Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Carpet / roundup

Best robot vacuums for carpet

Carpet is where a published suction figure finally means something — and where the makers who publish nothing become impossible to recommend.

By Scooter M.Published
A furnished living room with a large carpet under the seating

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Carpet is the job where suction matters. Look for a published Pa figure, a stated carpet-boost behavior and a brush that agitates pile. The Roborock Qrevo CurvX publishes 22,000 Pa with a 17mm mop lift; the iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet carries the highest listed figure at 30,000 Pa. Shark publishes no suction figure for any model.

On most of this site we argue that suction figures are oversold, and we stand by that. On hard floors, for pet hair, for crumbs under a kitchen table, the fan is not the constraint and a bigger number buys noise rather than cleaning. Carpet is the exception, and it is worth being precise about why: grit that has worked its way down into pile has to be pulled up against the grip of the fibers, and that is airflow work in a way that sweeping hair off tile is not.

What the Pa figure does and does not tell you

A Pascal figure is a peak pressure measured at the inlet, usually in the machine's loudest mode, by a method each manufacturer chooses for itself. There is no shared standard behind it. So it is a rough within-brand ranking and a very rough across-brand one — a 22,000 Pa Roborock is genuinely stronger than a 7,000 Pa Roborock, and is only probably stronger than a 19,000 Pa Dreame.

Published peak suction, by model

8 of 8 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated suctionCondition and source
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetiRobot30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock22,000 PaStated as peak HyperForce suction.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — 22,000Pa HyperForce Suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X50 UltraDreame20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreame19,000 PaSource: Dreame L40s Ultra, "19,000Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Q7 M5Roborock10,000 PaRoborock states this for Max+ mode.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — "10,000 Pa HyperForce Suction" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborock7,000 PaSource: Roborock Qrevo Pro, "7,000 Pa Suction" — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 (AV2800ZE)SharkNot stated as a figureShark publishes no Pa rating for this model, so no numeric suction comparison with the other brands here is possible.Source: Shark PowerDetect 2-in-1 listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba 105 VaciRobotNot stated as a figureiRobot states "70X more power-lifting suction" without saying 70 times what. A multiple with no baseline cannot be compared with anyone's Pa figure, including iRobot's own.Source: iRobot Roomba 105 Vac product page — cleaning system (retrieved 2026-09-13)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Two entries in that table are not numbers at all. Shark publishes no suction figure for the PowerDetect, and iRobot publishes none for the 105 Vac — it states seventy times more power-lifting suction without naming what the baseline is. A multiple with no baseline cannot be compared with anything, including the 30,000 Pa its own Max 715 listing carries. The full cross-brand version of this table, and the list of who publishes nothing, is the suction power chart.

Carpet boost is the more useful claim

More telling than peak suction is whether the robot knows it is on carpet. A machine that runs one power setting everywhere either wastes battery on tile or under-cleans the rug. The makers that state a carpet-detection behavior are describing something you can check on the app's run log after the fact.

The detail of who claims what — and the several who describe it only in marketing copy without naming a mechanism — is in carpet boost compared. It is the single most inconsistently documented feature in this category.

Suction does not work without agitation

A vacuum with enormous suction and a poor brush will leave embedded grit exactly where it is. Pile grips debris mechanically, and something has to break that grip before airflow can carry it away. This is why the brush construction appears on a carpet page at all, when brush design is usually a pet hair argument.

It also cuts the other way. Bristle brushes, the wrong choice for hair, are good at digging into pile — which is why iRobot still fits them at the bottom of its range. For a carpeted home with nothing shedding in it, a bristle machine is a defensible buy. For a carpeted home with a dog, it is not, and that tension is the whole reason this site keeps the two questions on separate pages.

If the robot also mops

Every model in this roundup except the Roomba Max 715 also mops, which on a carpeted floor is a liability rather than a feature unless the mop gets out of the way. The published mop-lift height is the number that decides it, and on wool or a good rug a wet pad is not merely ineffective — it is damaging.

