Skip to content
Bristle & Bot
Guides / explainer

How much electricity does a robot vacuum use?

The robot itself is trivial. The dock is where the watts are, and almost nobody publishes enough to work out how many.

By Scooter M.Published
Electricity meters mounted on a white brick wall

Disclosure — some links on this page go to Amazon, and we earn a commission if you buy through them. It costs you nothing extra and it does not change what we recommend or in what order. The full disclosure.

Running the robot itself costs very little — a full charge holds under 0.1 kWh, which is well under a cent at the current US average rate. The dock is the part with real wattage: ECOVACS publishes 1,650W for hot-water mop washing and 650W for dust collection. Almost no other maker publishes anything.

This question gets asked before buying and it almost never gets a straight answer, because the answer requires numbers that most manufacturers do not print. What follows is the arithmetic on the figures that genuinely exist, with the source on each, and an honest account of how much is missing.

What each maker actually publishes

We checked the manufacturer product pages for the models we cover. The result is lopsided in a way that is worth seeing laid out.

Published electrical specifications, manufacturer product pages, checked 2026-09-09
Maker and modelBatteryRobot rated powerStation rated powerCharge time
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI6,400mAh at 14.4V, Li-ion80W1,650W mop washing; 650W dust collection4h 37min
Roborock Qrevo Curv6,400mAh, voltage not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Dreame X50 UltraNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
eufy X10 Pro OmniNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
iRobot Roomba Combo j9+Lithium-ion, capacity not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

One maker of five publishes enough to calculate anything. Roborock states a capacity but no voltage, and without voltage a milliamp-hour figure cannot be converted to watt-hours — so even that row cannot be turned into a cost without assuming a number Roborock has not given us.

The robot: genuinely trivial

Take the one model with a complete published spec. ECOVACS states 6,400mAh at 14.4V for the X8 Pro Omni. Multiply those and you get the energy the battery holds:

  • 6.4Ah x 14.4V = 92.2Wh, or 0.0922 kilowatt-hours per full charge.
  • The US average residential electricity price was 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour in June 2026, per the EIA. At that rate a full charge is about 1.7 cents.
  • Charged once a day for a year, that is roughly 34 kWh, or about $6.20.

One honest caveat on those figures: 92.2Wh is what the battery stores, not what the charger pulls from the wall. Charging is not perfectly efficient and no manufacturer here publishes a charging efficiency, so the true figure is somewhat higher. It is still small. Nobody has ever needed to worry about the vacuuming part of a robot vacuum's electricity bill.

The dock: where the actual watts are

This is the part nobody talks about, and it is the reason this page exists. ECOVACS publishes two station figures for the X8 Pro Omni: 1,650W for warm-water mop cleaning and 650W for auto dust collection. The first is a kettle-class heating element sitting in your hallway.

The obvious next question is what those cost per cycle, and here we hit the limit of what is published. ECOVACS states the power ratings but not how long each cycle runs, and a rating without a duration is not an energy figure. Rather than invent a cycle length, here is the arithmetic per minute, which you can multiply by whatever your own machine actually does:

Cost per minute of station operation, at the June 2026 US average rate
Station functionPublished ratingEnergy per minuteCost per minute
Warm-water mop cleaning1,650W27.5Whabout 0.50 cents
Auto dust collection650W10.8Whabout 0.20 cents

Arithmetic: watts divided by 60 gives watt-hours per minute; that divided by 1,000 and multiplied by $0.1834 gives the cost. Both ratings are from the ECOVACS product page; the electricity rate is the EIA US residential average for June 2026. We have not measured either cycle's duration and do not publish a per-cycle total.

What that table tells you in practice: even a generous five minutes of hot-water washing per run is about two and a half cents, and dust collection cycles are famously short. The dock is where the watts are, and it is still not a large bill. The reason to know the numbers is not that they are alarming — it is that nobody else will give them to you at all.

Standby, which nobody publishes

A dock is plugged in and awake around the clock. It listens for the robot, keeps the network connection alive, and on the washing stations may keep water in a tank. Standby draw is therefore the one number that runs 8,760 hours a year rather than a few minutes a day, which makes it the figure most worth having.

Not one manufacturer whose page we checked publishes it. That is a genuine gap in the published data rather than an oversight on our part, and it is the single figure we would most like to add to this page. If a maker publishes one, or you find one in a manual we have missed, tell us and we will add it with the source.

What actually moves the number

  1. Whether the dock heats anything. A station that washes mop pads in hot water and dries them with warm air has heating elements; a plain charging dock does not. That is the difference between a 1,650W component and none.
  2. How often it runs. Daily scheduled cleaning uses roughly seven times the energy of a weekly run, which sounds obvious and is the largest single lever you control.
  3. Suction mode. The fan is the robot's largest draw and it scales steeply, which is the same reason max suction shortens runtime — see runtime and battery life.
  4. Whether it finishes in one charge. A robot that runs flat and has to top up mid-clean spends energy on charging overhead twice. On a large floor that is a real difference — see robot vacuums for a large house.
  5. Carpet. Carpet boost raises fan power and driving through pile costs more at the wheels than rolling on tile.

