Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Guides / roundup

The best Dreame robot vacuum

Most makers treat climb height as optional. Dreame publishes it across almost its whole range, and that single habit makes it the easiest brand here to shop with a tape measure in your hand.

By Scooter M.Published
A sunlit empty room with hardwood floors and large windows

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

The Dreame X50 Ultra is the pick: it publishes more of its specification than any other machine on this site, and it states both a 60mm climb over a series of steps and the honest 42mm figure for a single step. The Aqua10 Ultra Roller publishes 80mm, the highest climb figure we have recorded anywhere.

There is one habit that separates Dreame from every other brand on this site, and it is not suction. It is that Dreame tells you how high its robots climb. Four of the five machines it currently sells here publish a threshold figure. Roborock manages two out of seven. iRobot and Shark publish none at all, for any model, ever.

That matters more than it sounds, because climb height is the specification that decides whether a robot reaches a room at all. A machine that cannot get over the strip between your kitchen and your hall does not clean your hall, and no amount of suction changes that. It is the figure this entire site was built around.

The climb figures, and what the conditions mean

Published climb height, every Dreame currently sold here

4 of 5 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated max climb heightCondition and source
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller CompleteDreame80mm (8cm) over a stepDreame attributes this to ProLeap, described as retracting "feet" that climb over obstacles up to 8cm high. This is the highest climb figure published by any maker on this site — worth measuring your own step before trusting it.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — ProLeap climbing (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Dreame X50 UltraDreame60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreame40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreame22mm (0.87in)Stated by Dreame in its own model comparison, not on the product listing.Source: Dreame model comparison — L40 Ultra Gen 2 vs L40s Ultra, obstacle climbing height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L10s UltraDreameNot publishedNot stated on the listing.

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Read the conditions, not just the numbers. The X50 Ultra's 60mm applies to a series of shallow steps with gaps between them; for a single vertical step - which is what a door sill is - Dreame states 42mm in the same material. We rate that disclosure highly. A company that publishes the smaller, less flattering figure alongside the headline one is a company telling you something useful rather than selling you something.

The Aqua10 Ultra Roller's 80mm is the largest figure we have recorded from any maker. Dreame attributes it to ProLeap, a set of retracting feet that lift the chassis rather than a wheel that rolls over an obstacle - a genuinely different approach. Measure your own step before trusting it: a figure from a test rig and a figure from your kitchen doorway are not the same thing.

Where Dreame goes quiet

Publishing climb heights does not mean publishing everything, and Dreame has two consistent blind spots.

Rows published across Dreame's five currently-purchasable models
SpecificationDreame publishes it on
Suction in pascals5 of 5
Climb / threshold height4 of 5
Dock behavior described5 of 5
Mop lift or carpet seal3 of 5
Main brush construction3 of 5
Runtime2 of 5
Navigation system named2 of 5
Dustbin capacity1 of 5
Body height0 of 5

Counted across the five Dreame models we can currently confirm on sale, from the figures on their own product pages. Every underlying figure is sourced on that model's spec sheet.

Body height is the blank that will actually cost you. Not one Dreame states how tall the robot is, which means you cannot tell whether any of them fits under your couch without buying one first. Roborock publishes a figure for three of its seven and two of those are 80mm, which is the flattest anyone states. If low furniture is the problem you are solving, that is a reason to shop elsewhere - see which robots fit under furniture.

The navigation row is the other one. Dreame names a system on two of five machines and on the rest says only "AI navigation" without stating what the sensing hardware is. Roborock names its system on six of seven. If you care whether there is a camera in the robot, that gap matters - what robot vacuums collect covers why.

