Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Hard floors / comparison

Mop lift height, compared across brands

The number that decides whether a wet pad reaches your carpet. Several makers advertise the feature and publish no figure for it.

By Scooter M.Published
A damp mop head resting on a tiled floor

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Published mop lift on current models runs from 10mm to 17mm. Roborock states 17mm on the Curv line and the Saros 10R, ECOVACS states 10mm, eufy states 12mm, Dreame states 10.5mm. iRobot publishes no millimeter figure because its pad retracts onto the top of the robot instead of lifting.

This is the specification that decides whether a mop combo suits a mixed-floor home, and it is quoted far less often than suction. It should not be. Suction determines how well the robot cleans; mop lift determines whether it damages anything on the way.

The table

Published mop lift height, every model we cover

12 of 29 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated mop liftCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock17mmSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — "17mm Max. Mop Lifting" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Saros 10RRoborock17mmSource: Roborock Saros 10R product page — "17mm Mop Lift" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)RoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Dreame X50 UltraDreame10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreameNot publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Dreame X40 UltraDreameRemovable, plus a stated 10.5mm raiseDreame quotes the height difference before and after mop lifting as 10.5mm; the pads can also be dropped at the dock entirely.Source: Dreame model comparison — mop lifting height difference (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreameNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy12mmAuto-lifting on carpet detection.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — auto-lifting mop (retrieved 2026-09-01)
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboECOVACSNot publishedThe listing states auto mop lifting but gives no height.
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotAuto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robotiRobot describes it as an Auto-Retract Mopping System with back-and-forth pressure mopping. No millimeter figure is given because the pad leaves the floor plane entirely.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — mopping system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba j9+iRobotNot publishedThis model does not mop.
iRobot Roomba Max 705 VaciRobotNot publishedThis model does not mop.
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1SharkNot publishedNot stated on the listing.
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedVacuum-only model. There is no mop.
Roborock Q7 M5+RoborockNot publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotNot publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobotNot publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
eufy Omni C28eufyNot publishedeufy does not state whether the HydroJet roller lifts clear of carpet, which is the figure that decides whether it wets a rug.
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller CompleteDreame14mm, by sealing the roller rather than lifting a padDreame states that AutoSeal "automatically closes and raises 14 mm when moving onto the carpet". It is a different mechanism from a lifted pad: the roller housing shuts so the wet roller cannot touch the carpet at all.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — AutoSeal (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Narwal Flow 2Narwal12mmPublished plainly as a mop lifting height, which is more than most makers of roller mops manage.Source: Narwal Flow 2 product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)SharkNot publishedVacuum-only model. There is no mop.
Narwal Freo Z10 TurboNarwal12mmPublished plainly, which is more than most makers manage at this price.Source: Narwal Freo Z10 Turbo product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-10-03)
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIECOVACS10mm automaticECOVACS calls the mechanism the Triple Lift System and states that on carpet it raises the mop to prevent wetting while boosting suction.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-10-03)
eufy Omni S2eufy1.1in (roughly 28mm)The highest mop lift figure on this site; the next highest published anywhere here is the 17mm Roborock states for the Qrevo CurvX and the Saros 10R. eufy states the chassis also raises for carpet up to 2in thick, but its regional pages disagree on that limit so it is not relied on.Source: eufy Omni S2 US product page — mop lift (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni E28eufyNot publishedCONTESTED. eufy's E28 page says the mop lifts for carpet but gives no height; its US buying guide says 20mm and its FAQ says 12mm. Where a maker states two different figures for one machine we publish neither.
eufy Omni C20eufy10.4mmeufy states this as 0.41in in its FAQ and 10.4mm in the spec table. The two agree, which is worth noting on a brand whose other sheets do not.Source: eufy Omni C20 product page — mop auto-lifting (retrieved 2026-10-17)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Two patterns worth noticing. Roborock publishes 17mm across its Curv and Saros lines, which is the highest here, and then publishes nothing for the Qrevo Pro even though it advertises auto mop lifting. Dreame publishes 10.5mm for the X50 Ultra and the X40 Ultra but not for the L40s Ultra. In both cases the maker clearly has the number.

How much lift do you actually need?

Compare the lift height against the pile depth of the carpet the robot will cross, not against the marketing claims of other models. A 10mm lift over a 6mm low-pile rug is comfortable. The same 10mm over a 15mm medium pile is a wet pad dragging through carpet, whatever the box says about auto lifting.

  • Flat-weave rugs and low-pile runners — 4mm to 8mm. Any published lift clears them.
  • Typical fitted carpet — 8mm to 15mm. A 10mm lift is marginal; 12mm to 17mm is comfortable.
  • Deep pile and shag — 20mm and up. No published lift clears this. Use a no-go zone, or a model whose pad detaches at the dock.