How this compares to the rest of the running cost

Put the electricity next to the consumables and the picture changes shape. Brushes, filters, mop pads and dock bags are bought several times a year at real prices; the electricity for the same year is a few dollars on the one model where we can calculate it. For almost every household the consumables are the running cost and the power is a rounding error.

That is worth knowing before you optimize the wrong thing. If running cost is your concern, the lever is replacement parts and what they cost you — an anti-tangle brush that lasts longer saves more per year than any plausible difference in electricity between two models.

How we picked

Criteria first, products second. These are the things we ranked on, stated before anything is recommended.

  • Whether the maker publishes enough electrical data to answer the question at all — battery capacity AND voltage, robot wattage, station wattage.
  • Whether the machine has a heating element in the dock, since hot-water washing and hot-air drying are where the large numbers live.
  • Published runtime, because a robot that finishes the floor in one charge draws less than one that needs two.
  • Whether there is a powered dock at all. No dock means no standby draw and no heating cycle, and that is the genuinely low-energy answer.
  • We did not rank on estimated consumption. Only one maker publishes enough to calculate it, so a ranking on calculated cost would be a ranking on our own guesses.

What we did not do: test any of these machines. We do not own one, we do not have a lab, and nothing on this page is written as though we did. The full method.

Quick picks

Ranked on the published specifications below. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

#ProductBest forSuctionPrice
1
ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNIA rotating roller mop that washes itself continuously while it cleans, instead of pushing one increasingly dirty pad around the house.
Mopping that rinses as it goes18,000 Pa
2
Roborock Q7 M5Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.
Real LiDAR mapping at the low end10,000 Pa
3
eufy X10 Pro Omnieufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.
The most completely published spec sheet8,000 Pa
4
eufy 11S MAXNo app, no map, no cloud — a bump-and-turn robot that is thin enough to get under furniture the mapped machines cannot reach.
A thin, cheap, offline robotNot published

Every figure in this table is linked to the page it came from in the write-ups below. We have not tested any of these machines.

Top pick

ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI

Mopping that rinses as it goes

A rotating roller mop that washes itself continuously while it cleans, instead of pushing one increasingly dirty pad around the house.

Published specifications

Max climb height
20mm with the mop attachedECOVACS states the condition alongside the figure, which is unusual and useful — a mop-combo's climb is not the same as a bare chassis's.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — obstacle crossing (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
dToF with AIVI 3D 3.0 and a TruEdge 3D edge sensorSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Up to 291 minutesECOVACS states this for silent sweep mode on hard floors.Source: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with 167F hot-water mop washing, hot-air drying and auto solution dosingSource: ECOVACS DEEBOT X8 PRO OMNI product page — station (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Roller mop self-washes during the run rather than only at the dock
  • Publishes a threshold figure and states the condition (with mop attached)
  • Stated 291 minutes of runtime in silent mode

What it does not

  • 20mm climb is among the lowest published figures here
  • 0.22L on-board bin is small, so it leans hard on the dock

Who it is for

Hard floors that actually get dirty — kitchens, entryways, homes with dogs.

Skip it if

Your sills are tall. ECOVACS publishes 20mm with the mop attached, which is at the low end of this table.

Pick 2

Roborock Q7 M5

Real LiDAR mapping at the low end

Proper 360-degree LiDAR mapping and an anti-tangle main brush at a price where a lot of robots still bounce off the walls.

Published specifications

Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Mop lift
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.
Main brush
JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brushRoborock pairs it with an anti-tangle side brush as a Dual Anti-Tangle System.Source: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Navigation
360-degree LiDAR with multi-level mappingSource: Roborock Q7 M5 product page — navigation (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
Not publishedNot stated on the Roborock product page.

What it does well

  • 360-degree LiDAR at entry-level money, so it maps rooms instead of guessing
  • JawScrapers Comb anti-tangle main brush
  • Multi-level mapping for a two-story house

What it does not

  • No published climb height and no published mop lift
  • Mopping is three water-flow levels and a pad, not a washing dock

Who it is for

A first mapped robot for a normal house — several rooms, some rugs, a pet.

Skip it if

You want serious mopping. This drags a pad; it does not wash or lift one properly.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full Roborock Q7 M5 write-up

Pick 3

eufy X10 Pro Omni

The most completely published spec sheet

eufy publishes an obstacle clearance, a mop lift, two runtimes and both tank capacities — more of its own numbers than any other maker here.