Suction, ranked the one way it is fair to rank it

Stated suction, every Dreame currently sold here

5 of 5 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

All five figures come from Dreame's own method, so they rank honestly against each other and much less honestly against another brand - the argument is on the suction chart. The spread is the striking part: the top figure is nearly six times the bottom one, inside a single range, which tells you the L10s Ultra is a much older machine rather than simply a cheaper one.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Rank on how much of the spec sheet is filled, the same way we rank the best Roborock. Every model here comes from one company, so a blank row is a decision rather than a house style.
  • Weigh millimeters above pascals. Climb height and mop lift are physical dimensions you can check against your own floor. A Pa figure is Dreame's own measurement on Dreame's own rig and ranks within this page only.
  • Credit stated conditions. Dreame publishes 60mm for the X50 Ultra and then says, in its own material, that a single vertical step is 42mm. Publishing the smaller honest number next to the bigger marketing one is worth real credit.
  • Mark down inconsistency. Where Dreame describes the same machine differently on different regional sites, we cite only the page matching the variant we link to and leave the contested rows blank.
  • No testing claims. We have never handled any of these. See how we pick.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Dreame X50 Ultra
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figure20,000 Pa
2
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller CompleteA roller mop bolted to the most aggressive climb figure any maker here publishes — and a spec sheet Dreame writes differently depending on which country's site you read.
The highest published climb on this site30,000 Pa
3
Dreame X40 Ultra
Dreame X40 UltraThe mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.
Removable mop pads12,000 Pa
4
Dreame L40s Ultra
Dreame L40s UltraStates 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.
A published 40mm climb without flagship money19,000 Pa

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Dreame X50 Ultra
Top pick

Dreame X50 Ultra

The tallest published climb figure

The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.

Published specifications

Stated suction
20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
HyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
VersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dustbin
395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
  • 20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
  • Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode

What it does not

  • The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
  • 10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock

Who it is for

Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.

Skip it if

You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.

Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete
Pick 2

Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete

The highest published climb on this site

A roller mop bolted to the most aggressive climb figure any maker here publishes — and a spec sheet Dreame writes differently depending on which country's site you read.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaDreame brands this figure Vormax. As with every Pa number, it is the maker's own measurement on its own rig.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Max climb height
80mm (8cm) over a stepDreame attributes this to ProLeap, described as retracting "feet" that climb over obstacles up to 8cm high. This is the highest climb figure published by any maker on this site — worth measuring your own step before trusting it.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — ProLeap climbing (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Mop lift
14mm, by sealing the roller rather than lifting a padDreame states that AutoSeal "automatically closes and raises 14 mm when moving onto the carpet". It is a different mechanism from a lifted pad: the roller housing shuts so the wet roller cannot touch the carpet at all.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — AutoSeal (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Main brush
Not publishedThe page for this variant describes the mop roller in detail and never describes the main vacuum brush. Dreame's other regional pages name a brush for this model; because they disagree with each other on component names, we do not carry a figure across.
Navigation
OmniSight 2.0, a retracting LDS turretDreame's UAE page calls the same retracting-laser hardware VersaLift LDS. The substance both pages agree on is that the laser turret retracts, which is what lets a LiDAR robot get under low furniture.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — OmniSight 2.0 (retrieved 2026-09-26)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the page for this variant.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the page for this variant.
Dock
Auto-empty stated up to 100 days, with 100C (212F) hot-water roller washing and hot-air dryingThe wash temperature is the notable figure: 100C is boiling point, and it is the highest wash temperature any maker on this site states.Source: Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller Complete product page — dock (retrieved 2026-09-26)

What it does well

  • Publishes an 8cm climb figure, the highest on this site, with the step type stated
  • Roller mop rinsed continuously with fresh water rather than recycling dirty water
  • Dock washes the roller with boiling-temperature water and dries it with hot air

What it does not

  • Dreame names the same hardware differently on different regional sites, so the spec sheet is hard to pin down
  • No published runtime, dustbin capacity or body height on the page for this variant
  • The main vacuum brush is not described at all on the page for this variant

Who it is for

A house with steps and sills that have defeated every robot you have tried, where the floors are mostly hard.

Skip it if

You want to check the spec sheet carefully before buying. Dreame's regional pages disagree with each other about what this machine's parts are called.

Dreame X40 Ultra
Pick 3

Dreame X40 Ultra

Removable mop pads

The mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.

Published specifications

Max climb height
22mm (0.87in)Stated by Dreame in its own model comparison, not on the product listing.Source: Dreame model comparison — L40 Ultra Gen 2 vs L40s Ultra, obstacle climbing height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Removable, plus a stated 10.5mm raiseDreame quotes the height difference before and after mop lifting as 10.5mm; the pads can also be dropped at the dock entirely.Source: Dreame model comparison — mop lifting height difference (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with 158F mop and washboard self-cleaning, auto refillSource: Dreame X40 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Mops detach at the dock instead of riding along raised
  • Stated 198 minutes of runtime
  • 12,000 Pa stated peak suction

What it does not

  • 22mm climb is mid-pack and well below the L40s and X50
  • Large dock footprint for the mop-washing hardware

Who it is for

Mixed carpet and hard floor where you want the mop gone, not raised.

