iRobot Roomba Combo j9+
The mop arm retracts to the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so it can mop and vacuum in one pass without routing around rugs.
Best for
Mopping without avoiding the carpet
#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none
Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.
iRobot publishes 6 of the 9 specifications we track for this model and states nothing about the other 3. Everything below is quoted from iRobot’s own material, with the page it came from linked on each row. We have not handled this machine.
The retracting mop is the best answer to wet carpet anyone sells, and it is worth understanding why. Every other model on this site raises the pad by a published number of millimeters and hopes that clears your pile. iRobot lifts the entire pad onto the top of the robot, so the mop is not in the floor plane at all — which means it can vacuum and mop in one pass without routing around rugs.
The frustration is everything else on the sheet. iRobot publishes no absolute suction figure, quoting only that it is stronger than an older iRobot; no climb height; no runtime; no bin capacity. Those absences are why it cannot be placed on most of the comparison tables here. Its rubber brushes and its mopping design are genuinely good, and you are buying both largely on reputation rather than on data.
The published spec sheet
- Stated suction
- Stated only as 100 percent stronger than the Roomba Combo i seriesiRobot publishes no absolute suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared with a Pa rating from any other brand. That is a limitation of the data, not a criticism of the machine.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — power-lifting suction claim (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Max climb height
- Not publishediRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page.
- Mop lift
- Auto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robotiRobot describes it as an Auto-Retract Mopping System with back-and-forth pressure mopping. No millimeter figure is given because the pad leaves the floor plane entirely.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — mopping system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Main brush
- Dual multi-surface rubber brushes with an edge-sweeping brushSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Navigation
- PrecisionVision Navigation on iRobot OSSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Stated runtime
- Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
- Dustbin
- Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
- Body height
- 86mm (3.4in)Listed dimensions 3.4 x 13.3 x 13.3in, 7.5lb.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
- Dock
- Multi-functional base that empties the bin and refills the mop tank, stated at up to 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-01)
What the sheet says it does well, and what it does not
Strengths
- The mop retracts fully onto the body — the most complete answer to wet carpet anyone sells
- Dual rubber brushes, which do not wind hair the way bristle brushes do
- Sixty-day stated self-empty interval
Limits
- iRobot publishes almost none of the numbers this site compares on — including any climb height
- Suction is quoted only as a relative claim ("100% stronger" than an older model), which cannot be compared across brands
Who it is for
Mixed carpet and hard floor where you would rather the robot just handled both in one run.
Who should skip it
You want to compare it on specification. iRobot publishes no suction figure, no climb height, no runtime and no bin capacity for this model.
Where we recommend it
- Robot vacuums for pet hair
- Robot vacuums that mop
- Rubber vs bristle brushes, compared across brands
- Robot vacuums for area rugs
- Mop lift height, compared across brands
- Which brush type suits a hard floor
- Mop combo, or two separate machines?
- Replacement parts and what they actually cost you
How we assessed this
By reading what iRobot publishes and recording it with its source. We have never owned, handled or measured this machine, and nothing above is written as though we had. Where the manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says so rather than borrowing a number from somewhere else. The full method is on how we pick, and if a figure here does not match the page it links to, tell us and we will correct it with a date.
What the spec sheet does not tell you
3 of the figures we track are absent from iRobot’s own material for this model. That is worth knowing before you buy, because each of them answers a question somebody eventually asks:
- Max climb height — iRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page.
- Stated runtime — Not stated on the iRobot product page.
- Dustbin — Not stated on the iRobot product page.
We could fill those in from a review site or an estimate. We do not, because a number we cannot source is worth less than an honest blank, and the pattern of what each maker will and will not state is one of the more useful things on this site.
Questions people actually ask
+ Does iRobot publish a threshold climb height for the iRobot Roomba Combo j9+?
No. iRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page. We record that as not published rather than borrowing a figure from a review site — see the climb table for the models that do state one.
+ What suction does the iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ have?
iRobot states Stated only as 100 percent stronger than the Roomba Combo i series. iRobot publishes no absolute suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared with a Pa rating from any other brand. That is a limitation of the data, not a criticism of the machine. Remember that pascal ratings are not standardized between manufacturers, so that figure ranks this model within iRobot's own range and does not compare across brands — the full explanation.
+ Is the iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ good for pet hair?
Its main brush is described as dual multi-surface rubber brushes with an edge-sweeping brush, which is the specification that matters most in a hair-heavy house — more than suction. The brush comparison sets out what each design does.
+ Can the iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ mop over carpet?
iRobot states a mop lift of Auto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robot. iRobot describes it as an Auto-Retract Mopping System with back-and-forth pressure mopping. No millimeter figure is given because the pad leaves the floor plane entirely. Compare that against your own pile depth rather than against other models — mop lift compared.
+ Who should skip the iRobot Roomba Combo j9+?
You want to compare it on specification. iRobot publishes no suction figure, no climb height, no runtime and no bin capacity for this model.
#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none