Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Troubleshooting / guide

When a robot vacuum battery dies

The battery is the one part that wears out and is not a consumable. Whether you can buy a new one depends entirely on which badge is on the robot - and not in the way you would guess.

By Scooter M.Published
Screws and safety glasses laid out on a metal workbench

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

iRobot, eufy and Shark all sell first-party replacement batteries for their robots, priced from about $40 to $170 when we checked on 2026-09-21. Roborock and ECOVACS list none in their US accessories stores. Only eufy publishes a capacity figure. Replace the battery when a pack costs well under half a comparable new robot.

Every other part of a robot vacuum is a consumable with a shelf next to it. Brushes, filters, side brushes, pads and bags are all sold openly, priced in the tens of dollars, and covered in our replacement parts guide. The battery is different. It wears out on the same predictable schedule as everything else, and whether you can buy a new one is a question with a completely different answer depending on the badge.

We went and checked. Six manufacturers, their own US parts and accessories stores, on 2026-09-21. The result is the most surprising thing we have found while writing this site, because it runs exactly opposite to how these brands behave everywhere else.

Before anything else: confirm it is the battery

A robot that returns to the dock early, or dies mid-room, is not necessarily telling you the pack is finished. A clogged filter, a wound-up brush or a robot working harder on a dirty floor all shorten a run, and all of them are free to fix.

We are not going to repeat that diagnosis here because it already has its own page. Work through runtime and battery life first, which covers how a lithium pack ages, what a normal drop after two to three years looks like, and how to tell a tired battery from a tired brush. If the robot will not charge at all rather than running short, start at when a robot vacuum will not charge instead. Come back here once you are confident the pack is genuinely done.

Who will actually sell you a battery

This is the table we could not find anywhere else, which is why we built it. Every entry was read off the manufacturer's own US store or support pages on the date shown.

First-party robot vacuum batteries, manufacturers' own US stores, checked 2026-09-21
BrandSells a first-party battery?Price when checkedCapacity published?
iRobotYes - a dedicated Batteries category, packs listed per seriesAbout $100 to $170No
eufyYes - model-specific packs with long compatibility listsFrom about $40Yes - 5200mAh
SharkYes - Li-ion battery, part RVBAT850AAbout $66No
RoborockNot found in its US accessories store-No
ECOVACSNot found in its US accessories shop-No
DreameCould not confirm - its accessories collection would not load for us-No

Sources are listed at the foot of this page. "Not found" means we read the maker's accessories store and did not see a robot battery listed - it is not proof that no channel exists, and a support request may still get you one. Part prices are not rendered live like the product prices elsewhere on this site, so treat them as a snapshot and check before buying.

Now read that table against everything else on this site. Roborock is the brand we praise constantly for publishing - it states a suction figure for all seven models it sells, where most rivals state none. Shark is the brand we mark down hardest for publishing nothing - no suction figure on any model, no climb height, no mop lift. And yet Shark will sell you a battery with a part number and a compatibility list ninety models long, while we could not find one from Roborock at all.

What almost nobody publishes

Three figures would let you plan for this properly, and they are missing nearly everywhere.

  • Capacity. Only eufy states one on the pack we found - a 5200mAh Li-ion battery, described as cleaning up to 180 minutes per charge. No other maker here puts a mAh figure on a robot battery product page.
  • Cycle life. Not one of the six publishes how many charge cycles the pack is rated for. This is the single most useful number for working out whether a three-year-old robot is halfway through its life or nearly done, and it does not exist publicly.
  • A parts support window. Roborock's repair policy states only that availability "may vary by product model, production year, and inventory", with no period attached. Nobody else commits to a number of years either. When you buy a robot, nobody is telling you how long it will be serviceable.

Roborock's own repair page does at least set out the route: for products outside the warranty period it says paid repair services may be available and that its support team will give service options and estimated costs on request. That is a real path, but it is a phone call rather than a part in a basket, and you will not know the price until you ask.

The arithmetic that actually decides it

Strip away the sentiment about a machine that has served you well and this is a straightforward calculation with three inputs.

  1. What the pack costs. From the table above, somewhere between about forty and a hundred and seventy dollars if your brand sells one at all.
  2. What a comparable new robot costs today. Not what you paid. Robot vacuum prices fall steeply, and the machine you bought three years ago is frequently matched by something cheaper now.
  3. What the new robot would fix that a battery will not. This is the input people forget, and it is usually the one that decides the answer.

As a rule of thumb: if the pack costs comfortably under a third of a comparable new machine and the robot still does everything you need, replace the battery. If the pack is approaching half the price of a new robot - which is the case for some of the iRobot packs against some of today's prices - you are paying a large fraction of a new machine to restore an old one to exactly the state it was already in.

What a new robot fixes that a battery does not

A three to five year old robot is not merely a current robot with a tired battery. The category moved, and it moved in ways that are easy to list.

