Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Navigation / roundup

Robot vacuums for multi-floor homes

Two stories means two maps, one dock, and a machine you have to carry. Some of that is solved in software and some of it is not.

By Scooter M.Published
A wooden staircase inside a house, seen from the hallway below

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

A multi-floor home needs multi-level mapping: several saved maps and the ability to recognize which floor the robot has been put on. Most mapped models support it and cheap ones do not. The parts that are not solved are the dock, the stairs, and carrying the machine.

The software half of this problem is largely handled. The physical half is not, and it is worth being clear about which is which before you buy.

What multi-level mapping does

The robot stores a separate map per floor, and on starting a run it works out which one it is on by comparing what it sees against each saved map. When it matches, your no-go zones, room names and cleaning preferences for that floor all apply. Roborock states multi-level mapping down to the Q7 M5, which is at the cheaper end of its mapped range.

It is reliable when the floors are meaningfully different. Two floors with near-identical layouts — common in small terraced houses — can confuse the matching, and the robot will occasionally start cleaning with the wrong map loaded. When that happens the fix is usually to start the run manually from a distinctive room rather than the landing.

The three things software does not solve

  1. The dock lives on one floor. The other floor has no dock, so the robot cannot self-empty, cannot refill, and cannot return to charge mid-run. Everything upstairs happens on one battery, and if it runs out it stops where it stopped.
  2. No robot climbs stairs. Not one, at any price. The staircase itself is always a separate machine.
  3. You are the transport. Weight and handle design matter more than the spec sheet suggests once you are carrying a machine up a flight of stairs several times a week.

Runtime matters more upstairs

On the floor without a dock, coverage on a single charge is the whole constraint. Published runtimes are quoted in the quietest mode on the easiest surface, so treat them as a ceiling — and note how few makers publish one at all.

Stated runtime, where the manufacturer publishes one

6 of 16 models publish this figure. Every number below links to the page it came from.

ModelStated runtimeCondition and source
Roborock Qrevo CurvXRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Roborock Saros 10RRoborockNot publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Dreame X50 UltraDreameUp to 220 minutesDreame states this for quiet mode, covering up to 205 square meters on a charge.Source: Dreame X50 Ultra product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dreame X40 UltraDreameUp to 198 minutesSource: Dreame X40 Ultra runtime — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy173 minutes vacuuming, 136 minutes vacuuming and moppingeufy states both figures for standard mode.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+iRobotNot publishedNot stated on the iRobot product page.
Shark PowerDetect Self-Empty (AV2820S)SharkNot publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
Roborock Q7 M5+RoborockNot publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
Dreame Aqua10 Ultra Roller CompleteDreameNot publishedNot stated on the page for this variant.
Narwal Flow 2NarwalNot publishedNarwal publishes a 7,000mAh battery capacity but no runtime in minutes. Capacity without a draw figure does not give you a run time.
Shark AI Ultra Self-Empty (AV2501S)SharkNot publishedNot stated on Shark's product page.
Narwal Freo Z10 TurboNarwalNot publishedNot stated on Narwal's product page.
ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNIECOVACSUp to 196 minutesECOVACS states this for vacuuming on hard floor in standard mode. It is not comparable with the 291 minutes stated for the discontinued X8, which was a silent-mode figure.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X9 PRO OMNI product page — working time (retrieved 2026-10-03)
eufy Omni S2eufyNot publishedNot stated on the US page for this model, which is unusual at this price.
eufy Omni E28eufy125 minutes vacuum and mop, 216 minutes vacuum onlyBoth figures are eufy's standard-mode numbers. Publishing the mopping runtime separately is more disclosure than most makers give.Source: eufy Omni E28 product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-10-17)
eufy Omni C20eufy101 minutes sweeping and mopping in standard modeSource: eufy Omni C20 product page — run time (retrieved 2026-10-17)

Compiled from the manufacturers’ own published material — every row carries the date its figure was read. We have not measured any of these figures ourselves, see how we pick. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

Two robots, or one carried?

If you will be carrying the robot more than twice a week, a second cheaper robot on the upper floor is often the better answer. It removes the carrying, gives the upper floor its own dock, and a capable mapped mid-range model costs a fraction of a flagship. The flagship stays downstairs where the dock and the traffic are, and the best budget robot vacuums covers what to put upstairs. The same arithmetic across a single large floor is on robot vacuums for a large house. And if the floors are joined by a staircase the robot cannot use, no robot vacuum climbs stairs covers what to do instead.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Whether the model stores several maps and recognizes which floor it is on.
  • Weight and handle design, because you will be carrying it.
  • What happens when it cannot find the dock — resume behavior or a dead robot on the landing.
  • Battery and coverage, since an upstairs run has no dock to return to mid-clean.
  • Whether a shared station covers the stairs themselves, which no robot does.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forMax climbPrice
1
Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Roborock Qrevo CurvXThe highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.
Thick carpet and tall sills in one house40mm (1.57in) double-layer
2
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo
ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S ComboShips with a cordless stick vacuum docked alongside the robot, which is the only honest answer to stairs anyone sells.
Stairs and upholstery the robot cannot reachNot published
3
eufy X10 Pro Omni
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.
The most completely published spec sheet21mm (0.83in)

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Qrevo CurvX
Top pick

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

Thick carpet and tall sills in one house

The highest published suction figure here paired with the highest published mop lift, which is the combination a mixed-floor home actually needs.

