is not the whole story.

By Scooter M.Published
A person straightening a cushion in a tidy living room

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Sometimes. A Roomba is worth it if you need the retracting mop, a sealed allergen-rated dock bag, or an established service network — iRobot is the only maker here offering the first two. It is not worth it if you want to verify what you are buying: iRobot states suction as a multiple of an unnamed baseline and publishes no climb height for any model.

Roomba is the word most people use for the whole category, the way Hoover once was. That matters commercially and it matters here, because it means a lot of people are not really asking whether to buy a robot vacuum — they are asking whether to buy a Roomba, having already decided on the idea. It is a fair question and it has a real answer, but the answer is conditional and the conditions are specific.

If the prior question is still open — whether any of these machines earns its place — that is are robot vacuums worth it, and it is the better page to start with.

The case against, stated plainly

iRobot publishes less than its competitors about what its machines do. That is the case, and it is narrower than brand-war arguments usually are.

  • Suction. Most of the range states a multiple — seventy times more power-lifting suction, four times more, one hundred percent stronger than a previous generation — without naming the baseline. That cannot be compared with a Pascal figure or with another multiple.
  • Climb height. Not published for any Roomba on this site. If you have a tall door sill, there is no figure to check it against, and our threshold table has iRobot rows that read "Not published" the whole way down.
  • Mop lift. The Combo j9+ describes a retraction mechanism but states no height, so a household with rugs cannot check it.
  • Price. At the entry and flagship tiers, a competitor machine costs less and publishes more.

None of that says a Roomba cleans badly. It says you are asked to take the central performance claims on trust, at a premium, from a brand whose competitors are not asking that.

The case for, which is more substantial than it looks

Three things iRobot offers here have no equivalent in our registry from any other maker.

  1. The retracting mop. On the Combo j9+ the mop pad lifts onto the top of the robot rather than rising a few millimeters. Every rival's mop lift is a number between 10mm and 17mm, which is a gap above a carpet — this one is not on the underside at all. For a mixed carpet and hard floor house that is a categorical difference, not an incremental one.
  2. The sealed allergen bag. The Max 715's AllergenLock bag is stated as sealed and rated to 0.7 microns, at a 90-day interval. It is the most precise filtration claim any maker on this site makes, and if somebody in the house reacts to dander it outranks everything else on the spec sheet.
  3. Parts and service. iRobot has been selling these in the US longer than anyone, with a correspondingly established network for brushes, filters, bags and repairs. We have not tested that network and cannot rate it, but its existence is a fact and it is a reasonable thing to weigh if you keep appliances for years.

It depends heavily on which Roomba

Treating Roomba as one product is the most common mistake in this decision. iRobot currently ships both the best and the worst brush construction on this site, within the same range, in the same year.

The brush on each Roomba we cover

4 of 4 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelMain brushCondition and source
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobotDual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotDual multi-surface rubber brushes with an edge-sweeping brushSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotDual rubber anti-tangle brushesSource: iRobot Roomba Max 705 brushes — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotMulti-Surface bristle brush with an Edge-Sweeping brushiRobot's own description. Note that this is the bristle design, not the dual rubber brushes it fits to the Max range.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — 3-Stage Cleaning (retrieved 2026-09-13)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes on the Max models — genuinely good hardware, and iRobot is one of only two makers here that addresses the side brush as well. A Multi-Surface bristle brush on the 105, which is the construction that winds hair into a collar, with no anti-tangle claim attached. Buying "a Roomba" for a shedding house without checking which brush it has is how people end up disappointed by the brand rather than by the model.