  • Anti-tangle brushes. Described mechanisms like Roborock's DuoDivide and JawScrapers Comb, or a self-cleaning brushroll, are now available at the bottom of the market. If you are still cutting hair off a roller with scissors, that is the upgrade - see rubber vs bristle brushes.
  • A self-emptying dock. The cheapest Roborock that empties itself now states up to seven weeks into a 2.7L bag. Ten years ago this was flagship-only hardware. See self-emptying robots.
  • Real LiDAR mapping. Rows instead of random, saved floorplans, no-go zones, room selection. Available now at prices where robots used to simply bounce off walls.
  • Published climb heights. If your old robot gets stuck on the same threshold every week, a battery will not help. A machine with a stated climb figure might - check our threshold table.
  • A newer battery in a newer chassis. The replacement pack in an old robot is still going into a machine whose brushes, wheels, bearings and sensors are the same age as the battery you are replacing.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • We checked each maker's own US parts store, not a marketplace. A third-party pack on a marketplace listing tells you nothing about whether the manufacturer supports the repair.
  • An absence is reported as an absence, not as a negative. Where we could not find a first-party battery we say we could not find one and name the pages we looked at. That is not the same as proving none exists.
  • Part prices are quoted with the date they were read. They move, they are not rendered live like the product prices on this site, and you should check before buying.
  • Picks are ranked on what an ageing robot lacks, not on being the best machine at any price - a self-emptying dock, an anti-tangle brush, real mapping and published figures.
  • We have not opened any of these machines. Nothing here is a repair tutorial and we do not test - see how we pick.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forDockPrice
1
Roborock Q7 M5+
Roborock Q7 M5+The Q7 M5's LiDAR and anti-tangle hardware, plus the self-emptying dock the plain M5 does not come with — and a stated bag capacity to go with it.
The cheapest self-emptying dock with real mappingAuto-empty dock with a 2.7L dust bag, stated at up to 7 weeks
2
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)
Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)Roborock's anti-tangle brushes in the cheapest trim that has them, which is the spec that matters most in a long-hair house.
Anti-tangle brushes at mid priceAll-in-one dock with auto mop washing
3
iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
iRobot Roomba Max 715 PetDual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.
The only Roomba with a stated Pa figureAutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 microns
4
Dreame X40 Ultra
Dreame X40 UltraThe mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.
Removable mop padsSelf-emptying with 158F mop and washboard self-cleaning, auto refill

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Roborock Q7 M5+
Top pick

Roborock Q7 M5+

The cheapest self-emptying dock with real mapping

The Q7 M5's LiDAR and anti-tangle hardware, plus the self-emptying dock the plain M5 does not come with — and a stated bag capacity to go with it.

Published specifications

Max climb height
20mm (2cm)Roborock's wording is "2cm climbing ability", with no condition attached.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — climbing ability (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush with an anti-tangle side brushSource: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — brushes (retrieved 2026-09-17)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on Roborock's product page.
Dock
Auto-empty dock with a 2.7L dust bag, stated at up to 7 weeksRoborock qualifies the interval: "Based on Roborock internal testing. Actual results may vary depending on usage conditions." The Amazon listing title says 7 to 9 weeks.Source: Roborock Q7 M5+ product page — auto-empty dock (retrieved 2026-09-17)

What it does well

  • Self-emptying dock with a stated 2.7L dust bag
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush and an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • 360-degree LiDAR navigation at entry-level money

What it does not

  • Two different intervals for one dock: Roborock says up to 7 weeks based on internal testing, the Amazon listing says 7 to 9 weeks
  • A 20mm climb figure, which is the low end of what makers publish
  • No published mop-lift height or runtime

Who it is for

A shedding household on a budget that wants to stop emptying a bin by hand.

Skip it if

You want the mop washed for you. Roborock describes this dock as auto-empty, not mop-washing, so the pad is still yours to rinse.

Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)
Pick 2

Roborock Qrevo (QV 35A)

Anti-tangle brushes at mid price

Roborock's anti-tangle brushes in the cheapest trim that has them, which is the spec that matters most in a long-hair house.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.

What it does well

  • Anti-tangle brushes are the single most useful hair feature and they are here
  • A stated 8,000 Pa, with a full washing dock at the price
  • All-in-one dock with auto mop washing

What it does not

  • No published threshold figure
  • No published mop-lift height

Who it is for

Long hair or a heavy-shedding dog, on a budget that will not stretch to the Curv.

Skip it if

You need a stated climb height or mop lift — neither is published for this trim.

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet
Pick 3

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet

The only Roomba with a stated Pa figure

Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes and a 90-day allergen-sealed dock — and the one place iRobot has printed an actual suction number instead of a multiple.