Published specifications

Max climb height
40mm (1.57in) double-layerRoborock states "1.57 in Max. Double-Layer Threshold Crossing", with the chassis lift engaged.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — threshold crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
DuoDivide main brush with FlexiArm Arc side brushRoborock calls the pair its Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
RetractSense LiDAR with Reactive AI obstacle recognitionRoborock states the turret retracts in tight spaces and that the system recognizes 108 object types.Source: Roborock Qrevo Curv Series page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.
Dustbin
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock series page.

What it does well

  • 17mm mop lift is the highest published figure in this comparison
  • 80mm (3.14in) body clears furniture most flagships cannot
  • Retracting LiDAR turret, so the mast is not the height limit

What it does not

  • 22,000 Pa is a peak figure, not what it sustains across a room
  • Roborock publishes only a double-layer threshold figure for it, not a separate figure for a single vertical sill

Who it is for

Homes with deep carpet in some rooms and hard floors in others, where the mop has to get properly out of the way.

Skip it if

You have no carpet at all. Most of the premium on this model is carpet-specific hardware.

ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo
Pick 2

ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo

Stairs and upholstery the robot cannot reach

Ships with a cordless stick vacuum docked alongside the robot, which is the only honest answer to stairs anyone sells.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedThe listing states auto mop lifting but gives no height.
Dock
All-in-one hub with dual self-emptying for the robot and the stick vacuum, plus hot-water mop washingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT T30S Combo station — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • The stick vacuum shares the same self-emptying station
  • ZeroTangle anti-tangle brush and TruEdge adaptive edge mopping
  • Hot-water mop washing with auto mop lifting

What it does not

  • No published climb height or mop-lift figure
  • The combined station is physically large

Who it is for

Multi-story homes and anyone who keeps buying a robot and then still hauling a handheld up the stairs.

Skip it if

You already own a good stick vacuum. You are paying for a second one you do not need.

eufy X10 Pro Omni
Pick 3

eufy X10 Pro Omni

The most completely published spec sheet

eufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.

Published specifications

Max climb height
21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Auto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle CombSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
173 minutes vacuuming, 136 minutes vacuuming and moppingeufy states both figures for standard mode.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Body height
Needs 130mm (5.12in) of clearance under furnitureeufy publishes this as a minimum height restriction rather than a body height.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — height restrictions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with auto mop washing and drying, 3L self-refilling tankThe robot itself carries an 80ml water tank.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — station and tanks (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes an obstacle clearance figure at all, which iRobot and Shark do not
  • 12mm auto-lifting mop with carpet detection
  • Separate stated runtimes for vacuum-only and vacuum-plus-mop

What it does not

  • 21mm clearance is mid-pack and well below the Curv or the L40s
  • 8,000 Pa is modest against the current flagship figures

Who it is for

Anyone who wants to check the specs before buying rather than after the robot arrives.

Skip it if

Your sills are over about 20mm. A published 21mm clearance is honest, but it is not tall.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

eufy 11S MAX

No map means no multi-level mapping, so upstairs and downstairs are the same random pattern with no memory of either. It is genuinely convenient to carry, which is the one point in its favor here, and that is not enough. A second cheap robot per floor beats one unmapped robot on both.

Questions people actually ask

+ What is the best robot vacuum for multiple floors?

One with multi-level mapping, a manageable weight and a good handle. Most mapped models store several maps — Roborock states it down to the Q7 M5. The physical problems, dock and stairs, are not solved by any of them.

+ Can a robot vacuum go up stairs?

No. Nothing currently sold climbs a staircase, at any price. The staircase is always a separate machine, which is why a robot bundled with a stick vacuum is the closest thing to an integrated answer.

+ Do I need two robot vacuums for two floors?

Not necessarily, but it is often the better answer. If you would be carrying the robot more than twice a week, a second mid-range robot with its own dock upstairs usually beats one flagship being hauled up and down.

+ How does the robot know which floor it is on?

It compares what it senses against each saved map and picks the match. It works well when the layouts differ and less well when two floors are near-identical, where starting the run from a distinctive room helps.

+ What happens if it runs out of battery upstairs?

It stops and waits, because there is no dock to return to. That makes stated runtime the binding constraint on the floor without a dock, and it is one of the few places where the published figure genuinely matters.

Sources