Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)
Shark's grid-pattern cleaning and a HEPA self-empty base at the cheapest point Shark offers them, with the usual Shark silence on anything measurable.

Best for
Matrix grid cleaning at the bottom of Shark's range
#ad how we are funded · price as of October 17, 2026
Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.
Shark publishes 4 of the 8 specifications we track for this model and states nothing about the other 4. Everything below is quoted from Shark’s own material, with the page it came from linked on each row. We have not handled this machine.
This is the cheapest way into Shark's grid cleaning, and the grid is the genuinely interesting idea. Matrix Clean sends the robot across the same patch twice at right angles rather than once in a single direction, which is a real answer to the thing that annoys people most about robot vacuums: the single pass that misses. Shark describes the behavior clearly, and it is checkable in the sense that you can watch it happen on your own floor.
Everything measurable is missing, which is the Shark pattern across every model we cover. No suction figure in any unit, no climb height, no runtime. The one number on the page is an onboard bin stated in quarts, which is a strange unit to pick in a category that otherwise uses milliliters and makes comparison with anything else awkward. At this price that matters less than it would at four figures, but it still means you are buying on the brand rather than on the sheet.
Buy it as a mapped, self-emptying vacuum for a house with ordinary floors and no mopping ambitions. The 30-day bagless base is the shortest stated interval of any Shark here, but bagless means those 30 days cost you nothing in consumables - you tip it out. If you want the mop as well, the Matrix Plus sits at a similar price and adds one.
The published spec sheet
- Stated suction
- Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page, in pascals or any other unit.
- Max climb height
- Not publishedNot stated. No Shark model we cover publishes a climb height.
- Mop lift
- Not publishedVacuum-only model. There is no mop.
- Main brush
- Self-cleaning brushrollShark names it and does not describe the construction.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — brushroll (retrieved 2026-10-03)
- Navigation
- AI Laser Navigation with Matrix Clean grid cleaningShark describes Matrix Clean as cleaning in a grid, taking multiple passes over an area rather than a single pass.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-10-03)
- Stated runtime
- Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
- Dustbin
- 0.1 qt (about 95ml) on boardShark states the onboard bin in quarts rather than liters, which is unusual in this category and makes cross-brand comparison awkward.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — capacity (retrieved 2026-10-03)
- Dock
- Bagless self-empty base, stated at 30 days, with true HEPA filtrationShark states the base holds "up to 30 days of dirt and debris" and that its true HEPA filtration "captures and traps 99.97% of dust and allergens" down to 0.3 microns.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — self-empty base (retrieved 2026-10-03)
What the sheet says it does well, and what it does not
Strengths
- Matrix Clean grid pattern crosses the same area twice at right angles rather than once
- AI Laser Navigation, so it maps rather than bumps
- Bagless HEPA base stated at 30 days, with a 99.97 percent filtration claim
Limits
- No published suction figure, climb height or runtime
- Vacuum only — there is no mop
- 30 days is the shortest stated self-empty interval of any Shark we cover
Who it is for
Someone who wants a mapped, self-emptying vacuum and does not care about mopping.
Who should skip it
You want to compare it against anything. Shark publishes no suction figure, no climb height and no runtime for it.
We name it as the pick to skip on 2 pages, for reasons specific to what those pages are about:
- Roborock vs Shark — Its Matrix Clean grid pattern is a genuinely distinct idea - the robot crosses the same area twice at right angles rather than once. It is the skip here because in a field that includes Roborock it is the machine you can check least: no suction figure in any unit, no climb height, no mop lift, no body height, and the shortest stated dock interval of any Shark at 30 days. It is also vacuum-only, while the Matrix Plus mops and states 60 days for similar money. We rank it last among Sharks on the best Shark robot vacuum for the same reasons.
- Are robot vacuums banned in the US? — It is a competent mapped vacuum with a bagless HEPA base, and the grid-cleaning pattern is a real idea. It is the skip on a page about buying with confidence because it is the least checkable machine we cover: Shark states no suction figure, no climb height, no mop lift and no body height for it. When the question you arrived with is "what am I actually allowed to know before I spend", a spec sheet this empty is the wrong answer regardless of how the robot cleans.
Where we recommend it
How we assessed this
By reading what Shark publishes and recording it with its source. We have never owned, handled or measured this machine, and nothing above is written as though we had. Where the manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says so rather than borrowing a number from somewhere else. The full method is on how we pick, and if a figure here does not match the page it links to, tell us and we will correct it with a date.
What the spec sheet does not tell you
4 of the figures we track are absent from Shark’s own material for this model. That is worth knowing before you buy, because each of them answers a question somebody eventually asks:
- Stated suction — Not stated on Shark's product page, in pascals or any other unit.
- Max climb height — Not stated. No Shark model we cover publishes a climb height.
- Mop lift — Vacuum-only model. There is no mop.
- Stated runtime — Not stated on Shark's product page.
We could fill those in from a review site or an estimate. We do not, because a number we cannot source is worth less than an honest blank, and the pattern of what each maker will and will not state is one of the more useful things on this site.
Questions people actually ask
+ Does Shark publish a threshold climb height for the Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)?
No. Not stated. No Shark model we cover publishes a climb height. We record that as not published rather than borrowing a figure from a review site — see the climb table for the models that do state one.
+ What suction does the Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S) have?
Shark publishes no suction figure for this model, so it cannot be compared numerically with any other machine here. Why the pascal figure is limited anyway.
+ Is the Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S) good for pet hair?
Its main brush is described as self-cleaning brushroll, which is the specification that matters most in a hair-heavy house — more than suction. The brush comparison sets out what each design does.
+ Can the Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S) mop over carpet?
Vacuum-only model. There is no mop. Without a figure you cannot check it against your carpet, which is why we rank models that publish one above models that do not. Mop lift compared.
+ Who should skip the Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)?
You want to compare it against anything. Shark publishes no suction figure, no climb height and no runtime for it.
#ad how we are funded · price as of October 17, 2026