Published specifications

Stated suction
30,000 PaStated on the Amazon listing. iRobot's own product page for the Max 715 states "4X more power-lifting suction" instead and prints no Pa figure — the same maker describing the same machine two different ways.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet — stated suction — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated by iRobot or on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedVacuum-only trim. There is no mop to lift.
Main brush
Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes with an anti-tangle side brushiRobot states the brushes flex to stay in contact with the floor and that the side brush is designed to stop hair wrap at the hub.Source: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — brush system (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Navigation
ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, stated to build up to 5 mapsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — smart features (retrieved 2026-09-13)
Dock
AutoEmpty dock with a sealed AllergenLock bag, stated at 90 days and 0.7 micronsSource: iRobot Roomba Max 715 product page — AutoEmpty dock (retrieved 2026-09-13)

What it does well

  • Dual rubber anti-tangle brushes plus an anti-tangle side brush — both ends of the tangle problem
  • AllergenLock bag stated to capture particles down to 0.7 microns, sealed, at 90 days
  • A stated 30,000 Pa on the listing, which is the highest figure any iRobot model carries here

What it does not

  • iRobot's own product page states a relative multiple instead of the Pa figure, so the two surfaces disagree in kind
  • No mop, no published threshold height, no published runtime
  • The 90-day dock claim assumes a household, not a specific floor area

Who it is for

A shedding household that wants Roomba hardware and cares about what is in the bin bag.

Skip it if

You want mopping. This is the vacuum-only trim, and iRobot publishes no climb height for it either.

Dreame X40 Ultra
Pick 4

Dreame X40 Ultra

Removable mop pads

The mop pads come off entirely rather than just lifting, which is the only version of mop lifting that guarantees a dry carpet.

Published specifications

Max climb height
22mm (0.87in)Stated by Dreame in its own model comparison, not on the product listing.Source: Dreame model comparison — L40 Ultra Gen 2 vs L40s Ultra, obstacle climbing height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Mop lift
Removable, plus a stated 10.5mm raiseDreame quotes the height difference before and after mop lifting as 10.5mm; the pads can also be dropped at the dock entirely.Source: Dreame model comparison — mop lifting height difference (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with 158F mop and washboard self-cleaning, auto refillSource: Dreame X40 Ultra dock — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Mops detach at the dock instead of riding along raised
  • Stated 198 minutes of runtime
  • 12,000 Pa stated peak suction

What it does not

  • 22mm climb is mid-pack and well below the L40s and X50
  • Large dock footprint for the mop-washing hardware

Who it is for

Mixed carpet and hard floor where you want the mop gone, not raised.

Skip it if

Your thresholds are tall. Dreame's own comparison puts this generation's obstacle climbing at 22mm.

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

eufy 11S MAX

It is on our budget list and it deserves to be - it is thin, simple and cheap. It is the skip specifically as a replacement for a robot whose battery has died, because almost anything you are replacing will have had mapping and this does not. Going from a robot that cleaned in rows and remembered your floorplan to one that bumps around in a random pattern is a downgrade you will notice daily, and the money saved is not large. Buy it as a first robot, not as a second one.

Questions people actually ask

+ Can you replace a robot vacuum battery?

It depends on the brand. iRobot, eufy and Shark all sell first-party replacement packs for their robots through their own US stores, priced from about $40 to $170 when we checked on 2026-09-21. We could not find a robot battery listed in Roborock's or ECOVACS's US accessories stores. Roborock instead directs out-of-warranty owners to contact support for paid repair options and an estimated cost.

+ How much does a robot vacuum battery cost?

On the manufacturers' own stores on 2026-09-21: a eufy RoboVac pack for the X8 series was $39.99, Shark's Li-ion robot battery was $65.99, and iRobot's packs ran from $99.99 for the e, i and select j series up to $169.99 for the Combo j9+ and j7+. These are not rendered live like the product prices on this site, so check them before ordering.

+ How long does a robot vacuum battery last?

Nobody publishes a cycle rating, so there is no manufacturer figure to quote - and we will not invent one. What we can say is that a robot running daily cycles its battery daily, and a noticeable drop in runtime after two to three years is ordinary ageing rather than a fault. Our runtime and battery life page covers how to tell ageing from a fixable problem.

+ Is it worth replacing the battery or buying a new robot?

Replace the battery when a pack costs well under a third of a comparable new machine and the robot still does what you need. Buy new when the pack approaches half the price of a current robot, or when the old machine lacks things a battery cannot add - an anti-tangle brush, a self-emptying dock, LiDAR mapping or the climb height to get over the threshold it keeps failing.

+ Are third-party robot vacuum batteries safe?

We have no basis to judge any specific third-party pack and will not pretend otherwise. What is documented is the commercial consequence: iRobot states that using parts it did not manufacture will void your warranty, and the other makers take the same line. A lithium pack is also the one component where a bad one fails in a way that matters, so this is not the part to economize on.

+ Which brands are best if I want to keep a robot for years?

On parts availability alone, iRobot, eufy and Shark all sell a battery openly with a part number, which is more than we could confirm for Roborock, ECOVACS or Dreame. Set against that, none of the six publishes a cycle rating or commits to a support window, so no brand here lets you plan properly. Ask the question before you buy rather than after.

Sources