What the same money buys elsewhere

Roomba and the nearest fully-published alternative, by tier
TierRoombaAlternativeWhat the alternative adds
EntryRoomba 105 VacRoborock Q7 M5A Pascal figure, an anti-tangle brush, and it mops — for less
MiddleRoomba Max 715 PetRoborock Qrevo Curv S5XA Pascal figure and a washing mop dock at the same price
UpperRoomba Combo j9+Roborock Qrevo CurvXSuction, climb height and mop lift all published, for less money

Live prices are on the buy buttons below and move constantly; the tiers rather than the exact figures are the point here.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • What is actually verifiable before purchase, since that is the basis this whole site recommends on.
  • What iRobot offers that nobody else does — the retracting mop, the sealed allergen bag, the parts and service network.
  • The price of the nearest equivalent from a maker that publishes everything, at the same tier.
  • Whether the specific Roomba in question has the right brush for the house it is going into, because iRobot ships both the best and the worst construction here.
  • No durability or reliability claims, in either direction. We have not run these machines for years and will not pretend to know.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure30,000 Pa
2
iRobot Roomba 105 Vac
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobot's entry machine, and the first cheap one with real LiDAR — but it keeps the bristle brush, which is the wrong brush for a shedding household.
The cheapest Roomba that mapsNot stated as a figure
3
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XThe same 18,500 Pa figure and zero-tangling design as the Curv, in a trim with a longer stated self-empty interval.
Curv cleaning hardware, cheaper dock18,500 Pa
4
Roborock Q7 M5
Roborock Q7 M5Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.
Real LiDAR mapping at the low end10,000 Pa
5
eufy X10 Pro Omni
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.
The most completely published spec sheet8,000 Pa

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Top pick

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac
Pick 2

iRobot Roomba 105 Vac

The cheapest Roomba that maps

iRobot's entry machine, and the first cheap one with real LiDAR — but it keeps the bristle brush, which is the wrong brush for a shedding household.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not stated as a figureiRobot states "70X more power-lifting suction" without saying 70 times what. A multiple with no baseline cannot be compared with anyone's Pa figure, including iRobot's own.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — cleaning system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on iRobot's product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Multi-Surface bristle brush with an Edge-Sweeping brushiRobot's own description. Note that this is the bristle design, not the dual rubber brushes it fits to the Max range.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — 3-Stage Cleaning (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView LiDAR, stated to build up to 3 maps and clean in neat rowsiRobot states mapping takes about ten minutes and that it navigates in the dark.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — navigation and mapping (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • ClearView LiDAR at the bottom of the range, so it maps and works in the dark
  • AutoEmpty dock stated at up to 75 days
  • iRobot states it builds up to three maps, which covers a two-story house

What it does not

  • Bristle main brush, not rubber — the wrong construction for pet hair
  • No suction figure at all: iRobot states a multiple, not a number
  • No mop, no threshold figure and no published body height

Who it is for

Someone who wants the Roomba name and app, on hard floors and low carpet, without paying flagship money.

Skip it if

You have a dog or a long-haired human. The bristle brush winds hair into a collar and there is no anti-tangle claim anywhere on iRobot's page for it.

Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X
Pick 3

Roborock Qrevo Curv S5X

Curv cleaning hardware, cheaper dock

The same 18,500 Pa figure and zero-tangling design as the Curv, in a trim with a longer stated self-empty interval.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNo climb height stated on the listing for this trim.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.

What it does well

  • Same headline suction figure as the Curv
  • Ten-week stated self-empty interval
  • FlexiArm side brush reaches into corners a round body cannot

What it does not

  • Roborock does not publish a climb height for this trim
  • Auto mop washing is listed for hard floor only

Who it is for

Anyone who wants the Curv's cleaning hardware and does not need the top dock.

Skip it if

You specifically need the published double-layer threshold figure — that is stated for the Curv, not for this trim.

Roborock Q7 M5
Pick 4

Roborock Q7 M5

Real LiDAR mapping at the low end

Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brushRoborock pairs it with an anti-tangle side brush as a Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
360-degree LiDAR with multi-level mappingSource: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR at entry-level money, so it maps rooms instead of guessing
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush
  • Multi-level mapping for a two-story house

What it does not

  • No published climb height and no published mop lift
  • Mopping is three water-flow levels and a pad, not a washing dock

Who it is for

A first mapped robot for a normal house — several rooms, some rugs, a pet.