Published specifications

Max climb height
21mm (0.83in)eufy publishes this as "Obstacle Clearance Height". Like every stated maximum it assumes a clean square edge.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — obstacle clearance height (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Main brush
Auto-detangling roller brush with Pro-Detangle CombSource: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — brush (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Stated runtime
173 minutes vacuuming, 136 minutes vacuuming and moppingeufy states both figures for standard mode.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — runtime (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Body height
Needs 130mm (5.12in) of clearance under furnitureeufy publishes this as a minimum height restriction rather than a body height.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — height restrictions (retrieved 2026-09-01)
Dock
Self-emptying with auto mop washing and drying, 3L self-refilling tankThe robot itself carries an 80ml water tank.Source: eufy X10 Pro Omni product page — station and tanks (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Publishes an obstacle clearance figure at all, which iRobot and Shark do not
  • 12mm auto-lifting mop with carpet detection
  • Separate stated runtimes for vacuum-only and vacuum-plus-mop

What it does not

  • 21mm clearance is mid-pack and well below the Curv or the L40s
  • 8,000 Pa is modest against the current flagship figures

Who it is for

Anyone who wants to check the specs before buying rather than after the robot arrives.

Skip it if

Your sills are over about 20mm. A published 21mm clearance is honest, but it is not tall.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full eufy X10 Pro Omni write-up

Pick 4

eufy 11S MAX

A thin, cheap, offline robot

No app, no map, no cloud — a bump-and-turn robot that is thin enough to get under furniture the mapped machines cannot reach.

Published specifications

Stated suction
Not publishedNo Pa figure stated on the listing.
Max climb height
Not publishedNot stated on the listing.
Mop lift
Not publishedThis model does not mop.
Main brush
Not publishedBrush construction is not described on the listing.
Navigation
No mapping — bump-and-turn cleaning pattern, self-chargingThe listing describes it as super thin, quiet and self-charging with no app or mapping features named.Source: eufy 11S MAX listing description — manufacturer listing on Amazon.com (retrieved 2026-09-01)

What it does well

  • Cleans hard floors through to medium-pile carpet, per eufy's own listing
  • No Wi-Fi requirement, which settles the privacy question outright
  • Thin body reaches under low furniture

What it does not

  • No mapping, so no room selection, no no-go zones, no resume-after-charge routing
  • eufy publishes no climb height, suction figure or runtime on this listing

Who it is for

A small apartment, a second floor, or anyone who does not want a networked camera-equipped device in the house at all.

Skip it if

You have more than a couple of rooms. Without mapping it cleans by random pattern and will miss areas on any given run.

Check price on Amazon

#ad how we are funded · no live price right now, so we show none

Full eufy 11S MAX write-up

What we would skip, and why

Skip this one

Dreame X50 Ultra

Nothing to do with the machine, which is the most capable on this site, and everything to do with this specific question. Dreame publishes no battery capacity, no voltage, no robot wattage, no station wattage and no charging time for it on its own product page. It also has one of the largest stations here, with hot-water washing and hot-air drying, so it is precisely the model whose dock draw a cost-conscious buyer would most want to know. If running cost is the question you are trying to answer before buying, you cannot answer it for this model from published data, and we are not going to estimate it for you.

The short version

Do not choose a robot vacuum on its electricity consumption. On the only model where the manufacturer publishes enough to calculate it, running the robot itself costs single-digit dollars a year, and the dock's heating elements — the genuinely large numbers — run for minutes rather than hours. Choose on the things that actually differ between machines, and treat this page as the answer to a question rather than a criterion.

If the underlying question is whether the whole thing is worth buying, the electricity is the smallest input to it. The full set of conditions is on are robot vacuums worth it.

Questions people actually ask

+ How much power does a robot vacuum use?

The robot itself uses very little. ECOVACS publishes 80W for the X8 Pro Omni and a 6,400mAh 14.4V battery, which works out at 92.2Wh — under 0.1 kWh — per full charge. The station is the higher-draw part, at a published 1,650W for hot-water mop washing.

+ How much does it cost to run a robot vacuum per year?

On the one model with a complete published spec, charging it daily for a year is roughly 34 kWh, or about $6.20 at the EIA's June 2026 US average residential rate of 18.34 cents per kWh. That excludes station cycles and standby draw, neither of which is published with a duration.

+ Do robot vacuum docks use electricity when idle?

Yes — a dock is powered around the clock to listen for the robot and keep its network connection alive. No manufacturer we checked publishes a standby figure, which is frustrating because it is the one draw that runs all year rather than for a few minutes a day.

+ Does a self-emptying dock use a lot of power?

It has the highest rating in the system but runs briefly. ECOVACS publishes 650W for auto dust collection, which is about 0.2 cents per minute of operation. The hot-water mop washing element is higher at a published 1,650W, or roughly 0.5 cents a minute.

+ Which robot vacuum uses the least electricity?

Structurally, one with no powered dock — no heating element and no station standby draw. We cannot rank models on measured consumption because only one maker of the five we checked publishes enough data to calculate it, and we will not estimate the others.

+ Is a robot vacuum expensive to run?

No. On the only model where the figures exist, the electricity is a few dollars a year. Consumables — brushes, filters, mop pads, dock bags — cost considerably more, so that is where to look if running cost matters to you.

Sources