Published mop lift on the mopping models here

2 of 5 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated mop liftCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborock17mmSource: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — "17mm Max. Mop Lifting" (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X50 UltraDreame10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame L40s UltraDreameNot publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Roborock Q7 M5RoborockNot publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Roborock Qrevo ProRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the listing.

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • A published suction figure in Pascals. On carpet this is the one job where the number genuinely correlates with the outcome, because pulling grit up out of pile is airflow work.
  • A stated carpet-detection or boost behavior — the robot recognizing carpet and raising power rather than running one setting across the whole house.
  • Brush construction, because suction alone does not free anything embedded in pile. Agitation does, and the brush is what agitates.
  • A published mop-lift height on any model that mops, since a wet pad crossing carpet undoes the work and, on wool, does damage.
  • Whether the maker publishes these figures at all. Two of the brands we cover publish no suction figure for any model, and they cannot be ranked on this page.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house22,000 Pa
2
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure30,000 Pa
3
Dreame X50 Ultra
Dreame X50 UltraThe only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.
The tallest published climb figure20,000 Pa
4
Dreame L40s Ultra
Dreame L40s UltraStates 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.
A published 40mm climb without flagship money19,000 Pa
5
Roborock Q7 M5
Roborock Q7 M5Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.
Real LiDAR mapping at the low end10,000 Pa

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Flagship pricing — the plain Curv covers the same published thresholds for less

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Pick 2

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

Dreame X50 Ultra
Pick 3

Dreame X50 Ultra

The tallest published climb figure

The only model here that legs itself over a step rather than driving at it, and the only one that publishes the condition attached to its own headline number.

Published specifications

Stated suction
20,000 PaDreame states "up to 20,000Pa" — a peak figure.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — suction (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Max climb height
60mm over a series of steps, 42mm over a single stepDreame's own condition, quoted: "The gap between steps should be greater than 4cm. For a single obstacle crossing and a single vertical step, the highest obstacle crossing height is 4.2cm." The 6cm headline therefore does not describe a single door sill.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — ProLeap step climbing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
10.5mmDreame states the mops raise 10.5mm during vacuuming to keep carpet dry.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — mop lifting (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
HyperStream Detangling DuoBrushDreame supplies two brush options: a bristled rubber brush for hard floors and a TPU rubber brush for carpet.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
VersaLift DToF with 360-degree scanning and 3D structured lightSource: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dustbin
395ml on board, 3.2L dock bagDreame states the dock bag supports 100 days of hands-free emptying.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — capacities (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes the caveat as well as the headline, which is rarer than it should be
  • 20,000 Pa stated peak suction and a 395ml on-board bin
  • Stated 220 minutes of runtime in quiet mode

What it does not

  • The legs add height and mechanical complexity to a machine that lives under furniture
  • 10.5mm mop raise is modest next to the 17mm figures from Roborock

Who it is for

Split-level rooms, a sunken living room, or a doorway sill that has beaten every robot you have owned.

Skip it if

You read the 6cm headline and stopped there. Dreame's own footnote puts a single vertical step at 42mm, and 6cm only applies to a series of steps with more than 4cm between them.

Dreame L40s Ultra
Pick 4

Dreame L40s Ultra

A published 40mm climb without flagship money

States 40mm of obstacle clearing and a fully detangling brush, which covers the two problems that actually send robots back to the shop.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in)The listing states "1.57in (4cm) Obstacle Clearing". As with every stated maximum, it assumes a clean square edge.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra obstacle clearing — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Not publishedNo lift height stated on the listing.
Navigation
Not named on the listingThe listing describes app and voice control but does not name the mapping system.Source: Dreame L40s Ultra features — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • 40mm (1.57in) obstacle clearing is stated on the listing, not buried
  • DuoBrush described as fully detangling
  • Extending mop and side brush for edges

What it does not

  • No mop-lift height published
  • 19,000 Pa is a peak figure and tells you nothing about sustained airflow

Who it is for

A house with real sills and a shedding pet, on a mid-range budget.