The third option: dropping the pad

Several docks now detach the mop pads before a vacuum-only run and reattach them afterwards. Dreame's X40 Ultra does this. It is the most complete answer for a heavily carpeted home, because the pad is not on the robot at all, and it costs you the ability to vacuum and mop in one pass.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMop liftPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house17mm
2
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+The mop arm retracts to the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so it can mop and vacuum in one pass without routing around rugs.
Mopping without avoiding the carpetAuto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robot
3
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIThe roller mop that washes itself continuously while it runs rather than pushing one increasingly dirty pad around, now with a cyclone-directed anti-tangle brush.
Mopping that rinses as it goes10mm automatic

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Roborock publishes only a double-layer threshold figure for it, not a separate figure for a single vertical sill

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+
Pick 2

iRobot Roomba Combo j9+

Mopping without avoiding the carpet

The mop arm retracts to the top of the robot rather than lifting a few millimeters, so it can mop and vacuum in one pass without routing around rugs.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Stated only as 100 percent stronger than the Roomba Combo i seriesiRobot publishes no absolute suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared with a Pa rating from any other brand. That is a limitation of the data, not a criticism of the machine.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — power-lifting suction claim (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishediRobot states no threshold or obstacle climbing height for this model on its own product page.
Mop lift
Auto-retract — the mop lifts to the top of the robotiRobot describes it as an Auto-Retract Mopping System with back-and-forth pressure mopping. No millimeter figure is given because the pad leaves the floor plane entirely.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — mopping system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Dual multi-surface rubber brushes with an edge-sweeping brushSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
Body height
86mm (3.4in)Listed dimensions 3.4 x 13.3 x 13.3in, 7.5lb.Source: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — dimensions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Multi-functional base that empties the bin and refills the mop tank, stated at up to 60 daysSource: iRobot Roomba Combo j9+ product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • The mop retracts fully onto the body — the most complete answer to wet carpet anyone sells
  • Dual rubber brushes, which do not wind hair the way bristle brushes do
  • Sixty-day stated self-empty interval

What it does not

  • iRobot publishes almost none of the numbers this site compares on — including any climb height
  • Suction is quoted only as a relative claim ("100% stronger" than an older model), which cannot be compared across brands

Who it is for

Mixed carpet and hard floor where you would rather the robot just handled both in one run.

Skip it if

You want to compare it on specification. iRobot publishes no suction figure, no climb height, no runtime and no bin capacity for this model.

ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI
Pick 3

ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI

Mopping that rinses as it goes

The roller mop that washes itself continuously while it runs rather than pushing one increasingly dirty pad around, now with a cyclone-directed anti-tangle brush.

Published specifications

Stated suction
16,600 PaLower than the 18,000 Pa ECOVACS stated for the X8 PRO OMNI this model replaces. ECOVACS also states a 16.3 L/s airflow figure, which almost nobody else publishes.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — suction (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Max climb height
20mm with the mop attachedECOVACS states the condition alongside the figure, which is unusual and useful — a mop combo's climb is not the same as a bare chassis's.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — barrier crossing (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Mop lift
10mm automaticECOVACS calls the mechanism the Triple Lift System and states that on carpet it raises the mop to prevent wetting while boosting suction.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Main brush
Cyclone-Directed anti-tangle main brush, ZeroTangle 3.0The successor to the ZeroTangle 2.0 brush on the discontinued X8 PRO OMNI.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — brush (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Stated runtime
Up to 196 minutesECOVACS states this for vacuuming on hard floor in standard mode. It is not comparable with the 291 minutes stated for the discontinued X8, which was a silent-mode figure.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — working time (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Dock
Self-emptying into a 3L bag, with temperature-controlled mop washing stated from 40C to 75C (104F to 167F) and hot-air dryingECOVACS publishes a wash temperature RANGE rather than a single figure, and states selectable drying durations of 2, 3 or 4 hours.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — station (retrieved 2026-10-03)

What it does well

  • OZMO Roller self-washes during the run rather than only at the dock
  • Publishes a threshold figure and states the condition (with mop attached)
  • Mop washing is temperature-controlled across a stated 40C to 75C range rather than a single number

What it does not

  • 20mm climb is among the lowest published figures here
  • 0.22L on-board bin is small, so it leans hard on the dock
  • 16,600 Pa is lower than the model it replaces, which stated 18,000 Pa

Who it is for

Hard floors that actually get dirty — kitchens, entryways, homes with dogs.

Skip it if

Your sills are tall. ECOVACS publishes 20mm with the mop attached, which is at the low end of our threshold table.

Whichever you buy, the belt-and-braces answer is still a no-go zone over anything absorbent you care about. It takes a minute and it does not depend on a specification you cannot verify. If your home mixes carpet and hard floor throughout, the mixed-floor roundup applies these figures to that specific case. Best robot vacuum and mop combos applies them to the buying decision, and eufy vs Roborock compares the two brands that publish the figure most consistently. Dreame vs Roborock sets the 17mm and 10.5mm figures against each other, and against the pads that come off entirely.

Questions people actually ask

+ What is mop lift height?

How far the robot raises its wet mop pad off the floor when it detects carpet. It matters because a pad that does not clear the pile leaves the carpet damp, which is the failure people regret most on a mop combo.

+ Which robot vacuum has the highest mop lift?

Of the models we cover, Roborock publishes 17mm on the Qrevo Curv line and the Saros 10R. iRobot's retracting design removes the pad from the floor entirely, which is functionally higher but not expressed as a height.

+ Is 10mm of mop lift enough?

For flat-weave rugs and low pile, yes. For typical fitted carpet at 8mm to 15mm it is marginal. Measure your pile before you decide, because this is one of the few figures in the category that means the same thing across brands.

+ Why do some models not publish a mop lift height?

We do not know, and we are not going to speculate. What we can say is which models state a figure and which advertise auto mop lifting without one — the table above shows exactly that.

Sources