Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Guides / guide

Are robot vacuums banned in the US?

No - not the one you own, and not the ones currently on the shelf. What changed is narrower and stranger than the headlines suggest, and the part that matters to a buyer is the part nobody publishes.

By Scooter M.Published
A quiet room with bare floorboards and afternoon light

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

No. On 2026-07-28 the FCC added foreign-produced advanced robotic devices to its Covered List, which blocks NEW models from receiving the authorization needed to be imported, marketed or sold. The FCC states plainly that this does not affect devices already purchased, or models it previously approved.

This page exists because the search results for it are a mess. The rule is real, the headlines are mostly wrong about who it touches, and the one question a buyer actually needs answered - does this apply to the robot I am about to buy - turns on a fact that not one manufacturer on this site publishes.

What the FCC actually did

On 2026-07-28 the Federal Communications Commission updated its Covered List, the register kept under the Secure Networks Act, to add two new categories produced in foreign adversary countries: advanced robotic devices, and connected power inverters.

The FCC says the move followed a determination by a White House-convened Executive Branch interagency body with national security expertise, which found that these foreign-made products "pose unacceptable risks to the national security of the United States or the safety and security of United States persons." The practical effect is on equipment authorization: new foreign-produced devices in those categories are generally barred from receiving the FCC authorization required to be imported, marketed or sold here.

There is also a route back in. The FCC says producers are encouraged to apply for Conditional Approval, and that producers who receive it from the relevant department - on a finding that the devices "do not pose such unacceptable risks" - can continue to receive equipment authorizations. So this is a gate with a key, not a wall.

Does it actually cover robot vacuums? Read this part carefully

Here is where we have to be honest about the limit of what is established, because this is the single most misreported detail in the coverage.

The FCC's own published fact sheet describes the new category as "mobile robots, such as humanoids and quadrupeds." It gives those two examples. It does not name robot vacuums, floor cleaners or lawnmowers, and the summary we were able to read states no weight threshold and no sensing or connectivity test.

News reporting on the determination describes a broader technical scope than that summary does. NBC's reporting states the rule reaches devices that can "move, navigate or avoid obstacles" on their own, that operate through human control or by responding to sensor data, that weigh "more than 4.4 pounds combined" counting the docking station, and that meet certain sensor or network-connectivity specifications. On that reading, it notes, most robot vacuums qualify - they navigate themselves, they join your Wi-Fi, they map your home, and with a dock most of them clear 4.4 pounds comfortably.

What is established, and what is reported
ClaimSourceStatus
Covered List updated 2026-07-28 to add foreign-produced advanced robotic devicesFCC fact sheetEstablished
New foreign-produced devices in scope cannot get FCC authorization to be imported, marketed or soldFCC fact sheetEstablished
Previously acquired devices and previously approved models are unaffectedFCC fact sheet, quoted aboveEstablished
Conditional Approval route exists for producersFCC fact sheetEstablished
Category described as "mobile robots, such as humanoids and quadrupeds"FCC fact sheetEstablished
Scope reaches self-navigating devices over 4.4lb with a dock, i.e. most robot vacuumsNews reportingReported, not in the summary we read
Which specific models will or will not be authorized in future-Nobody knows. We will not guess.

We could not retrieve the FCC's detailed FAQ or the underlying national security determination directly - both returned an access error to us. Rather than quote a document we did not read, we have marked the technical scope as reported. If you need certainty for a specific model, the FCC's Covered List pages are the place to check.

What this is not

A separate thing is often folded into the same story. In March 2026 Senators Tom Cotton and Chuck Schumer introduced the American Security Robotics Act, which the announcement describes as a bill to "Ban federal government from procuring and operating unmanned ground vehicle systems manufactured by foreign entities of concern, including humanoid robots and autonomous patrol technology."

Read that scope again: it is about what the federal government buys and operates. It is not a consumer ban, and the announcement does not mention robot vacuums at all. If you have seen the phrase "robot vacuums banned" attached to this bill, that is the coverage, not the bill.

So is any robot vacuum made in the USA?

This is the question the rule pushes people toward, because the Covered List turns on where a device is produced. And it runs straight into the same wall everything else on this site runs into: the manufacturers do not publish the answer.