Skip it if

Your thresholds are tall. Dreame's own comparison puts this generation's obstacle climbing at 22mm.

Dreame L40s Ultra
Pick 4

Dreame L40s Ultra

A published 40mm climb without flagship money

States 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Not publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Navigation
Not named on the listingThe listing describes app and voice control but does not name the mapping system.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 40mm (1.57in) obstacle clearing is stated on the listing, not buried
  • DuoBrush described as fully detangling
  • Extending mop and side brush for edges

What it does not

  • No mop-lift height published
  • 19,000 Pa is a peak figure and tells you nothing about sustained airflow

Who it is for

A house with real sills and a shedding pet, on a mid-range budget.

Skip it if

You want the published mop-lift height — Dreame does not state one for this model on the listing.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Dreame L10s Ultra

It has a complete self-cleaning dock - mop washing, drying, self-emptying and refilling - which is a lot of station for the lowest price Dreame charges here. It is the skip because it is the one Dreame that breaks the brand's good habit. It publishes no climb height, no mop lift and no description of its main brush, and its 5,300 Pa is the lowest suction figure of any machine on this entire site by a wide margin. Everything this page praises Dreame for, this model does not do.

Which Dreame for which house

  • A step or a raised sill that has defeated other robots - the Aqua10 Ultra Roller at a published 80mm, or the X50 Ultra at 42mm over a single vertical step. Measure the rise first, then pick.
  • You want the most complete spec sheet money can buy here - the X50 Ultra. Suction, both climb figures, mop lift, brush, navigation, runtime, onboard bin and dock bag, all published.
  • Mopping is the main job - the Aqua10 Ultra Roller, whose roller rinses continuously rather than pushing one dirty pad around. The whole field for that mechanism is on robot vacuums with a roller mop.
  • Best spec sheet per dollar - the X40 Ultra. A 22mm climb, a removable mop pad, a published runtime and a hot washboard dock, at the mid-range price rather than the flagship one.
  • A big climb figure on a budget - the L40s Ultra at 40mm, which matches Roborock's best published figure from a cheaper machine.
  • Cross-shopping against Roborock - Dreame vs Roborock is the one brand comparison on this site where both sides publish enough to argue about the contents rather than the gaps.

Questions people actually ask

+ Which Dreame robot vacuum is best?

The X50 Ultra on published completeness - it states more of its specification than any other machine on this site, including both of its climb figures with the conditions attached. If your problem is specifically a tall step, the Aqua10 Ultra Roller publishes 80mm, which is the highest figure we have recorded from any maker.

+ Which robot vacuum climbs the highest threshold?

On published figures, the Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller at a stated 80mm (8cm), attributed to retracting ProLeap feet. The Dreame X50 Ultra states 60mm over a series of steps and 42mm over a single vertical step. Both are the makers' own figures under conditions they state, so measure your own sill before relying on them.

+ Is the Dreame X50 Ultra worth it over the X40 Ultra?

The X50 publishes a much bigger climb figure (42mm at a single step against 22mm), a longer runtime, a dustbin capacity and a dock bag size. The X40 publishes a removable mop pad, which fully solves the wet-pad-on-carpet problem rather than managing it, and costs noticeably less. If you have a tall sill, pay the difference. If you do not, the X40 is the better-value sheet.

+ Why is the Dreame L10s Ultra so much cheaper?

Because it is a much older machine, and the spec sheet shows it. Its 5,300 Pa is the lowest suction figure on this entire site, it publishes no climb height and no mop lift, and Dreame does not describe its main brush. What it keeps is a full self-cleaning dock, which is why it still sells. It is the skip on this page.

+ Does Dreame publish how tall its robots are?

No - not for a single one of the five models we can confirm on sale. If you need the robot to fit under a low couch or a kickboard, that is a genuine problem with the brand, and you should shop from the published figures in our under-furniture table instead.