Skip it if

You want the published mop-lift height — Dreame does not state one for this model on the listing.

Roborock Q7 M5
Pick 5

Roborock Q7 M5

Real LiDAR mapping at the low end

Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brushRoborock pairs it with an anti-tangle side brush as a Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
360-degree LiDAR with multi-level mappingSource: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR at entry-level money, so it maps rooms instead of guessing
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush
  • Multi-level mapping for a two-story house

What it does not

  • No published climb height and no published mop lift
  • Mopping is three water-flow levels and a pad, not a washing dock

Who it is for

A first mapped robot for a normal house — several rooms, some rugs, a pet.

Skip it if

You want serious mopping. This drags a pad; it does not wash or lift one properly.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Roborock Qrevo Pro

On hard floors it is the bargain of this registry — hot-water pad washing and drying at the lowest price here. On carpet it is the wrong end of the range: 7,000 Pa is the lowest published suction figure of any model we cover, and Roborock publishes no mop-lift height for this trim, so you cannot check whether the wet pad clears your rug either. Both of the things that matter on this page are the two things it is weakest on.

Deep pile is a different question

Everything above assumes ordinary domestic carpet — a low or medium pile, the kind most houses have. Once the pile is deep enough that the robot's wheels sink into it, suction stops being the constraint and traction does. A machine that cannot climb onto the rug, or that beaches on it, does not get to use its 22,000 Pa at all.

If that is your situation, go to best robot vacuums for high pile carpet, which ranks on climb and clearance instead. And if the carpet in question is a rug on a hard floor rather than fitted carpet, area rugs is the page you want — the failure there is usually the fringe, not the pile.

Questions people actually ask

+ What is the best robot vacuum for carpet?

Of the models that publish a suction figure, the Roborock Qrevo CurvX is the strongest all-round answer: 22,000 Pa, an anti-tangle brush described in detail, and the highest published mop lift here at 17mm so the wet pad clears a low-pile rug. The iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet carries a higher listed figure at 30,000 Pa and does not mop at all, which on a fully carpeted home is an advantage rather than a loss.

+ How much suction do I need for carpet?

There is no honest threshold number, because no two makers measure Pa the same way. Within a single brand's range, more is genuinely more on carpet. Across brands, treat a published figure mainly as evidence that the maker states numbers at all — and note that two brands we cover publish no suction figure for any model.

+ Is 11,000 Pa good for carpet?

It is mid-range by current published figures — comfortably above the 7,000 to 8,000 Pa entry models and well below the 20,000 Pa-plus flagships. On ordinary low-pile carpet that is enough. On deep pile, the deciding factor is more likely to be whether the machine can climb onto the rug at all than whether the fan is strong enough.

+ Will a robot vacuum wet my carpet when it mops?

Only if the mop-lift height is less than your pile depth, which is why the figure matters. 17mm clears a low-pile rug, 10.5mm clears little more than a flat mat, and several models publish no figure at all. Pads that detach entirely, as on the Dreame X40 Ultra, remove the risk rather than reducing it.

+ Do bristle brushes work better on carpet than rubber?

For digging grit out of pile, bristles have a real advantage, which is why they have not disappeared from the bottom of iRobot's range. The trade-off is that they are the worst construction for hair. If your carpeted house also has a shedding animal in it, take the rubber or dual-roller design and accept slightly less agitation.

+ Why do some makers not publish a suction figure at all?

They are not obliged to, and a figure invites comparison. Shark publishes none for the models we cover, and iRobot publishes relative multiples for most of its range rather than Pascals. We do not substitute an estimate or a reviewer's measurement in the gap, so those models are shown as not published and cannot be ranked on this page.