Company home country, and what each maker publishes about where its robots are built
BrandCompany headquartered inManufacturing location on the product page
iRobotUnited States (Bedford, Massachusetts)Not published
SharkUnited States (Needham, Massachusetts)Not published
RoborockChina (Beijing)Not published
DreameChina (Suzhou)Not published
eufyChina (Shenzhen)Not published
ECOVACSChina (Suzhou)Not published

Headquarters are from each company's own corporate pages. The right-hand column is our own finding across every product page and listing this site compiles from: not one of them states a country of manufacture. Retrieved 2026-09-21.

An American company is not the same thing as an American-made robot, and this distinction is the whole point. Two of the six brands here are headquartered in Massachusetts. That tells you where the engineering and the corporate filings live. It does not tell you where the machine was assembled, and since the Covered List is written around production rather than around corporate address, the badge on the lid does not answer the question people are buying it to answer.

What a buyer should actually do about it

  1. Nothing urgent. Your robot keeps working and keeps receiving the service it always did. The FCC was explicit that previously acquired devices are untouched.
  2. Buy on the specification, exactly as before. Nothing in this rule makes a well-documented robot worse or a badly-documented one better. The threshold table, the suction chart and the mop lift table are still how you separate these machines.
  3. If the data question is what actually worries you, read the data page. The Covered List is a national security instrument, not a privacy tool, and it does not change what any robot collects. What robot vacuums collect about your house covers what is known, what is not, and which navigation types sidestep the question.
  4. Check that a model is genuinely on sale before you fall in love with it. That is not new advice and it is not really about this rule - listings go dead for ordinary commercial reasons all the time. Every price on this site renders live and disappears rather than going stale, which is the fastest availability check we can give you.
  5. Do not pay a premium for a rumor. If you see a listing marked up because a model is supposedly about to become unobtainable, that is a claim about the future that the seller cannot support any better than we can.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Quote the regulator, not the coverage. Every claim about what the FCC did is taken from the FCC's own published fact sheet and quoted. Where a detail comes from news reporting instead, we say so in the sentence.
  • Separate what is established from what is inferred. The FCC's summary describes the covered category in general terms. Whether a specific household robot falls inside it is a question the published summary does not answer, and we do not pretend otherwise.
  • Do not predict. We have no idea which models will or will not be authorized in future, and anyone who tells you they do is guessing. This page describes the rule as published and stops.
  • Picks are ranked on what they publish, exactly as everywhere else on this site, and every one of them was confirmed on sale and priced by our live feed before it was listed here.
  • No testing, no political argument. We compile published specifications and published rules. See how we pick.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Roborock Q7 M5+
Roborock Q7 M5+The Q7 M5's LiDAR and anti-tangle hardware, plus the self-emptying dock the plain M5 does not come with — and a stated bag capacity to go with it.
The cheapest self-emptying dock with real mapping10,000 Pa
2
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure30,000 Pa
3
eufy Omni C28
eufy Omni C28A rinsing roller mop and a five-function dock at mid-range price — the mechanism the expensive machines charge a lot more for.
A self-washing roller mop under flagship money15,000 Pa
4
Dreame X40 Ultra
Dreame X40 UltraThe mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.
Removable mop pads12,000 Pa

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Q7 M5+
Top pick

Roborock Q7 M5+

The cheapest self-emptying dock with real mapping

The Q7 M5's LiDAR and anti-tangle hardware, plus the self-emptying dock the plain M5 does not come with — and a stated bag capacity to go with it.

Published specifications

Max climb height
20mm (2cm)Roborock's wording is "2cm climbing ability", with no condition attached.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — climbing ability (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush with an anti-tangle side brushSource: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
Dock
Auto-empty dock with a 2.7L dust bag, stated at up to 7 weeksRoborock qualifies the interval: "Based on Roborock internal testing. Actual results may vary depending on usage conditions." The Amazon listing title says 7 to 9 weeks.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — auto-empty dock (retrieved 2026-09-17)

What it does well

  • Self-emptying dock with a stated 2.7L dust bag
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush and an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • 360-degree LiDAR navigation at entry-level money

What it does not

  • Two different intervals for one dock: Roborock says up to 7 weeks based on internal testing, the Amazon listing says 7 to 9 weeks
  • A 20mm climb figure, which is the low end of what makers publish
  • No published mop-lift height or runtime

Who it is for

A shedding household on a budget that wants to stop emptying a bin by hand.

