Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Guides / roundup

The best Shark robot vacuum

Shark is the only brand here that states no suction figure for anything in its range. That sounds like a reason to walk away until you notice the row it fills that nobody else does.

By Scooter M.Published
A minimalist hallway with wall art and natural light

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

The Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 is the pick: it has the longest stated self-empty interval in the range at 60 days, a bagless HEPA base, 360-degree LiDAR with grid cleaning, and it mops - and it is the cheapest Shark we cover. The PowerDetect 2-in-1 is the upgrade if you want the dock to refill and wash as well.

Ranking Shark robots is a strange exercise, and it is worth saying why before the picks. On every other brand page on this site we start with published figures: suction in pascals, climb height in millimeters, mop lift in millimeters. For Shark, all three of those columns are empty. Not low - empty. Across the four machines we cover, Shark publishes no suction figure in any unit, no climb height and no mop lift.

So we had a choice: refuse to rank them, or find the row Shark is actually willing to commit to. There is one, and it turns out to be the row most owners care about day to day.

The row Shark fills that most rivals do not

Stated dock behavior, every Shark we cover

4 of 4 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelDockCondition and source
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1SharkHEPA bagless self-empty base, stated at 60 daysSource: Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNeverTouch Pro base — self-empty at a stated 60 days, refill, pad wash and drySource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkBagless self-empty base, stated at 30 days, with HEPA filtrationShark states the base holds "30 days of dirt and debris" and that its HEPA filtration "captures and traps 99.97% of dust and allergens".Source: Shark PowerDetect AV2820S product page — base (retrieved 2026-09-21)
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)SharkBagless self-empty base, stated at 30 days, with true HEPA filtrationShark states the base holds "up to 30 days of dirt and debris" and that its true HEPA filtration "captures and traps 99.97% of dust and allergens" down to 0.3 microns.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — self-empty base (retrieved 2026-10-03)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Four machines, four stated intervals. Compare that with Roborock, which states an interval on two of the seven models it sells here, or with Dreame, which mostly describes its docks without attaching a number of days to them. If what you want from a robot vacuum is to not think about it for a month or two at a time, Shark tells you exactly what it is promising and the others largely do not.

The intervals split cleanly into two groups. The Matrix Plus and the PowerDetect 2-in-1 both state 60 days. The AI Ultra and the PowerDetect Self-Empty both state 30. Every one of those bases is bagless, which is the other half of the story: 30 days on a bagless base costs you nothing but a trip to the bin, while a 60-day bagged base somewhere else costs you a bag every two months.

What the grid pattern actually does

Matrix Clean is the one piece of Shark engineering we can describe without resorting to adjectives, because it is a behavior rather than a figure. Instead of covering a room once in parallel rows, the robot crosses the same area a second time at right angles to the first pass.

That is a real answer to the most common complaint about robot vacuums - the single pass that misses a patch - and you can verify it yourself by watching one run. It is also, usefully, a claim Shark cannot quietly inflate: the robot either drives the grid or it does not. Three of the four machines here use it.

Navigation hardware named, across the Shark range

3 of 4 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelNavigation systemCondition and source
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1Shark360-degree LiDAR mapping with Matrix Clean grid patternSource: Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1 navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)Shark360-degree LiDAR with a 3D sensorSource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 navigation — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedNo navigation or mapping system is named on the product page.
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)SharkAI Laser Navigation with Matrix Clean grid cleaningShark describes Matrix Clean as cleaning in a grid, taking multiple passes over an area rather than a single pass.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-10-03)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Three of four name the hardware. The exception is the PowerDetect Self-Empty, which names no navigation system at all - at the same price as the PowerDetect 2-in-1, which names LiDAR and a 3D sensor. That is the single clearest internal inconsistency in Shark's range and it is why that machine is the skip below.

What you are giving up by buying Shark at all

We are not going to pretend the missing columns do not matter. They do, and they matter most in one specific situation.