Skip it if

You want serious mopping. This drags a pad; it does not wash or lift one properly.

eufy X10 Pro Omni
Pick 5

eufy X10 Pro Omni

The most completely published spec sheet

eufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.

Published specifications

Max climb height
21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Auto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle CombSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
173 minutes vacuuming, 136 minutes vacuuming and moppingeufy states both figures for standard mode.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Body height
Needs 130mm (5.12in) of clearance under furnitureeufy publishes this as a minimum height restriction rather than a body height.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — height restrictions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with auto mop washing and drying, 3L self-refilling tankThe robot itself carries an 80ml water tank.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — station and tanks (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes an obstacle clearance figure at all, which iRobot and Shark do not
  • 12mm auto-lifting mop with carpet detection
  • Separate stated runtimes for vacuum-only and vacuum-plus-mop

What it does not

  • 21mm clearance is mid-pack and well below the Curv or the L40s
  • 8,000 Pa is modest against the current flagship figures

Who it is for

Anyone who wants to check the specs before buying rather than after the robot arrives.

Skip it if

Your sills are over about 20mm. A published 21mm clearance is honest, but it is not tall.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+

This is the model that makes the question worth asking, and the answer for it specifically is no. Its retracting mop is genuinely the cleverest mopping mechanism in the category — the pad goes onto the top of the robot rather than hovering above the carpet. But it is a four-figure machine that publishes no suction figure and no climb height, and at that money you can buy a flagship from another maker that publishes both plus a mop lift. Buy it only if the retracting mop is the specific thing you need.

So: worth it?

Buy a Roomba if you want the retracting mop, if somebody in the house needs the sealed allergen bag, or if a long-established service network genuinely matters to how you buy appliances. Those are real reasons and no competitor here matches them.

Do not buy one because it is the name you know. That premium buys familiarity, and at the entry and flagship tiers it costs you both money and the ability to check what you are getting. The middle of the range — the Max 715 Pet — is where iRobot is genuinely competitive on its own merits rather than on its reputation, and it is the one we would put in most houses.

Questions people actually ask

+ Is a Roomba worth the money?

It depends which one and why. The Max 715 Pet at around $600 is genuinely competitive and its sealed 0.7-micron allergen bag has no equivalent from another maker here. The entry 105 and the four-figure Combo j9+ are both beaten on price and on published specification by rivals, so those two are worth it only if you specifically want the brand or the retracting mop.

+ Why is a Roomba more expensive than other robot vacuums?

Brand, an established US parts and service network, and a couple of mechanisms nobody else offers — chiefly the retracting mop and the sealed allergen bag. What the premium does not buy is a more complete spec sheet: iRobot publishes less about suction and climb height than its competitors do.

+ Which Roomba should I buy?

The Max 715 Pet for most houses — dual rubber anti-tangle brushes, an anti-tangle side brush and the sealed 90-day allergen bag. The 105 Vac only if your floors are hard, nothing sheds, and you want the cheapest mapping Roomba. The Combo j9+ only if you specifically need the mop that retracts onto the robot's back.

+ Is Roomba better than Roborock?

Not on published specifications, at any tier we compare. Roborock states suction in Pascals, climb height and mop lift in millimeters; iRobot mostly states multiples of an unnamed baseline. iRobot wins on the retracting mop, the allergen bag and service reach. Our full tier-by-tier comparison covers where each lands.

+ Do Roombas handle pet hair well?

The Max models do — dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush is among the best hardware on this site. The entry 105 does not: it uses a bristle brush with no anti-tangle claim. The brand answer is meaningless here; only the model answer counts.

+ How long does a Roomba last?

We do not know and will not guess. We have not run these machines over a period long enough to say anything about longevity, and we do not publish durability claims we cannot source. What is checkable is that iRobot's parts and service network in the US is the longest-established in the category.