Skip it if

You want the mop washed for you. Roborock describes this dock as auto-empty, not mop-washing, so the pad is still yours to rinse.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Pick 2

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

eufy Omni C28
Pick 3

eufy Omni C28

A self-washing roller mop under flagship money

A rinsing roller mop and a five-function dock at mid-range price — the mechanism the expensive machines charge a lot more for.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated. The sister X10 Pro Omni publishes 21mm, so the silence here is a choice rather than a house style.
Mop lift
Not publishedeufy does not state whether the HydroJet roller lifts clear of carpet, which is the figure that decides whether it wets a rug.
Dock
Five-function Omni station: self-cleaning mop, auto hot-air drying, auto dust emptying, auto tank refilling and auto wastewater collectionSource: eufy Omni C28 product page — Omni station (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • HydroJet roller rinses itself during the run instead of only at the dock
  • A stated 15,000 Pa, which is a real figure rather than a multiple
  • Five-function station: mop washing, hot-air drying, dust emptying, tank refill and wastewater collection

What it does not

  • No published threshold height and no published mop-lift height
  • No published runtime, bin capacity or body height either
  • The roller is a consumable and eufy does not state a replacement interval

Who it is for

Hard floors that get genuinely dirty, on a budget that will not reach a flagship omni station.

Skip it if

Your home has thresholds or deep carpet. eufy publishes no climb height and no mop-lift height for this model, so you cannot check either before you buy.

Dreame X40 Ultra
Pick 4

Dreame X40 Ultra

Removable mop pads

The mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.

Published specifications

Max climb height
22mm (0.87in)Stated by Dreame in its own model comparison, not on the product listing.Source: Dreame model comparison — L40 Ultra Gen 2 vs L40s Ultra, obstacle climbing height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Removable, plus a stated 10.5mm raiseDreame quotes the height difference before and after mop lifting as 10.5mm; the pads can also be dropped at the dock entirely.Source: Dreame model comparison — mop lifting height difference (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with 158F mop and washboard self-cleaning, auto refillSource: Dreame X40 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Mops detach at the dock instead of riding along raised
  • Stated 198 minutes of runtime
  • 12,000 Pa stated peak suction

What it does not

  • 22mm climb is mid-pack and well below the L40s and X50
  • Large dock footprint for the mop-washing hardware

Who it is for

Mixed carpet and hard floor where you want the mop gone, not raised.

Skip it if

Your thresholds are tall. Dreame's own comparison puts this generation's obstacle climbing at 22mm.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 (RV2610WA)

Its Matrix Clean grid pattern is a real idea and the bagless base is stated at 60 days. It is the skip on this page for a reason specific to this page: it is the oldest machine we cover, and when we last checked prices we could not confirm a current new-condition listing for it. On a page about what is and is not still available, a model we cannot confirm is on sale is not one we are going to point you at. That is a statement about our ability to verify it, not about the robot.

Questions people actually ask

+ Are robot vacuums banned in the US?

No. The FCC added foreign-produced advanced robotic devices to its Covered List on 2026-07-28, which blocks new models in scope from getting the authorization needed to be imported, marketed or sold. The FCC states that this does not affect devices consumers already bought, and does not stop retailers selling models it approved previously.

+ Will my robot vacuum stop working?

No. The FCC's fact sheet says the action "does not impact a consumer's continued use of devices they previously acquired." It is a rule about authorizing new equipment for sale, not about switching off equipment that is already in homes.

+ Does the rule definitely cover robot vacuums?

The FCC's published fact sheet describes the category as "mobile robots, such as humanoids and quadrupeds" and does not name robot vacuums. News reporting describes a broader technical scope - self-navigating, wirelessly connected devices over about 4.4 pounds including the dock - which would take in most robot vacuums. We could not read the underlying determination directly, so we report the first as established and the second as reported.

+ Is any robot vacuum made in the USA?

None that we can verify. Two brands we cover, iRobot and Shark, are headquartered in Massachusetts, but a company's home country is not the same as a robot's country of manufacture - and not one manufacturer we cover states a country of manufacture on the page where it sells the machine. We will not label an American brand as American-made on the strength of the badge.

+ Should I buy a robot vacuum now before prices go up?

We have no basis to tell you prices will rise, and neither does anyone else. The rule does not affect models already authorized, so the machines on sale today are on sale for the ordinary reasons. Buy when the machine suits your floors, not because of a deadline nobody has actually published.

+ What is the American Security Robotics Act?

A bill introduced on 2026-03-26 by Senators Tom Cotton and Chuck Schumer. Its announcement describes it as banning the federal government from procuring and operating unmanned ground vehicle systems made by foreign entities of concern. It concerns federal procurement, and the announcement does not mention robot vacuums.

Sources