  • Thresholds. No Shark publishes a climb height. If your house has a raised sill between rooms, buying a Shark is a gamble in a way that buying a Dreame is not - Dreame states a figure for four of the five machines it sells. Our threshold table shows who publishes what.
  • Carpet, if you want to compare. Without a suction figure you cannot put a Shark next to a Roborock and reason about it. You can only try it. See the suction chart for the whole field.
  • Mop lift. Two of these machines mop, and Shark states no lift height for either. On a house with rugs that is a real unknown - mop lift height compared shows which makers do publish one.
  • Body height. Not published on any of them, so whether one fits under your couch is something you find out after it arrives.

What you get in exchange is a well-described dock, a self-cleaning brushroll on every model, grid cleaning on most of them, and prices that have come down a long way. For a house with flat floors and no awkward sills, that is a reasonable trade. For a house with a 30mm step between the kitchen and the hall, it is not, and no amount of brand loyalty changes that.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Rank on the dock, because it is the only row Shark fills completely. Every Shark we cover states how long its base runs before you touch it. That is the specification Shark is willing to be held to, so it is the one we rank on.
  • Count a mop as capability, not as a tick-box. A machine that vacuums and mops for the same money as one that only vacuums is doing more for the same outlay, and we rank it accordingly.
  • Credit named navigation hardware. "360-degree LiDAR with Matrix Clean grid" describes something you can watch happen on your floor. An unnamed system does not.
  • Do not rank on suction, because there is nothing to rank. Shark publishes no Pascal figure, no air watts and no air flow for any model here. We will not substitute a reviewer's estimate or imply a number exists.
  • No testing claims. We have never handled a Shark, or any other machine on this site. See how we pick.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1
Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1LiDAR mapping, HEPA filtration and a self-cleaning brushroll at a price well under the flagship docks.
A cheaper self-emptying LiDAR robotNot stated as a figure
2
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)Shark markets NeverStuck technology specifically at the getting-stuck problem, and then publishes no climb height to back it up.
A dock that also washes and dries the padNot stated as a figure
3
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)Shark's grid-pattern cleaning and a HEPA self-empty base at the cheapest point Shark offers them, with the usual Shark silence on anything measurable.
Matrix grid cleaning at the bottom of Shark's rangeNot published

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1
Top pick

Shark Matrix Plus 2-in-1

A cheaper self-emptying LiDAR robot

LiDAR mapping, HEPA filtration and a self-cleaning brushroll at a price well under the flagship docks.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.

What it does well

  • HEPA filtration in the self-empty base
  • Self-cleaning brushroll aimed at pet hair
  • 360-degree LiDAR mapping at mid-range money

What it does not

  • No published suction figure, climb height or mop-lift height
  • Sonic mopping is a vibrating pad, not a washing system

Who it is for

Allergy households on a budget that will not stretch to a mop-washing station.

Skip it if

You want the mop pad washed for you — this one you rinse yourself.

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)
Pick 2

Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)

A dock that also washes and dries the pad

Shark markets NeverStuck technology specifically at the getting-stuck problem, and then publishes no climb height to back it up.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not stated as a figureShark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible.Source: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
Not publishedShark markets "NeverStuck" technology on this model but publishes no threshold or obstacle climbing height for it.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Dock
NeverTouch Pro base — self-empty at a stated 60 days, refill, pad wash and drySource: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 base — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR plus a 3D sensor
  • Base self-empties for a stated 60 days, refills, and washes and dries the pad
  • Widely available US service and parts

What it does not

  • NeverStuck is a marketing name, not a measurement — there is no published height behind it
  • No published Pa rating, so it cannot be compared numerically on suction

Who it is for

Buyers who want the full self-empty, refill and pad-wash routine from a US-support brand.

Skip it if

You are shopping on published specifications. Shark states no suction figure, no climb height and no mop-lift height for this model.

Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)
Pick 3

Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)

Matrix grid cleaning at the bottom of Shark's range

Shark's grid-pattern cleaning and a HEPA self-empty base at the cheapest point Shark offers them, with the usual Shark silence on anything measurable.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page, in pascals or any other unit.
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated. No Shark model we cover publishes a climb height.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only model. There is no mop.
Main brush
Self-cleaning brushrollShark names it and does not describe the construction.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — brushroll (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Navigation
AI Laser Navigation with Matrix Clean grid cleaningShark describes Matrix Clean as cleaning in a grid, taking multiple passes over an area rather than a single pass.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
Dustbin
0.1 qt (about 95ml) on boardShark states the onboard bin in quarts rather than liters, which is unusual in this category and makes cross-brand comparison awkward.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — capacity (retrieved 2026-10-03)
Dock
Bagless self-empty base, stated at 30 days, with true HEPA filtrationShark states the base holds "up to 30 days of dirt and debris" and that its true HEPA filtration "captures and traps 99.97% of dust and allergens" down to 0.3 microns.Source: Shark AI Ultra AV2501S product page — self-empty base (retrieved 2026-10-03)

What it does well

  • Matrix Clean grid pattern crosses the same area twice at right angles rather than once
  • AI Laser Navigation, so it maps rather than bumps
  • Bagless HEPA base stated at 30 days, with a 99.97 percent filtration claim

What it does not

  • No published suction figure, climb height or runtime
  • Vacuum only — there is no mop
  • 30 days is the shortest stated self-empty interval of any Shark we cover

Who it is for

Someone who wants a mapped, self-emptying vacuum and does not care about mopping.

Skip it if

You want to compare it against anything. Shark publishes no suction figure, no climb height and no runtime for it.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)

It is a competent vacuum with a bagless HEPA base, and on another page we recommend it specifically to people who do not want a mop. It is the skip here for one blunt reason: when we checked prices it was listed at the same price as the PowerDetect 2-in-1, which is the same machine with a mop and a dock that also washes the pad and refills the tank. Paying identical money for the version that does less is hard to justify unless you actively want the mop hardware gone. If the two prices separate again, this moves back up. Check both on the buttons above before deciding.

Which Shark for which house

  • Most houses, least money - the Matrix Plus 2-in-1. It is the cheapest Shark we cover and it is also the one with the longest stated interval and a mop. That combination does not usually happen at the bottom of a range.
  • You want the dock to do everything - the PowerDetect 2-in-1. Its NeverTouch Pro base empties, refills the tank and washes the pad, which is the full station treatment and the reason for the price step.
  • You do not want a mop - the AI Ultra. Vacuum only, grid cleaning, 30-day bagless base, and the cheapest route into Shark's mapping. More vacuum-only options are on robot vacuums that do not mop.
  • You are cross-shopping against Roomba - read Shark vs Roomba first. Neither brand publishes a suction figure, which makes that a comparison about docks and brushes rather than power.
  • You want to check specifications before spending - buy a different brand, honestly. The best Roborock and the best Dreame both let you compare before you commit, and Roborock vs Shark sets the disclosure gap out in full.

Questions people actually ask

+ Which Shark robot vacuum is best?

The Matrix Plus 2-in-1, on the criteria this page ranks by: it states the longest self-empty interval in the range at 60 days, it has a bagless HEPA base and named LiDAR navigation, it mops, and it is the cheapest Shark we cover. The PowerDetect 2-in-1 is the step up if you want the base to refill the tank and wash the pad too.

+ How much suction does a Shark robot vacuum have?

Shark does not say, for any model we cover. There is no Pascal figure, no air-watt figure and no airflow figure on any of the four product pages. We mark that as not published rather than estimating, and it is the main reason this page ranks on the dock instead.

+ Are Shark robot vacuums bagless?

Every self-emptying Shark base we cover is bagless, which means no consumable bags to buy. The trade-off is that emptying it by hand puts fine dust back into the air, which matters in a household with allergies - a sealed bagged dock is the better choice there.

+ Is the Shark Matrix Plus or the PowerDetect better?

Both state a 60-day interval and both mop. The PowerDetect's NeverTouch Pro base adds tank refilling and pad washing, which the Matrix Plus base does not do, and it names a 3D sensor alongside the LiDAR. The Matrix Plus costs meaningfully less. If you would actually use a self-washing pad, the PowerDetect earns the gap; if the mop is occasional, it does not.

+ Do Shark robot vacuums climb thresholds?

Shark publishes no climb height for any model, so we cannot tell you. It markets NeverStuck technology across the range without putting a millimeter figure behind it. If you have a sill you have measured, buy from a maker that states a number - our threshold table lists every published figure we have found.